1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTS 250 bios switching

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by mrhuggles, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    i have an ASUS GTS 250, wondering if i could flash it to EVGA to use their Prcision tune utility, also noticed this bios has no 2d/3d clock switching, thinking i could save alot of power if i found a bios that does, wondering if there are any issues with different cards between 65 and 55nm, or different brands etc
     
  2. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    I have no problem using the EVGA Tool with my XFX GTS 250.
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,230 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,271
    You don't have to have an eVGA card to use their Precision Tuning utility. It works with all cards, or you could just use Rivatuner since that is what the Precision Tuning utility is based on anyway...
     
    mrhuggles says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    yay it DOEs infact work fine, still if i can I'd like to have 2d/3d modes, dunno if its safe to just fill that stuff in in nibitor, or do i need a different bios from one that does have 2d/3d modes, or is that even safe
     
  5. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I don't think some of the newer nVidia cards are supposed to have 2D/3D clocks...I think the GTX 200 series does though. I'm not sure it it would be wise to try it or not.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,230 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,271
    The GTS250/9800GTX+ doesn't support clock switching AFAIK. And even if it did, it doesn't support voltage changes, so it wouldn't really save any power anyway.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page