1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gskill Ddr

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by sneekypeet, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,141
    So I RMA'd my TCCD to Gskill last week. They gut I talked to in support says to me , they no longer make a TCCD chip in DDR. So they send me a 2GB kit of this 2-3-2-5 CRAP.

    I was told I would be able to OC these stix. When I placed in the machine they boot stock. Tryto loosen timings , went as far as 3-3-3-8 and still couldn't get them past 225MHz

    Seems to me if anyone else has DDR from Gskill, and runs into an issue, I personally think you might as well smash your foot with a hammer VS RMA'ing RAM.

    I just strongly suggest to all of you DDR OC'ers....Dont ,DONT opt to buy any RAM (DDR) produced from GSKILL, as all they produce now is SHYTE!

    Ok ,I'm done complaining , but take this message to heart. DONT BUY GSKILL DDR!!!!
     
  2. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    I'd be like, "Well I sent you TCCD, so if you are not able to return TCCD, then I want my money back." Sorry bout your loss man. That sux.
     
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,141
    Hi



    I am sorry but as I stated before, we don’t have any TCCD left nor any higher speed DDR. The best we have now is the DDR400 CL2 2GB kit.



    Thank you

    Denny

    GSKILL USA REP



    From: we both [mailto:munky_phuker@yahoo.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, July 24, 2007 1:36 PM
    To: G.SKILL USA SUPPORT
    Subject: RE: RMA Request(RMA# UR2071163)



    Just so you all at GSKILL know where you stand in my eyes....this RAM you sent me is shit, yes I said shit! I put it in my system and cant get it to boot past 225, even with 3-3-3-8 @1T with 2.7 or 2.8V. Comming from a set of TCCD , if this is the best you've got , it isn't good enough. I am not happy at all with this RMA , and am very close to starting my ranting on my PC forums to show the world what is to be expected from GSKILL. Please contact me and come up with a better solution. I personally think it is way out of line for me to return 2 stix of "diamonds" and get to stix of "coal" in return!

    not happy at all, chad



    "G.SKILL USA SUPPORT" <ustech@gskill.com> wrote:

    Hi



    We do understand but TCCD IC is EOL from Samsung. They don’t have anything over DDR400 in production any more.



    Thank you

    Denny

    GSKILL USA REP



    From: we both [mailto:munky_phuker@yahoo.com]
    Sent: Monday, July 09, 2007 12:20 PM
    To: G.SKILL USA SUPPORT
    Subject: RE: RMA Request(RMA# UR2071163)



    The speed is more of a factor than size. Is there another alternative in the PC4400 region ? Said sticks of RAM were gotten so as there is no need to OC them. If you can replace with something in your line that will produce 275MHz then by all means , lets see those. I can appreciate the offer for a 2GB kit, but as I OC my Opty 170 I need the higher bandwidth that said PC4400 provide. If this is the only alternative, I may concider it ,Please see if there is a higher MHz alternative. thanks , Chad

    "G.SKILL USA SUPPORT" <ustech@gskill.com> wrote:

    Also in another e-mail...they state they will not offer any monies or upgrades to DDR2...just to add to the screwing i got!
     
  4. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    wow thank for telling us about what happened....i will never by any memory from them...it sucks when you rma something and get shit back......
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2007
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,231 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I understand your frustration. Atleast you got something for your broken part. There are certain companies that treat like s... their customers like the FOXCONN RMA story I read here.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,141
    Any one want to buy it as Im about to .....

    just as stated ...brand new and wont pass 225 so if your an OCer it aint for you!
     
  7. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    Ill take it!
     
  8. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    that stuff belongs in a CP or DELL........i'm sure GSKILL has some good tccd. they need to do the right thing and rma you some good tccd memory.....
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2007
  9. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    Is this the said "coal"??
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,175
    I'm very happy with my Corsair XMS c2's. I had g-skill ddr a while ago and it was crap. The Gskill DDR2 800 in my work computer is some of the best memroy I've ever had.
     
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,141
  12. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    Yucky...value stuff...no wonder. They won't even let you "step up" to some DDR2 memory? Talk about bunk, and I am sure the place where you got it won't help ya either! :ohwell:
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,141
    Tiger direct...shit after 30 days they say I have to go through manufacturer ....you see where that got me!
     
  14. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    went to gskill website they have the memory .they are just being cheap...when you rma something all you ask is for them to send you back the same stuff....and they went the cheap way...sorry sneeky
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,141
    yea I know man as if they couldn't piece something together....Damn why is the price so high when they act as if no one knows how to do anything there.....$5.00 an hour should cover the cost of the pre programmed idiots!
     
  16. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    i think you need to keep calling them until you find someone who will rma you the right memory.
     
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,141
    after much persistance...and a phone call directly to the guy who was sending emails. I have found out in fact they do have access to TCCD and just didn't want to go thro the hassle. Found out they in fact have it , it is just dissasembled. He now states a phone call to Gskill out of country could produce the IC's and PCB's. So i guess all you have to do is call them for service as Emails will only produce a stick in the butt!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page