1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z Support for 6770M

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by ShogoXT, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    New HP laptop with Sandy Bridge CPU integrated graphics + Radeon 6770M.

    The Radeon is selectable in GPU-Z and seems to show correct information, but bios information and saving does not seem to be working. I am unsure if its just 6770M or etc not supported or the Sandy Bridge GPU getting in the way.

    Also I recently changed the bios on the laptop to support fixed GPU changing. The Radeon doesnt even show up in GPU-Z when its on the Intel GPU. I assume it completely shuts off.

    EDIT: I believe the memory type should be GDDR5 as well.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. sanjiv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    BUMP.... pls support BIOS dump in 6770m/6750m "HP" in the next GPUz

    I get an error like the one stated above when i tried to read the BIOS of 6770m "HP DV6"
     
  3. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think bios reading isnt supported for most mobile graphics options, both my mobility 4650 and 5650 werent supported atleast.

    Are you planning on editing the bios?

    And yes, the 6770M should have GDDR5.
     
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,954 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Knowing HP, they likely integrated the video BIOS inside the main system BIOS. This is true for my laptop and its integrated HD 4250 + Mobility HD 5650 setup.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,316 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,484
    that. if the gpu bios is integrated with the system bios when gpuz can't access it

    does the notebook from the first post have multiple graphics gpus installed? strange that gpuz didnt get the defaults right
     
  6. sanjiv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a DV4 with a 6750m which is similar to the 6770m in the DV6. The DV4 has an IGP "HD3000" and a dedicated GPU "6750m". The user can switch between 6750m and HD3000 on will using AMD's switchable graphics under CCC.

    GPUz picks up both HD3000 and 6750m when started. I will be happy to help with any BIOS read attempts that might be made.

    Here is the BIOS dump of an DV6 you can see if the GPU BIOS is inside or not.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?1wg8mo4heu03kuf (01658.bin is bios file)

    Here is the official update:

    ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp54001-54500/sp54024.exe
     
  7. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    It does in a way. Its a Sandy Bridge chipset so I have the GPU inside the Core i7 mobile itself. Then through Power Play or what not I can select which GPU I can use. It used to be dynamic switching until a HP Laptop BIOS upgrade. Now I can manually select which GPU I use.

    It hadnt occurred to me that it would work that way. I always imagined that the 6770m was still a MXM chip with some weird interface allowing switching between the two. I figured it would still have its own bios.

    Yes I wanted to edit the bios so I wouldnt have to use applications to OC the 6770m. IF you need any more info from me let me know as id like to help, even don't mind digging into registries and such.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page