1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GT300 to Boast Around 256 GB/s Memory Bandwidth

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 5, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Recently, early-information on NVIDIA's next-generation GT300 graphics processor surfaced, that suggested it to pack 512 shader processors, and an enhanced processing model. A fresh report from Hardware-Infos sheds some light on its memory interface, revealing it to be stronger than that of any production GPU. According to a piece of information that has been doing ping-pong between Hardware-Infos and Bright Side of News, GT300 might feature a 512-bit wide GDDR5 memory interface.

    The memory interface in conjunction with the use of the lowest latency GDDR5 memory available, at a theoretical 1000 MHz (2000 MHz DDR) would churn out 256 GB/s of bandwidth, the highest for a GPU so far. Although Hardware-Infos puts the lowest-latency figure at 0.5 ns, the math wouldn't work out. At 0.5 ns, memory with actual clock rate of 1000 MHz would churn out 512 GB/s, so a slight inaccuracy there. Qimonda's IDGV1G-05A1F1C-40X leads production today with its "40X" rating. With these chips across a 512-bit interface, the 256 GB/s bandwidth equation is satisfied. The clock speeds of the memory isn't known just as yet, the above is just an example that uses the commonly available high-performance GDDR5 memory chip. The new GPU, at least from these little information leaks, is shaping up to be another silicon-monstrosity by NVIDIA in the making.

    Source: Hardware-Infos
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2009
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,279 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,563
    sounds like a new 8800GTX
     
  3. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Yeah lets just hope that it doesn't idle at 55 degrees:p
     
  4. wolf2009 Guest

    If its GDDR5 shouldn't it be 4000MHz DDR ?
     
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, the data is pushed only on two parts of a clock cycle, so it's DDR, and GDDR5. The amount of data pushed makes the difference here, and is twice that of what GDDR3 pushes. You can put it as "effectively 4.00 GHz", but not "4.00 GHz DDR". It's still 2.00 GHz when its actual clock-speed is 1 GHz.
     
  6. cyriene

    cyriene New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Miami
    I have a feeling this monster card will come with a monster price!
    Can't wait to see what AMD's response is to this beast.
     
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    GDDR5 is actually QDR.

    At least from what I've been told.

    Edit: Wasn't quite right but according to wikipedia "GDDR5 is the successor to GDDR4 and unlike its predecessors has two parallel DQ links which provide doubled I/O throughput when compared to GDDR4"
     
  8. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    And it will be 30cm long.... :D:laugh:
     
  9. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Again another PCI-E graphics monster from Nvidia intending to torture our PSUs.
     
  10. wolf2009 Guest

    i meant to say 4GHz effective, since we are used to saying that in case of GDDR5 on ati cards.

    So shouldn't it be easier to put 4GHz effective in the article as people are used to saying that, rather than getting somebody confused.

    Anyway, I didn't get you point that
    . So does GDDR5 push 4GHz or 2GHz ?
     
  11. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,116 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    577
    Location:
    Switzerland
    takes performance crown for sure.
     
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    From the current generation yes but from the next we will never know.
     
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Not that I didn't know that. You need to understand how it works to know why they don't call it QDR, even when the bandwidth is four times that of DRAM at a given clock-speed.
     
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I just looked it up there. Its not that it sends information 4 times in 1 clock but its that it has two more paths. I think.
     
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Can someone help explain how memory bandwidth relates to overall preformance? If the new GTX 300 series has 256 GB/s and the 295 already has 223.8 GB/s does the gpu use the clocks better? Does it use the memory better?

    So does higher mem bandwidth = better memory overclock?
     
  16. ZoneDymo

    ZoneDymo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    391 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Its already ridiculous as it is.
    People have freaking 1200 watt psu's.
    That is not cool, this thing better now use more power than currnet cards.
     
  17. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Bandwidth is the result of the memory clock speed and the bus size. Which means if the memory runs at a higher clock speed and the bus width is bigger then more bandwidth.
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
  18. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    So the overall higher bandwidth will mean the card will run an overclock better, right?
     
  19. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    No. That is dependant on the memory modules on the card.
     
  20. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    So I'm ovbiously not fully understanding this so lets do a comparision:

    Take for example the 275 line up from Evga, the standard edition vs the FTW edition. Both are same gpu's, both are same memory modules, but the FTW edition is clocked faster and has a slightly higher memory bandwidth. Wouldn't the higher bandwidth mean the FTW edition preforms better than the regular edition overclocked to the same clock settings? I'm trying to clarify to see if the extra $ for a higher memory bandwidth will pay off.
     
  21. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Wonder if it'll be dual-core...
     
  22. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Chances are the FTW version and stock can both achieve the same clock speed because the modules would be rated to the same speed. If the FTW version and the stock version are at the same speed performance will be identical. Higher bandwidth will increase frames per second and help with higher resolutions
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
  23. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Woot! Next gen nvidia cards here we come! Might leave ATI/AMD speechless for a while unless they release their next gen cards along the same quarter which I hope will happen else we aussies will be seeing video cards at the 1000+ AUD mark again :roll:
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    So did this leak or did they announce it? I don't think it's smart to announce what you're coming out with like this. AMD is watching.. They're probably already trying to get something to trump it. It's gonna be hard, but I'm sure they'll keep up. I just hope we don't see another HD 2900XT vs 8800GTX :laugh: Not saying the 2900XT was bad. I owned two of them myself. The 8800GTX was just so much better..
     
  25. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Thanks DP :toast: Just trying to learn more about gfx cards and overclocking. It's not all about the clock speeds :cool:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page