1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GPU-Z Test Build] VRM temperature monitoring on HD 7970

Discussion in 'GPU-Z Test Builds' started by W1zzard, Jul 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    Adds Voltage regulator temperature monitoring for all ATI cards with CHL8228

    Attached Files:

  2. chesley96 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GPU-Z Test Build] VRM temperature monitoring on HD 7970

    Hello W1zzard, This doesn't work on my Asus HD7970 DCUII non-Top version with or without the Top bios flashed. It only shows my (gpu temperature) reading temps-wise.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The ONLY software i have found that shows me 2 different temps is the latest ASUS GPU Tweak's GPU Monitor. It has a reading for (Power Temperature) and I distrust its accuracy.

    If anyone knows why this is or may be please let me know. I have looked everywhere through hours and hours of forum reading on my card and other 7970's, and No.... HWiNFO32 nor HWiNFO64works either.... Slightly disappointed in Asus right now :wtf: really......no sensors on your Top-End Ati model?? And tons of problems.... Love my Sabertooth Z-77 mobo though but somethings gotta give with this DCUII card. Thanks :)
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    my guess is your card doesnt have chl8228
    chesley96 says thanks.
  4. chesley96 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GPU-Z Test Build] VRM temperature monitoring on HD 7970



    Darn! lol Thanks anyways man :) I'll have to find out how to find out what my sensor is (if any).
  5. Frantic New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    vrm monitoring works

    Hi,
    I have a gigabyte 7970 oc windforce edition and the vrm temp monitoring works great. Good thing it is now easy to see how hot these get.

    Thanks.
  6. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    just played 3 hrs of BF3, VRm 1 was 103 Celsius, and VRM 2 was 89 Celsius.....

    1175v 1125/1575


    thoughts? am i doing something wrong? is this normal?
  7. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    Your sig say you're using aftermarket cooler. They usually have worse VRM cooling than stock.

    Did you put VRM heatsinks on?
  8. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    yes I did, all the VRm sinks are on and are on properly. :(

    edit: msi afterburner allows you to underclock memory voltage, so i took it down a few points, and took down the 1175 down to 1162 for the core. now bf3 didnt get past 95 celsius on VRM 1, and was 100% stable. so fair enough I guess, i have read 120 Celsius is what they are capable of handling on the VRm temp... so i guess as long as i stay below 98 or so i should be ok, my card just wont last 10 years, it will last maybe 5... but by then i will upgrade anyway lol
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2012
  9. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    just updated my BIOS to Msi latest one, and no vrm temps are not going past 75C... was using ref bios from launch day... lol xD <3
  10. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,204 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Seems to work on my sapphire HD7970. Do i need to add pics here to show its working?
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page