1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Green Tea: retro AMD-nVidia build

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by TRWOV, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    [​IMG]


    I won't deny it: I've always been an ATintel guy. But I've always being curious about the "green side". I've used AMD CPUs and nVidia GPUs in laptops and they seem to work well but I never considered their products for desktops.

    That's about to change now... but with a retro-spin.:cool:

    Outside of the CPU, board and GPU, I'll use cheap, easily replaceable components since this'll be my first time modding a case, sleeving cables, etc. The component selection is also limited to what my local PC vendor of choice stocks.

    I didn't intent to begin this project so soon but I found an Asrock 939A8X-M board for sale last week and jumped the gun on it. While it gets here I thought I could start to mod the case.


    Targeted specs:

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    AMD Athlon FX60 socket 939

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Geforce 7950GT 512MB GDDR3 AGP

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Asrock 939A8X-M

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    4GB OCZ PC4000 Enhanced Bandwith Platinum Edition

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    CM Hyper TX3

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Elite Power 460. I know it's a POS but should be enough.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    K-MEX CM-3E22 mATX case

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Evercool Evergreen fans everywhere

    Inside the case:
    [​IMG]

    Planned mods:
    - Change the orientation of the PSU 180º so that it draws cold air from the top. Not done since the PSU fan isn't centered.
    - Switch the PSU fan for an Evergreen. Sleeve cables. Done.
    - top 120mm blower. Done.
    - 120mm intakes at the bottom and front. Changed to 90mm intakes. Done.
    - Add a window. Done.
    - Fan controller in the top bay? shouldn't interfere with the blower. Done.
    - Green LED strips on the bottom with on/off switch. Done with no switch.



    The finalized build:

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Benchmarks:


    Intel Burn Test
    [​IMG]
    Cinebench
    The OpenGL accuracy test fails (???) so it doesn't give a score:
    [​IMG]
    3dmark 2003
    [​IMG]
    3dmark 2005
    [​IMG]
    3dmark 2006
    [​IMG]
    Street Fighter 4
    [​IMG]
    Devil May Cry 4
    [​IMG]
    RE5 Game test
    [​IMG]
    RE5 Fixed Test
    [​IMG]
    Lost Planet 2 test A
    [​IMG]
    Lost Planet 2 test B
    [​IMG]
    The Last Remant
    [​IMG]
    Final Fantasy XIV
    [​IMG]
    PCmark2002
    [​IMG]
    PCmark05
    [​IMG]
    Monster Hunter Frontier
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Unigine Tropics
    [​IMG]
    Unigine Sanctuary
    [​IMG]
    Unigine Heaven
    :roll:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2014
    hellrazor says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Going to be a nice built there. That fx60 is going be a hard one to cough up though. I hope you can find one rather cheap as there going for around $200 on ebay right now. Can't wait to see the final build.
     
    TRWOV says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    yeah, I'm hoping that too. :ohwell: In the mean time I'll use a 3000+
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    If shipping wouldn't cost too much I may have some parts for your build you maybe interested in.
     
    TRWOV says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    i was thinking of putting one of my old systems back together either my x1950 agp or dig out my ibm aptiva and voodoo 2000.
    good luck with the fx60 i would go with the 3000 nobody could afford the fx60 back then anyway, they retailed for about £600 back then.
     
  6. majestic12

    majestic12

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    553 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Location:
    boondocks, Michigan
    Athlon 4800x2 could probably be found for a much lower price than an FX60
     
  7. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
  8. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Been a lot of these retro builds lately it seems. Note I am not complaining.

    (Cross-Thread Comment: Ah and see that Trickson there is an example of some OCZ RAM from when it truly kicked ass...)
     
  9. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am still running 2 939 systems so I know your pain on finding a "cheap" fx60.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    I don't get why is that. I mean, there are quad cores that go for that amount. I get it's an FX and all that but performance wise it should be $70. tops. The 4800+ goes for about that and is my plan B but I'd really like to own an FX60. Time will tell.



