1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Graphics Card For Crysis/Graphics Fix For Crysis??

Discussion in 'Games' started by NinjaNife, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Two questions today:

    1. I have recently gotten Crysis, and have been having some major lag/fps issues (using the crysis benchmark tool 1.05 I get an average of 15~19 FPS). I don't know if it is my graphics card or something else that is the problem. If anyone knows how I can improve my performance please let me know.

    2. If the above problem is because of my graphics card (specs below), what is the "best" (maybe under $250?) video card out there (ATI or nVidia) that can play Crysis (and other high-performance games)?

    My system specs are:

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
    CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 2.3GHz
    RAM: OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 8GB (4 x 2GB)
    Graphics Card: EVGA GeForce GTS 250 1GB
    Motherboard: ASUS M4N72-E AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI ATX
    PSU: OCZ StealthXStream OCZ700SXS 700W ATX12V / EPS12V
    Monitor: ASUS VH242 24"
    Case: Cooler Master HAF 932
     
  2. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    its your graphics card and cpu ;)
    you should upgrade to a Phenom II 955 and a Radeon HD 5850 and you will notice the boost

    the GTS 250 is OLD, heck its just a renamed 9800 GTX that is also a renamed 8800 GTX (2007)
    and you also has a old cpu from 2007, then you have a 24" with 1920x1200 resolution that will make your graphics card scream
     
  3. gaximodo

    gaximodo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    268 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    tweak settings, turn features that isn't as important down,
    personally I'd set shadow to low, volumetric lights to medium or low, and switch off motion blur at all. It is probably not wise to buy a video card just for one game.
    You may upgrade to a 260 275/4890 or a 5770 if you really have to.
     
  4. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    All of the settings are at "Medium" right now, with no noticeable difference from "High".
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  5. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    So are you recommending ATI over nVidia? I have always used nVidia, so I don't know much about ATI, especially their new cards. Also, the Phenom II 955 is AM3 correct? So wouldn't I need a new Motherboard as well? Thanks.
     
  6. gaximodo

    gaximodo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    268 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Have you turned AA on? how about resolution? try it again with shadow, lighting on low, and motion blur off.

    Edit: you replied really quick lol, I won't recommend ATi based on my experiences with a 4870x2 and a 1600 a few years ago, but that's just me. If I were you I would just wait for a bit longer for Nv's new series, will at least drive down prices for sure giving you better options.
     
  7. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    AA is off, and resolution has the same performance with 1920x1080 and 1280x720.
     
  8. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    GTS250 is really a 9800GTX+ (aka 55nm) while the 9800GTX is 65nm and a renamed 8800GTS (G92)

    The 8800GTX was a totally different card. ;)



    I'd pick up a used GTX280 or 275 (latter being the better option) as the HD5850 is out of your price range.

    I've even seen 4870x2's go for around the money you want to spend....maybe look into one of those? :)

    All of these cards will offer you an healthy increase and great performance plus, if you overclock your CPU to around 3GHz you will notice the gains in FPS just keep coming.


    aCid. :toast:



    Edit: Just read your original post again......you have an SLi board so have you thought about picking up another 250 to run a pair??

    Best bang-for-buck option right there.
     
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  9. gaximodo

    gaximodo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    268 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    If you get very similar performance with 1920x1080 and 1280x720, most likely your CPU is the bottleneck.

    Do you have experiences on overclocking?
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2009
  10. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Not much, but what do you mean by "bottomneck"? While running the game, the CPU doesn't even come close to 100% usage.. More like 20~50%, with possible spikes to 75%.
     
  11. gaximodo

    gaximodo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    268 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Sorry have to go now, exam starts in 5 mins :p gonna get back to you later.
    And +1 on get another 250 for SLI if your PSU is capable of running them
     
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    good luck
     
    gaximodo says thanks.
  13. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Isn't the 250 around $160? I think I can find a 4870 or a little higher for that. Would 2 250's be better than 1 4870 or a different card?

    Plus aren't the ATI cards (the ones I looked at I think) DirectX 11 compatable, while the 250 is only DirectX 10?
     
  14. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Your CPU is kinda a trash bin so i would def go ahead and buy a X2 550be or x3 720be or x4 940- 955 be of Phenom II's. Your graphics card will scream because my friends 8800gts on his q6600 at 3.2Ghz cant handle crysis at 1920x1080 at all. I would grab any of those CPU's and then after words grab a GTX 260 or a HD 4870, but the nvidia cards do perform better then ATI cards. On my rig with a e5200 at 4.11Ghz and my GTX 260 it benched about 10 fps better then my freinds new HD 4870 he got like 3-4 months ago on the same settings and same run. So i would grab a GTX 260 216 core and a Phenom II x2/x3/x4 and overclock the cpu, and you should run crysis smooth at at least high settings.

