1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTA IV Will not launch!

Discussion in 'Games' started by 1nf3rn0x, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I've literally had it up to here *point to above me xD*. I bought this game when It just came out for $100 many years ago and since then I have not been fucking (sorry for swearing im just pissed) able to play this game! The first install ages ago on xp the game lolled at me with constant texture leaks. I gave up and uninstalled. Win7 came along. Tried new install. lol jokes the game froze everytime i pressed wasd. Now I installed the game and It won't even launch. Fuck this XD :mad:

    Here is what happens..

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nRucefmka8&feature=youtu.be
  2. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    If that is your video, download the latest patch.

    ( If you had it installed rockstar social club would not load, unless you chose to keep it for some reason)
  3. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I have downloaded and installed newest patch, yeah that's my video!
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Which is 1.0.7 or something like that correct?

    What compatibility settings do you have at the moment ( if any)

    I think I had to run mine as Vista to get it working ( may of been xp, on windows 8 at the moment and manual compatibility mode seems to be removed)
  5. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    yeah 1.0.7 I put run as XP Sp 3 for compatibility
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Give vista a go and let me know results.


    By the by, if we can get it working through fiddling it may be worth getting a torrent of the game and installing it that way ( you've got legit key after all, no ban hammers ploz! This is legal to do where I live) you may of had a currupt dvd.
  7. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Game has worked before, but always buggy. This if first time it won't launch. I'll try vista!

    Edit: Vista = same thing
  8. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    That's really weird, never had that issue. Oh the joys of PC gaming huh.

    I think I remember seeing that windows Event log was messing with somebody's key presses once upon a time. Other than that I'm stumped bud, hope you get it sorted. It's quality when you have it running right, especially with some of the great mods out there.
  9. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Spoke to him on Skype and all fixed. He ran in compatibility mode (Vista) and renaming the launchers. Mods may lock please.
    LifeOnMars says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page