1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTA IV for PC Delayed Until December 2nd

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Rockstar has confirmed that the PC version of GTA IV will be delayed by more than a month until December 2nd. The reason behind this delay remains unknown, but the game maker has at least released the minimum and recommended system requirements for the game. Check them out below.

    Minimum System Requirements
    • OS: Windows Vista - Service Pack 1 / XP - Service Pack 3
    • Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz, AMD Athlon X2 64 2.4Ghz
    • Memory: 1.5GB, 16GB Free Hard Drive Space
    • Video Card: 256MB NVIDIA 7900 / 256MB ATI X1900

    Recommended System Requirements
    • OS: Windows Vista - Service Pack 1 / XP - Service Pack 3
    • Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4Ghz, AMD Phenom X3 2.1Ghz
    • Memory: 2GB (Windows XP) 2.5 GB (Windows Vista)
    • 18GB Free Hard Drive Space
    • Video Card: 512MB NVIDIA 8600 / 512MB ATI 3870
    Source: Rockstar Games
  2. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    awww man this sucks this is the main game i was waiting for over far cry 2, fallout 3 and all others :( hmm thats odd Recommended an intel quad and an amd x3 then a nvidia 8600 vs an ATI 3870 bit of a difference there
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    WTF! isnt the game made already?
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Dang, i posted this in the forums.
  5. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Not for the PC.
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Judging by it recommending X3 instead of X4, I suspect it runs no less than 3 major threads.

    The reason why consoles can get away with less is because they are all the same--there is no "x" factor. If it runs well on one console, it will work on all. Since PCs have heavy operating systems and a lot of background tasks, the requirements are naturally greater but that also works to the PCs advantage. The average gaming computer has a whole lot more memory (system and video) than consoles and the same goes for hard drive capacity. That means bigger textures and fewer load screens.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Dont forget that the the PS3 and Xbox 360 are multi-threaded. Both support three threads IIRC. So I can understand quad or X3, but to suggest an 8600 WTF? Suggests to me this is a heavily CPU dependant game.
  8. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Holy crap, EPIC COMPATIBILITY FAIL. Welcome to the quad-core generation people.
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Well, ya gotta admit that Grand Theft Auto never looked the best so that's probably true. Graphics were never its appeal.
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    The recommended specs seem a little off to me.

    Why a 2.4GHz Core 2 Quad, but only a 2.1GHz Phenom? The phenom should need to be clocked slightly higher to match the Core 2.

    And why a 8600 and a 3870? The 3870 runs circles around the 8600. Is the game really going to be that much more optimized for nVidia cards?
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    IA, USA
    My guess is it makes heavy use of SSE which Phenom has a major advantage compared to Core 2.


    My guess is because of architecture. GeForce goes at everything with brute transistor count while Radeon goes at things with a smarter, fewer transistor approach. The game may subscribe to the GeForce way of thinking rather than Radeon. Most likely, it is probably just because NVIDIA ponied up and AMD didn't...
    mdm-adph says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    heavy requirements for a GTA game :confused:
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,458
    my guess would be age. who said the guys who made these specs up, were techies?

    "oh whats intels oldest quad core - the Q6600"

    Sure its faster than the modern 45nm ones (the budget ones) but its older, so to the masses that means slower.

    8600 + 3870... yeah i dont see a match there either. 9600 + 3870 maybe, for reccomended.
  14. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    I agree, the memory bandwidth on the Phenom is far higher than the Core 2s so thats explainable. The Core 2 however will still outperform the Phenom many thanks to its high L2 cache and low-latency micro-architecture.
  15. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    looks like a lot of people are going to be disappointed when they see those minimum specs :(

    A friend of mine is going to be gutted as he only has a 7600GT ,with looks it either wont run on that or will be unbearably slow...
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,458
    considering how old an 7600GT is, and how cheap a 9600GT is... i dont think many people have room to complain.
  17. ..'Ant'..

    ..'Ant'.. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    294 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    █♣█
    Funny thing is that not only GTA IV is delayed but also Saints Rows 2 again but in Jan,2009.
  18. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    This sucks! I was going to by this for my birthday! :( ehh maybe undercover is still on schedule :)
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Brute transitor count? Do you have any clue what you are talking about?

    The HD3870 has about 3 times the transistor count compared to the 8600. Most would argue that ATi's current approach is very wasteful in terms of transistor count. With the majority of their shaders being virtually useless simple shaders. Meaning an 800 Shader RV770 based cards, only really has 160 useable shaders. But either way, transistor count has little to do with performance.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Hopefully the port is good. That bully for pc was absolute CRAP!
  21. grynnan

    grynnan New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Hm...

    We can only hope that that is one of the reasons for the delay.
    The console to PC ports, are usually rubish.

    What I hope for is, better controls. Better graphics (like shaders etc)


    But that's just what I'm hoping for.
    But what we probably get is an unfinished port, with some extremely annoying copy protection crap, that will piss buyers off, and get the TPB a few 100k new users.
  22. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    Forking ell' - There already wanting the quad-core generation....Jeee !!!

    Is there any point in me getting a duo, I might jump to the Q6600. It'll pay off
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    wow high recommended specs , seems we go enjoy with high details
  24. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Why not? The Q6600 is dirt cheap and unless you get a crappy chip, you should be able to pull off 3.5-3.6 (but apparently some of these newer G0s suck. One buddy can't get past 3.2 w/o cranking the juice beyond making it a crematory lol)
  25. Baum

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    468 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Germany,Hannover
    arg x1900 as minimum req. that's bad ;-( time for a new GPU i guess

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page