1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTA 4 --- nVidia Quadro NVS 140m [G86]

Discussion in 'Games' started by hoax32, May 17, 2012.

  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Wadduuupppp TPU-Crew!! :toast:
    I just ordered GTA4 for PC and Im planing on running it on the specs that are listed under my profile.

    Here the KEY SPECS 1 more time:
    ---------------------------------
    CPU: Core 2 Duo T9300 @ 2.50GHz
    GPU: nVidia Quadro NVS 140m [G86] ***128MB GDDR3 + 1279MB SHARED***
    RAM: 4GB DDR2 PC6400 Kingston Dual Channel RAM
    HDD: 320GB WD Scorpion Blue
    OS: Clen Windows 7 Home (32bit) with all update and VERRY FEW programs


    I am currently playing Resident Evil 5 on it and on lowest settings i get a +50FPS.
    It runs great!!
    Same with Call of Duty WaW with a average +40FPS on low.
    Call of Duty 4-MW is always at 60FPS with only very few frame drops.
    I don't care if I would have to play GTA:4 on lowest but I wanna ask you guys, if I can expect an average of at least 20+ FPS with all on low (including resolution) and all patches?

    Thanks ahead oftime guys!!:respect:
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    GTA 4 struggled on my 8800GTS 640MB DDR3 so I am going to say that it will struggle on the NVS 140M chip since its a mobile chip for one and also a quadro card which is mainly for 3d modeling, not gaming
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    where you playing it on all low?
    BTW
    I dont have a problem with 640x480 resolution! xD
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    640x480 will look VERY horrible on GTA 4. It was not too bad on games like say Doom or duke nukem 3d back in the day but I don't even think that game can even go that low of resolution.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    There iwas always a INF file that lets you costumize resolution in all modern games that I have played so far! :roll:
    And I am a pixel enthusiast!
    Even though CoD4 runs +30FPS on max resolution, i rather play it on lowest resolution with +60FPS! :)
    I grew up with a PS1....so Im kinda used to the pixels.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Well I will await the games arrival so you can post your findings on FPS
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    I NEED AN ANSWER NOW!!!!:mad:
    SOME1 TELL ME If IT WILL RUN OK ON LOWEST!!!!
    NOW!!! :laugh:

    ......or else I will get nightmares of the GTA4 Game Box eating me.....
    Im just so inpatient.... :(
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would say no that it will not be playable but I have never used a quadro chip to game with
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    I found this youtube video of a guy playing it on the same chip.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YeF1JOKyw3w
    It seems to run smooth but the texture is loading pritty slow.
    He is using the lenovo drivers and I use the nvidia website drivers, which gave me +%10 on
    3D Mark.
    Also I have a 2.50GHz T9300 CPU (compared to his T7100 1.8GHz CPU).
  10. Compgeke

    Compgeke

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Lets see what my NVS160 does...I haven't ran GTA on it before, but it gets around 40 FPS on Portal, 23 on Portal 2, 20 on TF2. Based on these I would be surprised if GTA 4 even runs. All these games are on low settings btw. The only game that runs fine is Minecraft, but then again Minecraft runs great on most things that can handle OpenGL (even my old laptop with a Quadro FX go700 runs MC at 30 FPS on max settings).

    My laptop's a 2.93 GHz T9800 with 4 gigs ram and a 256 MB NVS160M btw, so...
  11. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    The NVS 140m is listed as more powerfull than the 160m on notebookcheck....it also has twice as many unified pipelines (16vs8 of the 160m)
    although you have the memory advantage, the 140m is more efficient in games thanks to the # of pipelines andthe fact that it is almost equilevant to the architecture of the 8400m GT, which has a great laptop performance even for todays standards (compare to AMD HD6310).

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page