1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Graphic Design/Illustration Customer Build - Price is Not a Concern

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by DanishDevil, May 3, 2011.

  1. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Customer wants a high end graphic design computer complete with plotter and Wacom tablet. Going to be using CS5 mainly.

    • What are your suggestions? X58 or P67?
    • What about GPU acceleration? Does one company's GPUs work better than the other?
    • Consumer or workstation GPU?
    • How about storage? SSD + a couple of striped WD Blacks?
    • Monitor recommendations? Was thinking a 30" Dell.

    Thanks in advance, all :toast:
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,895 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    CPU and memory bandwith is the most important. Since the Sandy Bridge platform has superior memory bandwith that should be your choice. 8gb's of RAM or more would be ideal. GPU doesn't matter that much. A 560Ti is a great middle of the road card that will do everything he needs. SSD would also be ideal, but of course it's expensive. Since price is not a concern go all out with the SSD's.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Think about 2 CPUs, but I would take P67 over x58 if you are going for 1 cpu, because it consumes a lot less electricity. If price is not a concern, workstation GPU, especially since "Wacom tablet" will be used. Idk about GPU acceleration, but some CS plugins support CUDA, so Nvidia unless you have no choice (even a weaker Nvidia over ATi). Storage? SSD for boot and stuff, but mirror rather than striped WD Blacks because you don't want your client to lose his things.

    Monitor? IPS panel, this is a must (over all others, inc workstation GPU). Dell's panels are largely good, but I have no experience in choosing IPS.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Here is a build I was putting together for video editing. Ended up going with a GTX 570 as the Adobe products will use CUDA to speed things up if it's available.
    I ditched the SSD and went with 16GB of RAM and 2 HDDs.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,671 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Though the Adobe apps with the exception of inDesign all still use hard disks for "Scratch space" so SSD might be the way to go. Though I guess thats probably mostly sequential. I'd Google for PS CS5 + SSD + scratch or something like that.

    Not really sure what else to suggest offhand as while I've made a living for well over ten years supporting primarily graphic designers they are always Macs, of course. With the exception of the 3D rendering boxes, that is.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Thank you all for the advice so far.

    As far as RAM, should I go for lower latencies, or higher frequency? I remember reading somewhere that Sandy Bridge has fast RAM no matter what the specs of the RAM. I tend to go for a mix of the two (1600MHz CL6-7).
     
  7. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    It's not going to really matter since you aren't benching the RAM. Just get a lot.

    Are you going to OC the rig?
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  8. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    We may, so I'm going for a higher end mobo and a K processor.

    Here's what I've got so far minus the tablet, plotter, and software:

    [​IMG]

    Going for a RAID 5 with the WD Blacks. Adding one that we already have.

    AND add this guy: Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...

    Might bump that down a ways, but I do think I want the ASUS Direct CU II.
     
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    SSD can be smaller, 80Gb is enough I think. Mobo is overkill, you might want to drop it down a notch or two. Also, aftermarket cooler.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    IMO, the only thing I would change are the hard drives. I would get 2 x 2TB and put them in RAID 1 for redundancy.
    Don't forget you will need something for backup too ;)
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Cooler, right. He wants water, so H70.

    Since price is no option, and he's going to be installing a huge Adobe CS5 suite, going for the 120GB SSD.

    Mobo is overkill, but my boss likes the idea of it being a "workstation" mobo. I would rather give him a $200ish board anyway, so what's an extra $50 for a clean looking high end ASUS board?
     
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,178 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,707
    Ok as a pro illustrator heres what I would recommend.

    CPU: Fastest Sandy he can afford.

    RAM: Low latency and at least 8 gigs.

    GPU: Nvidia. CS5 loves Nvidia cards. ATI for CS4 and below.

    PSU: 750 or so. No need to go to high. Save some money there.

    HD: 120 gig SSD is a MUST. Photoshop loves the scratch disk on them. Secondary standard HD for storage and a third HD for backup. Third HD optional if he has no access to a server.

    Cooler: He shouldn't be OCing on a work rig. Keep it stock. Save the money.

    Wacom: I recommend the 8.8". Anything larger IMO is overkill and anything smaller and you lose control.

    Keyboard: One that you can turn the Windows key off on like the G15. When doing quick keys that thing can be a bitch.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,178 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,707
    I forgot to add the monitor. I hate to say it but Apples pro grade monitors are very nice. I would go with them or a high grade NEC.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    If you don't OC no reason for LC and the stock cooler will handle it fine (as I was schooled about in my thread. :D )
     
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Nothing wrong with Dell's 30" monitors. I love mine and it's gen 1, so the newer ones should be even better.
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,178 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,707
    They are no where near the level as one of these things. Remember this is for an illustrator. It has to be PMS accurate and such.

    http://www.necdisplay.com/p/desktop-monitors/pa301w-bk-sv
     
  17. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Boss wants it water cooled.

    I'll look into it.
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,178 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,707
    Yeah man. I know its super expensive but they allow for much more calibration and such. PMS calibration is VERY important. Also these are NICE!

    http://www.necdisplay.com/p/extended-warranty/90hd30

    I usually make my own out of a beer box lol
     
  19. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You got me there MM. it's $1200 more expensive but looks to be an awesome monitor for GA work.

    @DD Why does he want it Water Cooled? Any particular reason other than e-peen?
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  20. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    I'm torn about OC'ing in this situation. I mean I've yet to hear of a case of a SB not being totally stable on auto settings with say a very mild 4.0 GHz clock. If there's no precedent for concern why not? The turbo tickles that speed anyways.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  21. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Pretty much e-peen. He said customer wants high end expense is not a concern, so watercooling it is. To be perfectly honest, I will probably clock it to 4GHz and leave it at that. Just did so to my 2500K and it was as painless as getting your cheeks pinched by your aunt.
     
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,178 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,707
    There is no real need to OC for design/illustration. The only time CPU makes a huge difference is during compression and actions.

    Video/sound editing is a different story however.

    I wouldn't OC it. If it becomes the least unstable he will be at your desk bitching.
     
    DanishDevil and LAN_deRf_HA say thanks.
  23. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    MM, any NEC recommendation from Newegg? They don't have that exact model. I'll decide whether or not to OC later. Chances are it'll be plenty fast at stock anyway.
     
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Does customer realize there is maintenance involved with LC loops?
    You can easily OC to 4GHz on air with a good cooler, and all that will be required is the occasional "dusting out".
    Just wondering ...
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,178 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,707
    Dude thats their top tier monitor. Anything within that NEC segment is full of win.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page