1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Kursah, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    If you use eVGA Precision or RivaTuner the sliders will tell you 713/1479/1250 but I "Think" if you look at the graphs on the left that track the actual frequencies being used they may not be the frequencies you think. Can you grab a screen shot showing the graphs?

    See my screenshot below from Rivatuner. I circled in red the core and shaders. (This is my wife's machine, not my rig with the GTX260 so ignore the actual numbers).
     

    Attached Files:

  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Huh.. there is something going on here, slightly different though..
    [​IMG]
    interesting, now I'm going to have to play with clocks more. Card just keeps getting weirder!
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,866 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    You may have to set affinity in Task Manager (Crtl-Alt-Del) under processes.

    The GPU client process is FahCore_11.exe. So just set one to core one and one to core two and you'll be fine.

    :toast:

    Also on a side-note, did some more OC-ing of my current 216 core GTX260, and it does not attain as high of stable OC's as my 192SP did, but really it's a helluva performer, and I just leave it at 666/1436 1200 and it just breezes through whatever tasks are tossed it's way. I figure not too bad for a core running on stock 1.06v. I may try 1.12v and see if anything happens later on, but right now I'm content. The highest I've gone thus far was around 730 core, 1500 shaders and 1300 memory. I don't quite recall because it was last week and I didn't take screenies or submit any GPU-z verifacations, so I will have to try again later on.

    :toast:
     
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,866 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yep, that's how these cards clock...EVGA Precision will also show the same thing, there is a difference between driver set clocks and hardware clocks, I'm just assuming that Rivatuner/Precision detect the hardware clocks, where-as GPU-z and many other programs that detect clockspeeds will report what you have set at driver level. When you said you were able to do 1MHz increments and have them stick I knew something was up! :D

    :toast:
     
  5. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, I feel dumb, all the years running computers and I've never checked out the affinity setting in taskman... sure enough every instance of fahcore starts up with default only core1 checked! Back to college for me....
     
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I sure hope every one of us gtx280 and 260 owners here are in the tpu folding club! When you go to bed at night, crank up your card and let it fold. Just a reminder message.....
     
  7. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,866 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    :p I've been folding for TPU for over a year now, granted I did take a few month break, I kicked it back up in July before I got the GTX260 or made this thread! Folding for TPU FTW! But if GPU! ever get's a folding team I will have to defect! :D
     
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,866 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Well been doing a lot of gaming and folding this week, no time to find my max OC. I do gotta say this card is a beast in games, just got Left 4 Dead last night and the game looks good, and as all valve games do runs very smooth and I get pretty damn high fps. The newer whql 180 drivers even gave me a boost in Far Cry 2 and World in Conflict.

    Hows the rest of the GTX200 world doing out there? Anyone planning on snagging the 55nm version coming up next month (iirc)? I think I'm content with my 260 core216 for a while...we'll see what's going on in a few months or when this card no longer keeps up.

    :toast:
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Sent Kyle my 260 in the mail today so no longer an owner sadly, I have a GX2 coming as a freebie to play with and I have just bought two Palit 1GB HD4850 sonics to run in crossfire.....just needed something else to play with, still, I loved that 260!!!
     
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    might take that GX2 from ya when ur done ;)
     
  11. kyle2020 Guest

    ooft, you guys can count me in as of saturday, maybe even tomorrow, have tattys beast of a 260 arriving ;)
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Just treat it gently, Iit has the 1.18V bios mod on it so apart from Precision Tuner you shouldnt need to do anything with it apart from put your seatbelt on!
     
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
  14. nosboost300 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    [​IMG]

    whoa whoa nowwwwww, i'm here to steal your 3dmarksssss

    just thought i'd share gtx260 and core i7 performance... DELICIOUS
     
  15. kyle2020 Guest

    Very nice! My 260 + some quad core loveliness:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Very nice Kyle, with that CPU VCore I reckon you might have some more in that quad!
     
  17. kyle2020 Guest

    i might do a 4Ghz suicide run later ;)
     
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I like suicide runs! I am sat here tapping the keys of my daughters old laptop......feel guilty? :D
     
  19. kyle2020 Guest

    :( please dont . . .
     
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    :p
     
  21. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Nice clocks but I am going to guess that your core is actually running at 810MHz (rather than 790 as displayed) and your shaders are at 1620 (rather than 1581). These cards OC in increments. If you start up Rivatuner or eVGA Precision and then check the graphs you will see the actual clocks that the core and shader are running at rather than what you think they are set to.

    The increments that I have experienced on my GTX260 are:

    core: 756 -> 783 -> 810
    shaders: 1512 -> 1566 -> 1620
     
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yup, thats the speed he is running at ;) Nice!
     
  23. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    is it common for all the various models to have vastly different default clockspeeds?

    mine is 620 core | 1080 mem | 1296 shader

    most of the ones ive seen are lower than this by default ,as far as im aware my model isn't an oc version.
     
  24. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Completely normal. May even be different for SP216 vs. SP192 cards. My XFX XXX factory was something like 650 on the core (forgotten now cos first thing I did was flash BIOS to 756 core) ;)

    The 260's OC like mad and have a pretty decent cooling solution so I think almost any manufacturer with reference design could hit 650 on the core without breaking a sweat. Just depend on the manufacturer I guess.
     
    xubidoo says thanks.
  25. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,866 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Very normal, and with these cards all of them are pretty much the exact SAME except for the 192 and 216SP varieties and now with NV allowing unique PCB designs which is new news so probably none out there yet.

    I've yet to see a GTX260 that couldn't do at least EVGA FTW GTX260 clock speeds+...on 4 GTX260's of 192 and 216 core varieties all of them ran: 666/1458 1200 w/o any issues. Increasing the fan speed to about 70% keeps the card within very do-livable temps w/o too much noise.
     
    xubidoo says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page