1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTA IV Performance

Discussion in 'Games' started by MaxAwesome, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. Viorel

    Viorel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    You can see my System Specs now :)

    But yes, as Erocker says, you have a problem with something :p
    miloshs says thanks.
  2. D3mon_Hunt3r

    D3mon_Hunt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Statistics
    Average FPS: 20.02
    Duration: 36.85 sec
    CPU Usage: 64%
    System memory usage: 90%
    Video memory usage: 90%

    Graphics Settings
    Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
    Texture Quality: High
    Render Quality: Highest
    View Distance: 71
    Detail Distance: 100

    Hardware
    Microsoft® Windows Vista" Ultimate
    Service Pack 1
    Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
    Video Driver version: 7.14.10.630
    Audio Adapter: Digital Output (HDA XPLOSION 7.1)
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU @ 2.40GHz

    File ID: benchmark.cli

    My results with your commandline.txt

    I have no OC what so ever on my PC. At the moment.

    I'm using Cat 8.12 already.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,987
    Looks like it's not using enough of your CPU for some reason. Make sure chipset drivers, bios, windows update, driectX, sound etc. drivers are all updated.
  4. D3mon_Hunt3r

    D3mon_Hunt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm an updating freak. :p
    Perhaps it's because a i run a lot of background tasks...
    I have 101 running processes right now.
  5. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK

    ouch and i thought mine was bad @ 68 :ohwell:
  6. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    799
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    whats GTAVI like on PC, is that buggy and horrible or is it ok.
  7. D3mon_Hunt3r

    D3mon_Hunt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Its more than ok, its great.

    Just a bit troublesome.
  8. Viorel

    Viorel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Buggy but not horible, its a great game ;)


    Anyone is having problems with peds in cars?
    I can't see them at distance, only in covertibles or when I'm at 20 feets from the cars, so i can't kill them with my sniper :(
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
  9. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,037 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    799
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    hmmm is it worth picking up, i played it on the ps3 and it was fun to muck around with
  10. techjunkie

    techjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    173 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    I did the commandline.txt tweak and now I play at max settings on my 4870 512 mb. I don't notice the game getting slower after gaming at max settings. WTF was rockstar thinking that a 512mb card cannot handle the high texture settings ??

    noobs at rockstar :rolleyes:

    Game plays smoothly at 1440x900
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,878 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    US
    Dam and i was annoyied when it was happening to me from 200-300m+ lol

    Yeah noobs they only built the game :p. THere's no pleasing everyone.
  12. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa
    Hey Guys, where can I download the latest GTA IV patch from?

    Sorry for the silly question, but I can't seem to find it.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2008
  13. Viorel

    Viorel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Wingo101 says thanks.
  14. Wingo101

    Wingo101

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    473 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    South Africa
    Thanks man!
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,987
    Anyone know how the commandline.txt works through Steam?
  16. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    I read somewhere you had to put the commandline.txt in the "Steam/SteamApps/Common/Grand Theft Auto IV/GTAIV" Folder
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,987
    I've done that and nothing.:ohwell: The only time I really need my draw distance set any higher is in a helicopter, even so the draw distance is still better than the console version. It's just the only place I'm limited, everything else is at it's highest.
  18. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    I remember my commandline.txt not working, I really dont know why, but after i put them in a certain order, they started working. so if you wanna give a shot at it here's my commanline.txt, try it out.

    -also you can try this:

    Attached Files:

    erocker says thanks.
  19. D3mon_Hunt3r

    D3mon_Hunt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I have my commandline in the same folder as the main exe's and works fine. ;)

    I have Steam version btw.
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,987
    Ok, so all you do is drop the commandline.txt file into the GTAIV folder? Why in the heck isn't it working for me?:banghead: I don't need to do it or anything, it's the principal of it all.:ohwell:
  21. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    silly question but you sure its not named commandline.txt.txt ?:)
  22. D3mon_Hunt3r

    D3mon_Hunt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  23. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    For all the guys running Quad's... i found out that running GTA IV with "-fullspecaudio" command in the commandline.txt increases performance, and also increases load on the CPU... on my system i gained 2-3 FPS by inserting that command in the txt file... Also increases load by additional 5%, at least on my rig...
  24. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    what are your game specs at, like resolution fps etic?
  25. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    Oh sorry forgot about those...
    Heres bench with my rig...

    with 4850 in the rig
    Statistics
    Average FPS: 35.85
    Duration: 37.24 sec
    CPU Usage: 71%
    System memory usage: 51%
    Video memory usage: 100%

    Graphics Settings
    Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
    Texture Quality: High
    Render Quality: Highest
    View Distance: 71
    Detail Distance: 100


    with 4870 in my rig
    Statistics
    Average FPS: 37.36
    Duration: 37.10 sec
    CPU Usage: 65%
    System memory usage: 47%
    Video memory usage: 100%

    Graphics Settings
    Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
    Texture Quality: High
    Render Quality: Highest
    View Distance: 71
    Detail Distance: 100

    with 4870+4850 CF in the rig
    Statistics
    Average FPS: 38.87
    Duration: 37.15 sec
    CPU Usage: 68%
    System memory usage: 48%
    Video memory usage: 100%

    Graphics Settings
    Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
    Texture Quality: High
    Render Quality: Highest
    View Distance: 71
    Detail Distance: 100


    not much of a gain, eh? Im guessing it would show much more gain from CF if i was able to play on a Full HD monitor/tv... but i just had so little time, and wanted to test it out at the same settings as mine...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page