1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-z says one slot is 2.0 and other isnt

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by FR@NK, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    576 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    I'm using ATI HD4870 on a P5E WS Pro board that uses the x38 chipset. GPU-Z shows "PCI-E x16 @ x16" when installed in the top slot nearest the CPU. When in the bottom slot it says "PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ x16 2.0". CCC and everest says its running at x16 2.0 in either slot. Is this an error in GPU-Z? or could one slot be limited to 1.1 and the other 2.0?


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    It must be an error,if you KNOW the specs of the board to be true,then the software is misreporting.
     
  3. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    917 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
  4. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    576 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Yea I know but this board has a PCI-X slot on it and im wondering if its tied into the PCI-E lanes and not compatible with PCI-E 2.0 and forcing 1.1 mode. Its just weird that one slot shows 1.1 and the other 2.0 in GPU-Z.
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,011 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,878
    ask asus support its either a design limitation or some bios link negotiation issue
     
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    try update bios , if you update bios of the x38 maybe you have a x48 mobo , bios of x38 do too much things am sure
     
  7. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    576 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    I got a beta bios from asus support which fixed the issue. If anyone needs this bios pm me.
     
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Whats the email of the tech that replied to you? I'd like to talk to those dimwits about the P5Q series.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page