1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTA IV Performance

Discussion in 'Games' started by MaxAwesome, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,333 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    Built in benchmark scoring.



    Statistics
    Average FPS: 37.40
    Duration: 37.33 sec
    CPU Usage: 64%
    System memory usage: 72%
    Video memory usage: 81%

    Graphics Settings
    Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
    Texture Quality: High
    Render Quality: High
    View Distance: 40
    Detail Distance: 100

    Hardware
    Microsoft® Windows Vista" Ultimate
    Service Pack 1
    Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Video Driver version: 7.14.10.621
    Audio Adapter: Speakers (SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD Audio)
    AMD Phenom(tm) 9850 Quad-Core Processor

    File ID: Benchmark.cli


    Draw distance seems to be the limiting factor, at anythign abovbe that it gets choppy. And you start missing textures, but that could be the vmem not providing data fast enough, or a bit to high on the overclock of the vmem.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    So you ARE able to use high textures with your card! Nice.:toast:
     
  3. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,333 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    Looks nice to me.


    2X AA
    4X AF
    High quality textures
    Adaptive AA High quality


    Lowing the vmem doesn't fix the missing textures. However on the second run through the textures are all there.
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    I don't think AA is working, but it's not supposed to yet. It does look good.
     
  5. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,254 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    964
    ^^ Steevo, THANKS for the screenshot. The graphics are amazing compared to what I was expecting given all those whiners in previous posts. But WAIT, you have the 1GB 4850. I think that is the clue. This game just isnt happy on ATI 512MB but needs more.

    Why are so many peeps whining? If you run good at high graphics on your resolution, I'm sure 512MB'ers can do it with medium settings on a slightly lower resolution.
     
  6. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    I believe your graphics cards memory determines what settings gta allows but this can be bypassed using some parameters to the shortcut of the game. I read somewere to max gta 4 you need around 1.4gb or graphics memory.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Above 512mb is the key for the high texture settings. With my 4870 512mb, I can play on 1920x1200 everything maxed except textures where I'm limited to "medium" and the draw distance is limited to 24. It does look good.:D
     
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    i have a 1gb 9600GT nicely overclocked that i might test... reckon high is possible on a 8800GTX's 768mb?
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Yes, and I think high will be available with your 9600GT 1gb as well.
     
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,254 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    964
  11. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    itll be on a 1440x900 screen, so res wont be an issue, im sure if i keep the draw distance moderate ill be fine :)

    the hard part will be filling my 28"s 1920x1200 with a 4870 512.....
     
  12. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    from that review.. "there is support for SLI frame rendering."

    HELLO
     
  13. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,254 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    964
    HELLO!

    You cant SLI/crossfire in GTA4 :banghead:
     
  14. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    *die hard fans that have no price limit and dont realize the quadro series isnt meant for gaming :p*
     
  15. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    not yet, but in time...
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Here's my bench:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Those are the highest allowable settings for the HD4870 512mb
    Q6600 @ 3.0ghz RAM @ 1066
     
  17. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    is that 38fps pretty solid or is there a large fluctuation?
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Solid. It did dip to 28 fps a couple times but that's as low as it goes.
     
    wolf says thanks.
  19. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,254 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    964
    Thank you erocker for some objective data.

    You have a 4870 512MB and can run 1920x1200 without problems! Great. What is everyone complaining about? :confused:

    We need a new thread started with GTA4 BENCHMARK results, CPU, GPU and RAM, FPS... with a standard set of texture, render, view.
     
  20. wolf2009 Guest

    thats just a benchmark, not actual gameplay


    Does the game dip below 20fps in gameplay ?
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    No. The lowest it has gone that I've noticed is 24, with a hell of alot going on. It goes as high as 60, but generally stays in the upper 30's to low 40 range. Those are the settings I play at. I actually turn the amount of vehicles down to 70, because having so much traffic can be annoying!

    I'm dl'ing/installing it on my other (nvidia 9800GTX+) rig right now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2008
  22. Viorel

    Viorel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    [​IMG]


    25-35 here, but is very playable :D
     
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,333 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    The cutscenes seem to take more time/power to render than the actual game.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    So is AA going to be supported at some point or is this yet another console port with no AA support. That was the biggest improvement that I was looking forward to with this release.
     
  25. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page