1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTS 250 or HD 4850 or anyother???

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Pop, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Upon looking they are hard as heck to find. How much are 945's and 810's?

    EDIT:

    810's are roughly $190 USD
    945's are roughly $220 USD
     
  2. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Not yet launched in India.
     
  3. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Dragon Platform :cool:

    (All prices are in INR. 1$=50Rs)

    Phenom II X4 920 2.8 Ghz - 10,500
    Biostar TA790GX A2+ 5.x -5,700(form factor ATX 305*205mm)
    Palit or XFX ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB DDR3 256Bit - 8,500
    Corsair DDR 2(2 X 2GB DDR2 800MhZ C5)- 2,600
    Western Digital Sata 2 500 GB (16 MB Buffer) - 2875
    DVD writer Samsung 20x SATA SH-203B-1200
    Zebronics (Bijli,Vivah) or UMAX(Garuda,Gladiator,Terminator,Alien,Armour,Warrior,Thermo casing) without Psu Local but cool looking - 1250
    Corsair vx450-3800 or Tagan TG500-U37 SMPS-3525(600W max) 500W -3525
    Samsung LCD 19 '' 943NWX-7500
    Creative Inspire 4.1 Spkrs M4400 2400
    Logitech Multimedia-Wired Keyboard-400
    Logitech Optical-350
    APC 500VA 2150
    Epson All In One 2800 -3750

    Total-->950$

    Going to order by April 20th. Wat do you think of this rig?
     
  4. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    All nice super pricing and super stuff,but ditch the bijli and all the other crap cases you have mentioned and go for a CM 590, will cost you abt 3.5-3.8k or go for the 33x series which is cheaper and not as good as the 590. With the 590 you will not regret it and will not have any issues of over heating. Add two high CFM fans to it and your done as far as cooling is required.

    For CPU cooling I would suggest OCZ Vendetta 2 at 2.5-2.7k. Thats all the changes I see.
     
    Pop says thanks.
  5. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Does the case thing really matter? I was looking for great looking cases under 2K(under a tight budget). Umax cases look so cool and comes with 3 LED stock fans. So thought I would choose that
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Looks great man! Enjoy :D
    I would get the palit 4850, but that's just me.
     
    Pop says thanks.
  7. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
  8. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Ok...had a zebby antibiotic which is one of the better local cases in the market and the stock led fans that came with it sucked big time, and no they didnt suck any air. So I would suggest you get a slightly better cabinet if you want good case airflow, which I am sure you will need if you plan to run that config nice and cool. I have a pic of the old one and new cabinet in my case gallery so go have a look there and you will get a few ideas. Among the local cases the only one I think is decent is the B2 from zebby which is ok, but would need more fans to keep it cool. Should cost around 2.3k -2.5k or so.

    As for DDR3- you will have to change your mobo choice and the Asus M4A series is nice, but ill cost you close to 9-10k.
     
    Pop says thanks.
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I have a 4850 1gb and it's a demon. By far one of the best cards that I have ever owned, so I would recommend the 4850.
     
    Pop says thanks.
  10. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Just a little question out of point


    Would it be enough if I change the motherboard later on to support ddr3 ram? Wouldn't 920 fit in with that chipset then?
     
  11. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    pop,

    The Phenom II X4 810, and Phenom II X3 720 both support DDR2 and DDR3.

    You do not have to wait for the Phenom II X4 955, the above two will do the job.

    I'd stick with DDR2, PC8500 on a regular AM2/AM2+ board and then move to a AM3 motherboard with DDR3 in a year or two when prices come down.
     
    Pop says thanks.
  12. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Sorry for being a noob.

    "An AM3 motherboard has 938 pins.
    An AM2/+ processor like the 940/920 has 940 pins.
    A 940 pin proc won't fit in a socket with 938 pins.

    Moreover, the PII 920/940 don't have a DDR3 controller either. These processors were released so that people with AM2 motherboards could upgrade without having to change platforms."

    I just read this in a forum. So If I buy 920 or 940 processor I cannot upgrade to DDR3 when the price comes down. Right?


    Also how much would the 810 processor cost around? Is 925 having AM3 socket?
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    925 is AM3, 810's are good but they have low cache and a low multi. Tellin you.. Grab a 720 or 925.
     
  14. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    So 720 proccy is better than 810 one? How much would the 925 processor cost around?


    So Phenom II 920 was actually a bad choice because it was not future proof. :wtf:
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    720 is better than the 810, it has more cache but it's missing a core. 925's are gonna be the same price as the 920, maybe a little more.
     
  16. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345

    The Phenom II 920/940 CPUs can only be put into AM2/AM2+ motherboards.
    The Phenom II 810, 925, 955 and 720 BE can be put into AM2/AM2+/AM3 boards

    However, there is a small exception.

    There are a few AM3 motherboards on the market which can accept DDR2 modules and as a result can take all the Phenom II line up, 920/940 810, 925, 955 and 720 BE etc (exception which is rare)


    The Phenom II 810 should be cheaper than the 920 in most countries.


    If money is an issue get the 720 BE


    Edit:


    It varies country to country.

    You will have to check your local prices. We can only give you UK and US prices.

    Don't bother with DDR3, get DDR2 PC8500 and worry about DDR3 in a year or two when prices drop.

    I would advise 4 GBs of ram opposed to 2 GBs.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  17. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    My advice pop, forget everything get a 720BE and then look at a AM3 board and DDR3 probably a year down the line when they are more mainstream. Most applications run a bit faster on the 720 BE than the 810, cause most applications are not meant for multi threading rite now.
     
  18. Pop

    Pop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    India

    Thanks mavv, Darren

    Wats multithreading? How much would DDR3 2 gb Ram kits cost?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page