1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-z reporting 8x bus speed

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by shadd, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. shadd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my gt9800 is reporting 8x bus speed when motherboard can support 16x. when i have my 8600gt in it reports 16x. is this just a bug or what? starting to think it isn't because bandwidth is lower than that of my 8600gt.

    [​IMG]
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,287 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    What motherboard?
    You need to list some specs.

    And, welcome to TPU.:)
  3. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    PCI-E 8X shouldn't really bottleneck a 9800GT
  4. shadd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks. Can post the whole thing if you would like

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 8/13/2009, 21:48:08
    Machine name: JOHN-PC
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (6.1, Build 7100) (7100.winmain_win7rc.090421-1700)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD
    System Model: MS-7392
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
    Memory: 3072MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 3072MB RAM
    Page File: 804MB used, 5333MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7100.0000 32bit Unicode
  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,287 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Try:
    1. Checking the slot for dust or trash and blow it clean. Also, make sure the card is seated in the slot properly.
    2. If you have a card (sound or other) in the 1X PCI-e slot try it without it.
    3. Try resetting the cmos(bios).
    4. Make sure you are using the lastest bios for your Motherboard.

    Your MSI P31 Neo is a 1X16 PCI-e 1.0a compiant board, info here :http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=1&cat2_no=&cat3_no=&prod_no=1286
    :)

    Edit: Sorry, I can't address the GPU-z question, but the developer/author will be able to ; he pops in every so often.
  6. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    what he said
  7. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    In the past, I've managed to cripple some of the PCIe lanes on a few cards by knocking off some of those tiny surface mount capacitors located on either the front or the backside, just above the PCIe connector on the card. One single missing cap can (will) cut 8 lanes at best scenario (upto 15 lanes) leaving the card with just 8x to 1x lanes.

    So if you've physically abused your cards (like me)...
    :D

    This is probably not the case here, though.
    :p

    My current HD4890 ran at PCIe 8x a while back after getting two caps... err... pulverized off of the SOB. Nothing a little soldering wouldn't fix though.
  8. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    I don't know if this is 100% or not but I think I read somewhere that when you are in game some cards changes to x16. But I could be completely wrong lol. Anyone else heared about this?
  9. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    ^I'm pretty sure that doesn't happen.
    =)
  10. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,584 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Have you powered down, and reseated the card yet? That's fixed it for me in the past. I've noticed that cards will work even if not completely seated evenly in the slot, but at a lower speed at times. There was another time it read 1x and even though it appeared seated correctly and fully, reseating it still fixed the issue. Definately where I'd start if you haven't already.

    :toast:
  11. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    I have recently had the same problem with my cards...The one reported x8 and the 2nd x1...
    It turned out to be a driver problem.Reinstall clean your forceware sometimes and see what u get!
  12. kornev New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks
  13. kornev New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Gpu-z

    Что дальше?
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    i've seen evidence that some power saving mechanisms may support that. have never seen it in action though
  15. kornev New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Upgrade, please
  16. kornev New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Upgrade
  17. kornev New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Чего мне ждать, что дальше?
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Kornev, if you are having the same problem, try uninstalling your video drivers, then install new drivers.
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    do as i do

    [​IMG]

    Start>Control Panel>Hardware and sound (click the actual title)>Choose power plan> unclick hide additional plans>select high performance>change plan settings>change advanced power settings>click PCI Express drop down>select link state power managment>choose off. reboot. what happens?
  20. shadd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its set to off. gonna try the driver suggestion and reseating the vid card
  21. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,892 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Just reseat the card, happened to me before. Went from x8 to x4 to x2 as the weeks went by. By the time it was x2 it's very hard to boot already so I opened the case and reseated the card. Then it's x16 again.
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    i've seen that, cards that didnt POST due to damage, but would post when you put tape over the card and locked them to 1x/4x

    Vista and 7 have PCI-E link state power management as an option. no idea what it does, but it doesnt lower the bandwidth.


    see above :) because you're you, i grant a screenshot

    [​IMG]
  23. shadd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so after a little testing, i am pretty sure the video card is defective. it reads 8x on my fathers computer as well and it's pushed all the way down. do you think its worth RMA'ing? how much of a performance increase would i see going from 8x to 16x? thanks for the help thus far
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    no performance difference at all really. not worth RMAing it as it will still be working at full power.
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page