1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GpuZ, wizzard, any chance you can add LCD support to your program ?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Plug, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. Plug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Your program is the best at displaying ATI cards temps and sensor data, any chance you could add support to display that data on logitech`s color g19 LCD screen keyboard ? would be awsome.
     
    [Ion], dank1983man420 and scaminatrix say thanks.
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Constantly updating and reporting GPU-Z values to your keyboard display? Nice idea.
    Bit of a niche thing, but it would be very useful.
     
  3. Plug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    yeah it would be awesome, but im not sure wizzard could or would go though all the hassle of adding support though i dont think its very hard to add the support or would take long there SDK tools for logitech`s lcd display is pretty self explanatory ;)

    though i thought i would ask would make a awesome feature.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,049 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,953
    figure out how it should look like, what kind of features etc. and i'll add it
     
  5. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    this would be sick! i assume if it works for the g19 it should work for the g15! w00t!
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  6. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    If you've got a g15 or g19, see if you can draw up a few idea for w1zz?
     
  7. Plug

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    nice one wizzard mate, though im pritty much crap at making pictures or 3d stuff as demo`s we need some 3d artists in here.....

    come on guys this feature would be awsomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee if gpuz added it :D

    EDIT: i have had a look around wizzard mate, and it seems EVEREST ULTIMATE has the general idea but your program displays info better and it doesnt hog more resorces when run
    but it will give you the idea`s as with that program you get a custom screen you can edit the info anywhere on it and stuff. im sure there is a demo ect.

    the only thing everest doesnt have is showing your frames ect
    also you can disable and show with the click of a button ect ect...

    i just think your program would be even better becuse that program breaks when you add a nvidia physx card to your system where as your program detects all gpus in my system just by selection of the cards ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2010
  8. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    W1zz, here's some details on games and apps that already support the G19/G15/G13, seems there's lots of support for it already.
    Here's the download page for the app, I'm unsure about modding this app, but logitech forums seems to have some people posting their own mods so should be easy.

    Thanks in advance :toast:
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,049 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,953
    i'm not looking for info on how to program the apps but how to visually design it .. draw me a possible screen etc
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I think it would be easy to explain without drawing it out.

    Just add buttons (little O )on the side of GPU-Z that will allow it to be shown on the monitor in game.

    You want GPU Load in a corner while your playing; just click the little button.

    You want GPU Temps in a corner while your playing; just click the little button.


    Kinda of like how fraps(I think it's fraps) shows the frame rate in the window while your playing.

    also just corner buttons like in your image host tpu.org so if you want it in the left right so on

    Maybe a button that lets you have a bar that goes up and down like SLi load is shown in Nvida control panel when used.
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,049 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,953
    afaik you can not add items in corners of existing screens, only create a completely new screen with only your data
     
    DaMulta says thanks.
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    So it's an overlay? Still is kinda cool when I've used things like that in the past.
     
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    [​IMG]

    Something like this for the GPU-Z side of things.
    I've never used one of the keyboards so I've reached my limits! If anyone else has got one of these keyboards, please draw up some ideas.
     
  14. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    ill take a pic of my g15 screen edit it and post it
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  15. EYE4LYFE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hello all, 1st post here. Love the boards.

    Wizz,

    Something like this would be great to allow us to keep a close eye on important statistics while gaming, watching movies, etc.

    GPU-Z minimizes to the system tray while still remaining visible by way of the LCD. Sick! :rockout:

    [​IMG]
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    make sure support exists for the older G screens as well, apps written for the older non colour screens work on the new G19, whereas the reverse isnt true.
     
  17. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    This looks like a cool idea. I'd definetly use it if I bouhgt a Logitech keyboard!
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    you can get other devices from logitech with the LCD's a well, my housemate has a set of speakers with the G15 LCD on them (same software works for them)
     
  19. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,554 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    it seems that this idea could prove quite useful. Well done guys, well done indeed... Now to buy me a g15
     
  20. Anthr4X New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just so you all know; LCDSirReal already supports the GPU-Z sensors. It displays your CPU, RAM, GPU, volume, network and/or even more stats all at once. You only have to edit the settings to customize it to your needs. One disadvantage though; you have to press the lcd button to switch between the different GPU stats. But you can select a default one.
    [​IMG]
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  21. EYE4LYFE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yeah, I tried it, but that was the main thing about LCDSirReal that made me uninstall it.

    Right now, I'm using "AIDA64 Extreme Edition v1.00.1147 Beta". It recognizes my 6870 perfectly and displays all information at once on the entire screen. It allows me to set up as many as 4 different screens by utilizing the four buttons below the screen (G15). You can mix and match any information that you want on each screen. If you want GPU/CPU/RAM stats on the same screen, you can do that. AIDA64's setup interface has Up/Down, Left/Right arrows which allow you to move the text to any location you want (X,Y Axis). There is also a little preview window at the top that shows you an example of what the final result will look like on the screen. It's pretty cool.

    1st button dedicated to my GPU stats:

    [​IMG]

    2nd button showing all CPU info:

    [​IMG]

    3rd button setup for system RAM:

    [​IMG]

    Aida64 Setup Interface:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2010
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  22. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    This is a good idea on how to implement it there. I use simple text only screens on my G15. Afterburner supports this, but the way it does it sucks, the values go out of the screen and is not easy to read.

    Something like this would be great.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  23. Triscopic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've just finished a plugin for LCDHost (SirReal's G19 application) that can read data from GPU-Z.

    [​IMG]

    Notice the GPUs box contains temperatures from GPU-z and also displays a health icon which can be set to change at certain thresholds.
     

    Attached Files:

    sttubs says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page