    *EDIT* http://www.newegg.com
    I dont know were you are buying your merchindise for your computer but a gts 250 is 130 with free shipping from newegg + you can get the crap models for 100 bucks with free shipping. HD 4870s are 130-140 bucks(lol nvidia gone broke).
     
  15. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,149 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    419
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i don't know how explain bottleneck but from my knowledge it basiclly means like a part say..you got a super high gfx card like the GTX260 and you paired it with an core 2 duo with 1.8GHZ clock speed,that 1.8 would weaken the performance of the GTX260 which isn't enabling it to run at its best performance because the speed of your processor speed is to slow for the GTX260 to use its best potential.
    If that makes sense if i am wrong then please someone correct me :D
     
  16. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    AM3 cpus is supported in AM2+ sockets, and ATI is best atm, AMD have DX11, HDMI bitsteaming audio support, Triple Display, the best image quality too! and so on 5850 and 5870 are the world fastest gpus atm

    basicly
    AM3 CPUs work in AM2+ (DDR2) or AM3 (DDR3)
    check your motherboard page for BIOS

    and ATI is win!
    GTX 295 and 4870 X2 are both Dual GPU cards, 5850 and 5870 are both singel GPU
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ATI/Radeon_HD_5870/10.html
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  17. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Bottlenecking is basicly summed up to be a 3 in 1 consisting of the RAM/CPU/Video card. Now all 3 work together(including sound cards or on board systems on the motherboard) as a team.

    *EXAMPLE*Now lets say one of the members of the super computer team consisting of the RAM/CPU/Videocard has a broken leg, and the one with the broken leg is the CPU. Sense the CPU has a broken leg, then the video card wont be able to show its full force, and the RAM wont be able to perform as good as it would if it were to receive all the info it needed to page files and keep the operating system intact. Everything works together so the video card needs a CPU that can handle the task to pump the video card info so it can get the job done. The same thing goes with Memory and the video card. So if 1 of the member of the team is weak then the rest will be just as weak and the team will fall. HOPE THIS HELPS. :toast:
     
  18. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    So... I basically have 3 options from what has been said so far..

    1. Buy a new CPU and Graphics card (Phenom II 955 and a Radeon HD 5850 for instance)
    2. Buy a second GTS 250 (running both SLI)
    3. Dump my PC and buy a new one (lol)

    Is that about right?
     
  19. NinjaNife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Very clear. Thanks.
     
  20. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    You can also Buy a New CPU and another GTS 250 if you want. Its not a bad decision because it will increase performance in sli enhanced games + youll have a big CPU pumping away for the video cards, and EVGA and Nvidia are always pumping out some sli patches for games.
     
  21. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    jup you got that, with 2 you will have SLI issues, heck many games dont scale well with SLI or crossfire and you will have a slow cpu, 3 will be more expensive as you have to buy new Motherboard,CPU and GPU!, so you have 1 left, thats the best one if you ask me :)
    as you get a way faster CPU that works in your AM2+ motherboard, you also get the second fastest GPU in the world

    http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=5tWNOaMAxGs1FXIQ
    check out CPU support list :)

    so sell your Phenom 9600 and GTS 250 and buy a Phenom II 955 and a Radeon HD 5850 :)

    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  22. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Thats true sli dosnt give you a full boost but expect something with cod2 to cod5 and crysis and other games to, actually alot of good games at the moment.
     
  23. BababooeyHTJ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Your cpu is holding you back much more than your gpu in Crysis. A GTS250 is still a decent video card don't let anyone fool you and ATI's drivers blow.
     
  24. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Its a good card dont let anyone fool on a gts 250/9800gtx/8800gts. But im telling you my friend gets choppy performance(around 15 fps and below) with crysis at 1920x1080, the card dies at that resolution with a nice intel core 2 quad over clocked on a 680i and ddr2 at 1100Mhz. Most everybody does.
     
  25. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    lol last time i checked nvidia was the FAULT for windows vista crashes, so you shoult say ati drivers suck when it was in fact nvidia drivers
    btw meybe buy a Phenom II 955 and see if it helps if it dont then buy a HD 5850 :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page