1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTS 250 or HD 4850 or anyother???

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Pop, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    It's basically my mentality that plays its role. I know GTS250 is the mightly old horse 8800GT in a new shiny armor, and I know HD4850 is AMD's new GPU core.

    If I were to choose which one, I will choose HD4850 just as I'd choose PhII cpu over outdated Core 2 CPU.

    Well, that's my thought on it.

    P.S. I have a HD4850 coming to replace my old 8800GTS 320mb.
  2. skycrane

    skycrane Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    look, im not trying to be a fanboy either way, im a dedicated cruncher, and have 15 rigs with a mix of amd and intel, with 9 gpu of both ati and nvida.


    its just that for most of us, we know about the 88 - 98 -gt250 stuff that nvida did.
    and it seems to me that the OP did not know that,

    im just a big fan, of an informed decision, is a good decision.
    i just wanted him to have the facts

    he was looking at hey,
    well a gt250, is just a tad lower than the gt260 so ill get that instad, and the 4830 is a tad cheaper than the 4850.
  3. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    HD 4830 costs around 7.3K and HD 4850 costs 8.6K(INR). Both DDR3 editions. I shall stick with 4850 so.

    Is PhII X4 920 Processor a bad choice of a processor for a budget of 200$(10K)?

    Also would DDR3 memory prices be slashed in near future?? Is it better to go with a mobo and proccy supporting DDR3 wen I buy in a week or so??:confused:
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Just so you know, the PII 920 cannot do DDR3. And DDR3 is already cheap, at least in the US. If you're sticking with DDR2 go with the 920, if not grab a 810 or 720 as they have DDR3 controllers.
  5. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India

    As of now is DDR3 faster than DDR2?? Can u help me with some midrange mobos(<120$) supporting DDR3 memory? How much does DDR3 cost?
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Can I get some links to an online store you can buy from?
  7. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Which mobo is best for PhII X4 processors in about 6K(INR) abt 120$?
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  9. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That is a very solid board, if you're overclocking you might want to get some heatsinks on the VRM's!
  11. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    I am really new into overclocking. Would you please elaborate? Wat is VRM?
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The little black squares by the CPU socket. They get hot with a lot of CPU voltage and can pop if they get over 110c, leaving you with a dead or severely crippled board.

    [​IMG]
  13. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    The ones on my GA-690G go up substantially in temp as soon as it hits 1.3V. @ 100% CPU load on my PII @ 3.1Ghz
    As seen by this run down, I used an IR Temp reader held @ 2" from the VRMs.
    1.25V= 51C
    1.30V= 59C
    1.35V = 67C
    1.4V = 78C
  14. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Ok Pop, I will make this as simple as possible, I am from India and these are the latest rates where I live and this is the config I would go for:

    1. Phenom II 720BE - Rs.7700/- - USD 154
    2. Biostar 790GX 128mb - Rs. 5,600/- - USD 112 OR Biostar TA790GXB A2+ - Rs. 4,500 - USD 90 (no crossfire/sli)
    3. Ram - 2X2 GB Corsair - Rs. 3,500 USD - 70
    4. 4850 512 MB SC edition Palit - Rs. 10,500 - USD 210 oir normal edition for around 8.5k

    Cheers
  15. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Hey thats my board.....lol still have not found a way to heatsink those.....
  16. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Isnt Phenom 2 X4 the better choice than X3??? Also my overall budget for the new rig is around 45K(900$). So cant fit in Sonic edition 4850 within the budget.:(

    Would biostar board need a heat sink if I am overclocking my cpu upto 3.6 Ghz or so?
    Sorry I am asking. How to add a heat sink to a board? Isnt 5 fans or so enough for cooling needs?
  17. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Getting a heatsink for mosfets in India is like breaking your head on a brick wall...I have checked everywhere and noone has it. There is only the swiftech one, which is for 8800gt memory chips, they are really tiny and may not do the job. If you are looking at the 920 then look at the 720be, I think overclocking wise it rocks and you may also get an unlocked free core, like I did...and with the biostar boards they work well and unlock too. Go for the normal Palit 4850, but get the dual slot version as it will be cooler to run overall. And as for the mosfets at say 3.2-3.4 Ghz on a 720BE you will not have a overheating prolem, but if you can get mosfet heatsinks then great...
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    sure 4850 , maybe you see some tests show gt258 beat 4850 but this gt250 was 1G , got 4850 with 1G ram it is really cool
    try see pilit 4850 1G sonic
  19. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India

    So in effect you are using a X4 edition of Ph II 720BE. Really cool indeed. So 720 BE is way better than Ph2 920 as it supports DDR3 ram too. I am right?? :D

    Would u mind telling me how to unlock the fourth core??
  20. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Ok ask the guy at the shop I have told you about for a 0904 version of the CPU. Once you get that post back, and make sure you get the biostar board. I will help u once that is done. 0904 built CPU's have the highest chance of a decent 4th core. I am currently running it at 3.25 Ghz all four cores, but I have got to around 3.6 Ghz all four cores stable under Prime, but the temps and volts are a bit too high for my liking.

    AND before I forget anything above 3.2 please get an aftermarket cooler or in your part of the world the temps would go crazy.
    Pop says thanks.
  21. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Thanks

    But woudl this unlocking of the fourth core render my cpu unstable? And would cpu temps rise above normal?
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The stability is 50/50 chance. Some are stable, some aren't. Luck of the draw.
  23. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    As of now I am going ahead PhII X4 processor 920, ATI HD 4850 DDR3 512 mb and Biostar TA 790GX.


    Thanks for all your help.
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hiya Pop, may want to see if you have a Phenom 925 available. May be good to look as that will expand your options of DDR3.
  25. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Has PhII X4 p25 been released?? And it does DDR3?? :eek:

    Wats his cost?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page