1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gskill ram?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by mrsemi, May 8, 2008.

1. mrsemi

Thanks Received:
    I'm still a huge noobie re overclocking, I couldn't get my q6600 much above 3.0 with a pretty good cooler, not b3 stepping.

I started to see a little latency just surfing and decided to upgrade the ram to two 2-gig stick of g-skill ddr21000/pc2-8000 ram

Haven't plugged it in yet, I'm not a huge over clocker, I'm at 3.0 on the Q.

Was it a waste of money ? My stat sheet shows what was in there. The price seemed too good to pass up and I was going to get the mushkin with similar stats and same price with the rebate but they ran out.

I'm still a huge overclock noob, while I know the very very basics... for ram things like

"synced"linked"timings"latency" still confuse the hell out of me and the ram. Anyone know a safe bet on my bios or should I just plug and play it?

Sorry for the vagueness, I have read the overclock tutorial probably 20 times and I just can't get it to click.

2. Darknova

Darknova

Thanks Received:
    Honestly, yes. You can OC the Ballistix to the G Skill speeds, likely at tighter timings.

Although 4 gig is a nice upgrade.

mrsemi says thanks.
  3. mrsemi

Thanks Received:
    Gah... Was afraid you'd say that.

The timings on the chip are what yours say, do I have to adjust that manually or should it default there?

4. Darknova

Darknova

Thanks Received:
    to be honest. 4 Gb is a nice upgrade, and I saw a difference more than overclocking, but it might have been cheaper to get another set of Ballistix, but you've done it now, so just need to make the most of it.

And I set my timings manually, but they will default to them.

5. AsRock

AsRock TPU addict

Thanks Received:
    I have that G.Sill ram but only overclocked them too 1066 without problems And work great with my Axeram PC9600's..

6. mrsemi