1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Graphic Card Upgrade

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by DiogoCDS19, Apr 12, 2014.

  1. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi,

    Been thinking about upgrading my cards. Got 2 gtx 460 768MB SLI (the crappy version, I know)
    But I feel I'm a bit lost... Was checking the gtx 650 2GB but I'm not sure at all. Don't want to make the same mistake I did when I bought the 460's.

    Could use some help deciding on what to get.
    As for the price, something in that price range, maybe a bit more.


    Thanks in advance
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Will you be buying from a local shop, or online retailer. If online retailer, give us a link so we can look through what they have and give you the best options.
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You thinking of getting 2 of the 650's? as one would not provide you much of an upgrade and if you are thinking about 2, save the money and get a more powerful single GPU. What's your budget?
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  4. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well I actually been using just 1 of the 460's. Long story short, my motherboard isn't SLI compatible so I've been using HyperSLI. although after getting my 2nd screen couldn't use it anymore because of a known problem in HyperSLI.
    So I thought I get rid of the 2 460 till I can actually get some money for them.
    I will probably buy the card here: http://www.pixmania.co.uk/computing/component/graphics-card-772-s.html
    The thing im confused about is the memory bus. When I bought the 460's I realised too late that I should have got the 256bit version and not the 192. Now I want to make sure I get it right but all the cards Im checking are either 128bit or 192bit.
    For example the gtx 650 2GB is 128bit while the gtx 460 1GB is 256bit. The 460 is older than the 650, how is the memory bus that low???

    As for the budget, don't want to go over £140.
     
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    £140 you could probably snag a used 7950 which is about TWICE as fast as the 650 which is a middle of the road card.
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  6. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well here the 7950 are still a bit expensive. What you think about the 7870 ?
     
  7. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    I'm not 100% sure, but I would bet the 460 has GDDR3, and the 650 has GDDR5, so even though the memory bus is lower, the memory speed is much better. I'd recommend this one actually, or a 7870, which is better than the one I linked to.

    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/graphics-...5-pci-express-3-0/22081860-a.html#description
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  8. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    608 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Depends on your budget
    but look at these:
    GTX 750 Ti
    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/graphics-...oc-2-gb-gddr5-pci-express-3-0/21999865-a.html
    R7 265 (same as mine HD 7850)
    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/graphics-...dr5-pci-express-graphics-card/22080933-a.html
    and a 7870
    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/graphics-...hics-card-vx7870-2gbd5-2dhv5x/21898526-a.html
    any of these will be ok for the next 2-3 years depending on the level of details you play games.
    I see your monitor has 1440 x 900 resolution so any of these card will be ok even for 1080p gaming.
     
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  9. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    Well, If your best bets are 7870, r9 270x(rebranded 7870) and 660...now,one more card that you must consider is 750 ti as it is a real money saver as well as wattage saver, personally, I think that it has the best performance/power ratio right now!660 is a slightly older card so you might not want that..now coming to the sellers problems(you might want to tell us a few alternate sellers man!)

    Here is a benchmark to compare these cards

    perfrel_1600.gif

    Only 7870 which is really awesome is http://www.pixmania.co.uk/graphics-...hics-card-vx7870-2gbd5-2dhv5x/21898526-a.html
    2dhv5x/21898526-a.html...price of the next 7870 is close to 200, astonishing!Here is a areview http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/VTX3D/Radeon_HD_7870_XT_Black/28.html

    I STRONGLY RECOMMEND GETTING http://www.pixmania.co.uk/graphics-...ess-graphics-card-r927xoc-2gd/21938483-a.html otherwise to save money you can choose the HIS one also

    SO AFTER ALL THE BRAIN BASHING , IF YOU TRUST VTX3D THEN THERE IS NO DICUSSION BUY IT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE OTHERWISE R9 270X(HIS) and if you NEED extreme power saving then get 750 Ti..http://www.pixmania.co.uk/graphics-...express-3-0-n750ti-tf-2gd5-oc/22033073-a.html

    Press thanks if I helped

    EDIT: IF YOU CAN BUY FROM AMAZON, BLINDLY GO WITH

    http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B00FL8H49Q/?tag=tec053-21
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2014
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,055
    DiogoCDS19 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. DiogoCDS19

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Portugal
    Link broken ? Can't open it. (Nvm, got it)

    Thanks everybody for the help and advice but I managed to find someone selling a hd7870 near me for something around 90£. Used for 1 year and still under warranty for another year. Next week I'm going over to check if its working properly.

    Thank you all!
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page