    Thanks, I'll keep that in mind.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,269
    Mostly because it's the best S939 CPU you can get
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    The Denmark based Opteron 1xx series is just as good and clock to FX speeds with ease.
    I need to fire mine back up and tweak on it some more bet I can get to 3.0 and fix the HT speed
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I know what you mean. I don't get it either why that proc is still so expensive. I get that it was the "best" 939 proc and all. But hell there can't be that much demand for it. You can by a x6 for cheaper.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Doing a retro build is plain fun IMO, though I wouldn't fork over more than $100 if that for any old CPU.
     
  15. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    There's also the Opteron 185 but then I couldn't use the Athlon 64 FX sticker I bought. :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    This build when finished will have life left in it. As I stated I am running 2 of them. Now our win 98 builds. Hmm they are just because we are bored and love to be punished.


    Sure you can. Just clock it at Fx speeds and call it a Fx hybrid.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yeah, I could think of some not too old games that still call fot A64 X2s as a minimum requirement. I reckon that Mass Effect requires a 3800+.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,269
    It's just price gouging since it's old hardware. Someone has an old rig that they want to breathe new life into, and they look & find out this is the best chip they can get (most aren't smart enough to figure out the Opterons, and this one is unlocked). And supply is low...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    I get that, what I cannot understand is people bidding over $100 for it. I would expect auctions to end about there.

    Well, maybe some guy will post a BIN for $80 or something, I can always hope. If not there's the 4800+
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    amd 64 x2 ad05000iaa5d0 got 1 of these3 any good? with stock cooler
     
  21. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    Those are AM2. Sorry, cant use them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Price will eventually go down on them. How long it takes is anyone's guess. Hell go with a Opteron or a 4800+ and tell em to shove there high price on the FX 60.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    Bought the case today...

    K-MEX CM-xx22 mini review

    The case for the build will be a K-MEX CM-3E22 mATX case. K-MEX proudly announces on the box that it comes with HD Audio plug, a 24 pin 400w ATX PSU with 2 SATA power connectors and a "shiny panel" (when did that become a bullet point in case design?) :laugh:

    [​IMG]

    The case comes protected with polystyrene foam on the top and bottom along with a clear plastic bag. Pretty standard stuff.

    [​IMG]

    The case is as small as they get, measuring 35x36x17 cms. The left side sports a big vent while the other side is plain. The panels are interchangeable.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The front panel is shiny indeed (good thing the box didn't lie to us, that's how brand loyalty develops) and comes with the standard I/O options of mic, headphones and 2 USB 2.0 ports in addition to the three exposed bays.

    [​IMG]

    The back has a space for an 80 or 92mm fan, 4 expansion slots with punched slot covers (one already removed) and slots for a parallel and a serial port along with a DC socket mounting hole. The left panel is secured with thumbscrews and the right panel with regular hex screws.

    [​IMG]


    The top panel is plain except for two indentations on the front an back.

    [​IMG]

    The bottom has molded case feet and some curious holes apparently for not reason (or so I thought).

    [​IMG]

    After removing the side panel I discovered that K-MEX actually took the time to secure the PSU cable and the bag of accessories with masking tape and the cables with ties. Not the best work in that regard but I've seen pricier cases that look like a party aftermath when you remove the side panel so this is a plus in my book.

    [​IMG]

    And now we discover the purpose of the holes in the bottom of the case. Turns out that the case has no hard drive cage but two mounting spaces on the side and bottom of the case instead.

    [​IMG]

    The accessories include an spare slot cover, assortment of screws, a buzzer, 4 rubber bases for the feet and the PSU cable.

    [​IMG]

    The motherboard tray has numerous cutouts and holes so there's potential for cable management although there's not a lot of clearance but if it's just cables 8mm ought to be enough.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The interior is basically a big box ripe for some modding.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The case is pretty good really, considering the price ($30). The only thing I don't really like is the front panel but as the song says, you do with what you've got.
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    It seems that I'll get the board in the next few days and I already have a 3000+ stand-by to test it. Once I take some measurements with the board installed I'll begin the modding.

    BTW, I got a second hand Dremel rotary tool for this task. What would be a good cutting disc for 0.5mm SECC panels?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    WAHEY!

    Love worklogs. Sub'd!

    :rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page