1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GT300 to Boast Around 256 GB/s Memory Bandwidth

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 5, 2009.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,499
    Ah yes but with your e-penis be as large with a $99 card?
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,581 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    Expensive cards are good for the minority, however the minority is a bit overexposed here on a tech website.
    odameyer says thanks.
  3. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    but if nv do go nuts with the filters like the leaked 185.2x beta was showing at the start of the year i imagine 64xaa would love that mem bandwidth.

    i do hope its true and ati have somthing lined up to counter as i dont want to see nv sit on their ass for a year again just milking the one core like they did the g80, and again with the g92.
  4. Nkd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    I honestly dont think so, no game has even used 150gb/s bandwidth as of yet, not even crysis at the highest resolution, memory bandwidth wise current generation cards are more than suffiecient, than again all they need is faster running gddr5, instead of 512bit memory bus, but again if the price is right I ain't complaining.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,499
    Very much a fact. I sometimes forget my X2 4200+ would pretty much run everything out right now and I really don't "need" a 955 since my x3 pretty much runs everything now. Until I come here and realize I MOUR POWA!
  6. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    I think the key information in this "leaked info" is actually the missing info. What will the manufacturing process for this card be? What will the power consumption be? Etc, etc... I think the video card market has matured past the "who's got the bigger GPU" e-penis measuring contest! Well, I guess we just have to wait and see...
  7. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    LOLz
    my awesome 8600GT runs WiC(High settings) at...
    [​IMG]
    So such a card would be needed in my rig:(
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,499
    I have an HD2900 that says different :laugh:
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    my epenis below, wanna contest?

    [​IMG]
  10. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    My god! That'd be perfect for F@H and WCG contests. Among others I'm sure but...

    Please, even if you put them up F/S and donate to charity or site upkeep. Damn! That's alot of cards.

    Probably keep them around for review purposes though eh?
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    to retest with new drivers etc, btw. the kind folks at zotac were kind enough to donate a 30" 2560x1600 screen just for vga testing. results will be in the next full rebench, in other news: i now have a setup that can measure vga card power alone - no more whole system
    a_ump, mdm-adph and HTC say thanks.
  12. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    How?? :eek:
  13. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Ah yea, I figured as much. That's still a very impressive box. And that's probably the first time I've said that to a man.
  14. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,238 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    MONSTER excellent :respect:
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,499
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    magic blue box, really
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yeah but how can it measure the power draw through the PCI-E slot?

    Or does the card plug into an external box then a cable goes from that to the mobo
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,499
    To hell with that I want to swan dive into your GPU collection.
  19. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I want to frolic in his GPU garden as well. It looks quite divine.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,499
    10 years ago I was banging cheerleader left overs and defending quarterbacks. Now I get excited over a box of fans and some silicone. I'm pathetic.
    odameyer says thanks.
  21. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    [​IMG]

    yes it measures pcie bus power too
  22. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, but these ones won't come back looking for child support now will they?
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,499
    The other ones won't ether. They never found the bodies. :laugh:

    Edit: I had to put a laugh at the end of that one. Someone may think I'm serious.
  24. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I just realised this core will be about the same size as g200 so its pretty much the same bandwidth you would get if you stuck GDDR5 on a GTX285.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  25. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :toast: I have that problem all the time, some of my friends think I'm a child molestor / hooker murderer. Heh.


    @ Wiz: Very nice. This will help alot in your reviews, which are already jam packed with information.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page