1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GPU-Z Test Build] Support for multiple instances

Discussion in 'GPU-Z Test Builds' started by W1zzard, Sep 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,384
    This build should properly support multiple instances of GPU-Z without the dreaded "Can not delete driver" message.

    This change required updates to our kernel mode driver, so I need testing on all possible OSes, 32 and 64 bit

    Attached Files:

    95Viper and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64

    Ran 6 simultaneous instances, 3 for each core on my 4870x2.
    No problems.
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    No Issues
    [​IMG]
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Launched two instances.
    Second instance was started immediately after 1st, while the 1st instance's splash screen was still showing.
    System locked up and required power-off reboot.

    Currently not repeatable.
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,384
    that's very possible and should have happened with previous versions too
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I get this all the time if I open them to quickly one after the other....something to do with both accessing the same sensors or something, eh?

    Because sometimes one instance will open with no data at all, if it doesn't freeze the system.

    cpu-z also does this, since adding the "gpu tab".
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,384
    maybe i could put some kind of high-level "initialization lock" in the gpuz init process, where only one instance can own the lock at the same time
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    two isntances working flawlessly and detecting both intel onboard gfx and the mobility 5600

    [​IMG]

    OS Win 7 64-bit Home Premium.

    would you like testing of even more instances?
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, that'd do it. Just wonder what happens if say, 15 instances at once are opened or something. Some "mad-clicker" is gonna cause an issue..:laugh:

    I guess what I mean is, what happens for successive instances...3rd instance should wait for 1st and 2nd...4th for all three...etc..
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,384
    yes only one instance can own the initialization lock at one time
  11. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    window home server 32bit no issue

    [​IMG]

    7 home premium 64bit no issue

    [​IMG]

    7 enterprise 64 bit no issue

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2010
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I think that having instances wait in some kind of queue would be problematic.

    It would be easier to check for the initialization lock and have any other starting instances terminate (with a user message to wait to start GPU-Z) if they are locked out.
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    XP Pro x86 works fine, 4 instances

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page