1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gregion 3.1 recording Software and Codec

Discussion in 'General Software' started by belzebub, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. belzebub New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!

    I hope this is the right place, lets see.

    Im using Gregion 3.1 to record Game footage - its free, its fast, its high quality and the file size is sooo much smaller than fraps
    and I have not a single issue with it but this:
    The "gregion high quality" codec cant be used by any other program but the Gregion Converter and Windows Movie Maker.
    My problem is that to be able to edit the records I need to be re-encode to a different codec, like xvid.
    However the Gregion Converter crashes on my system and windows movie maker doesnt give me a too good result on the re-encoding.

    So my question is - am I able to somehow get that codec working in other Movie Editors like VirtualDub?
    Im quite clueless about codecs in general...
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    748
    if the codec is installed correct it should work in VirtualdubMod bcs ino Fraps codec works in there so why shouldn't "Gregion Codec"?
  3. belzebub New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ive been using 'VirtualDub-1.9.11-AMD64' that build - it doesnt work!

    Now you made me aware of that VirtualDubMod - used it - it does work!
    Thanks for the help!
  4. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    748
    you are welcome belzebub.

    it's weird that Virtualdub don't work bcs virtualdubmod is only a modded version with some more stuff in o_O
  5. belzebub New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried the 32bit Version 'VirtualDub-1.9.11' - works there as well! Looks like its a 64bit issue? Anyways, works like that, so im happy! ;)

    If anyone uses Fraps etc, I recommend trying out Gregion!
    Made a 37minute recording of Guild Wars 2 at 7.8GB (1680x1050).
  6. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    748
    hehe, i only used Fraps for FPS in games but not i am using W1zzard's TPU OSD for that bcs it got GPU-Z Sensors aswell in it ^^

    only thing TPU OSD needs is recoding and it will be rulling all over them :nutkick:
  7. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Is it just as fast as Fraps though? Sounds interesting.
  8. belzebub New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Gregion works alot better for me because it puts less stress on the hdd for saving the data. So overall the performance is perfect for me. Plus it doesnt seem to cap the framerate while recording. (So I had like 50+fps while the recording was at 25fps)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page