1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTA IV Performance

Discussion in 'Games' started by MaxAwesome, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    Well DUH! it says the same thing 6 posts before :D :banghead:... but we forgive you, at first i tought it was a part of the signature too :toast:
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    1920x1200
    Textures: high
    Rendering: very high

    Draw distance: 26
    Detail distance: 50
    Vehicles: 38
    Shadows: 16
  3. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    Is that with your quad or dual? And how much VMEM do you have? :)

    lol oops, didn't even notice!
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    If you are getting unplayable framerates, you need to turn down some settings. Your weak rig isn't going to max this game out, but it should handle medium just fine, and still look too too.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    lower the settings especially draw distance and how many vehicles there is because those are very cpu intensive, this game uses four cores.
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    With fraps on last night I stay around 36 FPS, and dip to 31 as the lowest, The peak was 50's for a short time.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    Exactly, this game is extremely CPU intensive(which isn't surprising). Cheap CPUs simply aren't going to cut it. The E4000/5000 series is a minimum I would say, and only if you have a good 3GHz+ overclock on them. The E2000 series and lower is going to drag at this game, even with a good overclock on them, unless you lower the settings. Especially vehicle desity and draw distance.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. wolf2009 Guest

    turn off the clip capture feature, that will solve performance and crash issues
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,676 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    US
    Umm which crash does it solve ?. Is it the unrecoverable error type hat asks if you want send info to MS ??.

    I do believe i had mine on the 1st time i installed the game but this time i have had it disabled without a single crash. The worsted crashes are that require you to reinstall.
  10. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    game seems to run a lot smoother with the video capture turned off :)
  11. russian4850

    russian4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    [​IMG]
    At me the picture is better than at prefix Sony play station 3 and, xbox360 look темболее gta4 фьурика, and европе europases left глюченные bad versions the game version not дароботанная, and in Russia awakes 19 декарбя and at us already pirates зделали пиратку on December, 4th and have cracked gta4 and 200.000$ that that they потратели on protection of game against a piracy it have not helped потомучто in россия in россии very much талантлевые people there live hackers итд, well and still game excellent I already play, but I wait the Russian licence look my screenshots and the video review a game плей

    http://video.mail.ru/mail/apocalipsis20088/2933/3017.html

    http://video.mail.ru/mail/apocalipsis20088/2933/3010.html

    video game play GTA4
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    We don't need to know that you are a "game pirate", nor do we care, nor is it acceptable to talk about here. The video looks good.:)
  13. russian4850

    russian4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    My results in game GTA4=Here so game GTA4 at me goes in a fantastic way yes???????
    Statistics
    Average FPS: 37.98
    Duration: 1.53 sec
    CPU Usage: 74%
    System memory usage: 74%
    Video memory usage: 53%

    Graphics Settings
    Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
    Texture Quality: High
    Render Quality: Highest
    View Distance: 100
    Detail Distance: 100

    Hardware
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Service Pack 3
    Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Video Driver version: 6.14.10.6879
    Audio Adapter: Realtek HD Audio output
    AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+

    File ID: benchmark.cli

    ////////////////////////
    Statistics
    Average FPS: 45.08
    Duration: 1.35 sec
    CPU Usage: 78%
    System memory usage: 65%
    Video memory usage: 34%

    Graphics Settings
    Video Mode: 1680 x 1050 (60 Hz)
    Texture Quality: Medium
    Render Quality: Highest
    View Distance: 100
    Detail Distance: 100

    Hardware
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Service Pack 3
    Video Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Video Driver version: 6.14.10.6879
    Audio Adapter: Realtek HD Audio output
    AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+

    File ID: benchmark.cli

    смотрите видео RUSSIAN MUSIC VIDEO CLIP http://video.mail.ru/bk/drum_s/12/41.html?tagpos=c_11#c_11
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    E8600 @ 4ghz (it needs the speed for this game), GTX260/216 896mb GDDR3 650/1100
  15. russian4850

    russian4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    I not the pirate, I tell that in россии a piracy процвитает continually in any shop in any market and on a techno the market it is possible to buy piracy production, without speaking about that that on the Russian sites it is possible to download 98.8 % of the licence and пиратки so not I питат and Russia number one on a piracy in the world.С one party well, it is possible to buy пиратку for 10$ and the licence of the same game costs 55$ but gta4 I have bought пиратку потомучто I cannot wait more and the licence the purchase, извените for ломанный English language but as I can so I translate
    erocker says thanks.
  16. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    OMG! :D Please don't use the translator anymore... :D
  17. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Wanted as a pedophile

    Go to a TW@ Internet Cafe, log into a computer, and enter ww w.littlelacysurprisepageant.com as a URL to get an instant five star wanted level as a pedophile.

    LMAO...
  18. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    GTA5 needs to be based in 2 cities. One, in Russia, Moskva, and with an an airport so you can "hyperspace" to Detroit. A bit of inflight entertainment as the new city maps load. Nice, two different cultures, completely different music, scenary, missions, russian mafia in moscow vs gangs and unions in detroit. Smuggle cocaine, diamond, hookers on the plane and through immigration. Bribe the officials. CANT WAIT.


    You saw it on TPU first :)
  19. D3mon_Hunt3r

    D3mon_Hunt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    50 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Actually i've seen it all over GTA IV Threads even before the launch of GTA IV on consoles. :laugh:
  20. russian4850

    russian4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  21. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    [​IMG]
    nice :)
    I hope I can find her in the GTA4 hotel! :roll:
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    People running rivatuner experiencing texture problems, make sure you upgrade to the newest version of rivatuner released today, it appearently fixes some texture issues with GTA:IV.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,311 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,340
    Location:
    IA, USA
    That was eff'in hilarious!


    So... I went out eating with Roman and I had to take him back to his apartment. I got my Turismo and Comet parked in front of Roman's apartment so the drop off point is mostly blocked. I thought, yeah, he'll just do one of those magical relocating acts and spawn outside of the car, no problem. So I park with the his door right next to the Turismo. And then he punches me right in the face with a right hook! :roll: I fall out of the car and he slides over to my seat swearing. Then he got out of the car like nothing happened.

    I'm gonna try it again. XD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,653 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    Careful with that, I've noticed that with the Roman side missions like that, after you return him to his apartment it autosaves. If you load from that autosave, your cars will be gone.:eek: It happened to me all the time in the PS3 version, I don't know about the PC version.

    I got in the habit of getting out of my car after dropping him off, and getting into each one of the cars I had parked there, then saving again by running up into the apartment and sleeping.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. russian4850

    russian4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page