1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Kursah, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    I did it to install my waterblock. There are some pics and comments in my thread below. Don't know if your particular card has the 10 rear screws covered by a label. If not you are good to go. Otherwise you need to cut the label to expose the screws.


    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=73494
     
    johnspack says thanks.
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,847 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,048
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'll look it all over, hopefully Binge can give me some tips too...
     
  3. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Your card should come apart into 3 pieces. To be simple it's the Top, PCB, and backplate. There are the screws Dadi-oh mentioned as well as plastic hooks that start on the backplate and attatch to the Top. These are not hard to find. You simply take a flat head screw driver and pry the Top and backplate apart a little bit and if I remember correctly there are 4 of these hooks. With applied pressure to the hook the Top will release from the backplate. If you do this to all the hooks then your card will be completely undone. If you don't want to deal with the hooks you can simply pry it apart and the clasps for the hook are very flimsy. I broke two trying to do it carefully, but don't be afraid it doesn't harm anything. They'll snap WAY before anything important is harmed.
     
    johnspack says thanks.
  4. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    [​IMG]
    look at that well for me im happy

    i now have a 100% stable system, crappy oc of 3150mhz on my cpu but its stable so im not touching that baby, that GPUZ i posted is mass effect and fur mark stable i think its got more in it but i dont want to try just now

    anyway i was about to say that for some reason or other i wasnt happy with the card i was getting the same IQ and not as big a jump in FPS now all i can say is wow im glad it took me time to get it right

    i now have mass effect running excellent without any crashes, better IQ i mean the game now looks better than my 8800gt with 2x AA on mass effect and thats with no AA or AF forced

    i can play Civilization 4 with no crashes! :D

    dunno i never changed drivers i just installed physx and did a settings check in control panel fixed my CPU and Ram to stable settings, bumped up the GPU oc

    still to try the card in a open space well apart from oblivon but for some reason that caps at 60fps and as youd expect runs fine

    EDIT: this is the 192 version as you can see from the GPUZ shot
     
  5. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Well you may be even happier to learn that your core is actually running at 756 and your shaders are at 1512. These cards OC in specific increments and nothing in between. In order to see what you are actually running you need to use Rivatuner or evga precision and observe the graphs.

    The steps are:

    Core 756 -> 783 -> 810
    Shaders 1512 -> 1566 -> 1620

    So your challenge is the next step of 783/1566 :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
  6. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    okay as a christmas present to you i will try those speeds next week sometime
    i never realised they went in increments

    its a fine card the gtx 260 but im finding a lot of games are framerate locked at 60fps
    oh ad project 64 locks at 25 fps which is strange
     
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    dont hate me guys but looky here......

    check this! almost dead even!!!




    [​IMG]
     
  8. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,097 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Those are some very impressive results...especially if you consider GPU count...5 vs 3. Shows the GTX's have some serious gusto, I'm sure using the older 178 drivers for the GTX 260 Tri SLI would bring those cards down a bit...but nothing but the sweetest of results from ya fits!

    Thanks for sharing! Please continue to!

    :toast:
     
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    for some reason nvidia control panel and physx control panel crash with the 180 drivers. 178's run flawlessly though.
     
  10. nosboost300 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    you got alot more clocking room for those 260's than that! lets see a 750mhz 1500 shader run!
     
  11. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    for some reason my 216's are crap for OCing. my 192 however.... i cant talk about that card yet. ;)
     
  12. nosboost300 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    why is there a 192 thrown in there :p

    my 192 overclocks like a champ... i've yet to try to take the core to 800 mhz because i've been too lazy to place it as my primary card (mainly because just that 1 is watercooled)

    i'm finally getting my gtz for my i7.. so i'll be shooting for some 26+k 3dmark06


    i think my 920 sucks at overclocking though.. it needed insane voltage for 3.82ghz.. but i think that may be because it just needs to be cold.. but who knows, crappy stock intel heatsink sucks
     
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i got each card for $175 each. you cant argue at that price. they have been running perfect for a week now.



    A NOTE FOR YOU GUYS THINKING OF GOING WATER ON I7....

    2 pa120.3's, 6 scythe ultra kaze 133cfm fans, 1 iwaki rd30, gtz and nb-max can keep my i7 running at 4.2ghz all day BUT the water is 90f + and the rads are blowing HOT HOT HOT air.

    the i7 does put of alot of heat.
     
  14. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,097 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    $175/ea? I thought they were $185/ea? :p

    That's a lotta heat and a lotta cooling to keep an i7 at 4.2ghz...wow.
     
  15. nosboost300 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    ya i'm just thinking my cpu wants to be cold... or at least i'm praying.... if i can't get this thing 4.2ghz for a pi run along with a 3dmark06/vantage run... imma crap myself in anger and sell the damn thing until i get a better one...
     
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the damn tri sli bridge keep them too close and they cant really breath.
     
  17. nosboost300 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    ya... cooling tri -sli'd gtx's seems like a pain.. i was gonna do tri sli watercooled setup.. but i can't find xspc blocks anymore.. so i might just wanna go with an air setup and steup up to 280's... or even wait for the gtx295
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    they are out there. i guess i'll look for you.
     
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  20. nosboost300 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    109 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    those are the 280 blocks

    the 260 blocks were only 40 dollars :p

    i know they're basically the same.. but i wanted to save some money.. haha
     
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  22. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,515 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,119
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    advice for gtx owners...

    use a fan on the back of your cards...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    RESULTS


    [​IMG]


    ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    Kursah says thanks.
  23. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,097 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Just noticed that this thread got stickied! Very good stuff! Pretty cool to see this thread and this line of cards still pretty lively if not more lively in comparison to when I acquired my GTX back in July. Thanks to all of you supporters out there, all of the donations! I gotta say I love my GTX, and I'm excited to see what the 55nm's and the possibility of a monster called the GTX295 (actual results pending), things are shaping up quite well for these cards imo.

    :toast:
     
  24. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Fit's you hit over 30k! Sweetness!

    Kursah, it's been a great road that we've went down since the start of the GTX. I'm still happy with my 280. I'm hoping to grab the Thermalright HR-03 GTX Cooler for the card. It should be in the coming weeks that I'll be grabbing it.
    I will post pics once I get it in! :toast:
     
  25. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,097 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Definately do! I'm curious to see how well it performs...I'm still impressed with the stock cooling on my 260, keeps it very cool for a stock cooler. But I wouldn't mind slapping an aftermarket on someday! :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)