1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Kursah, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Welcome to TPU, I recommend Rivatuner or EVGA Precision, the same guy makes em both, EVGA Precision has all the settings you NEED for overclocking your card, Riva has some extra stuff most don't need or play with..I use Precision atm.

    You have a very powerful card, it should treat you quite well!
     
    AtlRich says thanks.
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,730 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,535
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Very useful Info thanks! I think you may have just convinced me there and then :D I could have got the 280 but would only have gotten the cheaper 24 inch monitor, it's about justifyinfg the expense to myself.

    So from what you have said, with the voltage it's just actually like the 8800GT Bios mod where the Extra was 1.10 but if you changed it to 1.15V you got the extra juice? The 4870 is a damn good card, but I kind of get twitchy when I have to play with a card right outta the box to get things working as I feel they should! Kind of like all the 3870 owners telling 8800GT owners who bought aftermarket cooling because of the really crap reference cooler that you shouldnt have to buy a card then have to modify it straight out of the box to get things right :)
     
    {JNT}Raptor says thanks.
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I have just temp increase alone as proof the extra voltage from BIOS is there...from 1.12v to 1.18v I increased 3-5C on load...at all clocks. The temps seem pretty consistent for a range of clocks/oc's thus far, and even a healthy increase didn't seem to be huge to the overall increase of temps...idle is always the same since both my modded and OE bios have the same 2D/2d volt settings.

    Having to modify a card so it doesn't idle around 60-70C is an issue for me, those kind of temps should only be seen at load imo. I like to see less, the lower the better...sure I know GPU's can take a lot of heat, but if around 100-105C is the limit, my card idles at 45C and the average 48xx idles around 60C...that is just insane imo. I know the HD48xx cards are good, it's about time those extra shaders that ATI uses come in handy, but if you look at the 800 vs 192 on my NV, there are users that state NV's shaders are "less efficient", "not as good of performers" and all that kind of junk...the NV card should be in 2900pro territory if that stuff was true. Maybe it's that the DX10.x support isn't there? Who knows...800 shaders should do more than be neck and neck with the 2nd in line on the GTX. Sure there are times when an HD4870 may meet or beat a GTX280 too...I'm sure it's out there in DX9 land, but in DX10 I haven't seen to much in real world results on SIMILAR builds where that was true. DX9, I don't care if that HD48xx guy gets 100FPS and I get 98 in the same game, same build, same res, same settings..ya know what I mean? Hell knock it down another 10-15 because of PhysiX...so I get a game experience the way it was designed to be, and I'm still at frames that are beyond what would be considered good performance with all the eye candy and PhsyX...to me the winner is clear this round, I just think the initial prices really hurt the image...it gave the 48XX a chance they wouldn't have had as strong of otherwise imo. Good cards, great cards, both sides, but I did a LOT of research in both pro-review and consumer based stuff, to me the card that was getting my money was clear...runs great stock, drivers are pretty damn solid, the card performs great, runs cooler, OC's great out of the box, and flat out gets the job done.

    I don't want to sway you if your intents are with the HD48xx series, I hope if you go that route, you get what you expect for your money, and I'm sure you will as they are damn good cards...I'm not saying the GTX's are better, just easier to deal with...the price/performance is there now...that changes the picture quite a bit on it's own imo. The choice is a tough one for sure, but no matter what route you go, you will get a good performer!

    :toast:
     
  4. AtlRich New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    My Stock settings are Core 621 Shader 1350 and Memory 1134 Ever time I try to bump any of the settings even the slightest bit, it seems my frame rates drop badly. Any ideas? Running the latest nVidia drivers currently on all the board and video.
     
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What are you using to overclock the card? Precision? Did you get the 1.3.1 version recently released?

    What driver version? Your PSU should be sufficient, I can OC pretty good with an OC'd quad setup and this card on a Corsair HX520 about 1.5 years old now.

    What is your FPS dropping badly in? What are you using to verify your clocks are stable? Need more info man...I noticed nothing but increases...just remember the GPU core cannot go beyond 50% of the shader speed, my GTX stock is linked at 46% of shader speed.
     
  6. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    like kursah said core clock cannot go 50% over shader clock or the clocks goes to 2d mode
     
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,730 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,535
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    So providing you keep the clocks "linked" there should be no issues at all? Ohhhh and also, seeing as these cards clock in similar fashion to the 9600, if you raise the PCI-E bus on on mobo, you should get further performance increases also?

    On your comments above Kursah....yes, I find it ironic to say the least that you are talking about temp issues in relation to the 4870 when it's 55nm and the 200 is 65 :eek:
     
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    nope cannot overclock PCIE on these cards causes crashes.
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,730 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,535
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    That must be because you have a poor quality mobo :p My neighbour has a 790i Ultra and a 260 and his PCI-E is set to 105mhz....no probs
     
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    na that was per W1zzard something to do with the way it calculates it's speed like the 9600 read this part of the review http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Point_Of_View/GeForce_GTX_280/26.html l. My old 4870 would do 125. I suppose if you adjust for the difference you could do it and I'm not near as smart as wizzard so i'm not sure what the heck it all means.


    Okay this is rare for me, but I was wrong I can set mine a 105 and all is okay. OOps hold the phone now I lost fan control so nope doesn't work right. Oh well back to 100 pcie and Tatty I order 780I FTW edition they made that motherboard to fix all the problems the 790 was having and added solid capacitors etc so it's better than a regular 780. I'm gonna SLI baby. It does 550 FSB not as high as the 790I but plenty for me, and it will use my current DDR2. Here it is. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188027&Tpk=780I+ftw
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Well you and trt got the PCI-e bus covered, my 9600GT was a non-reference Palit version that wasn't effected by PCI-e bus for clocks. You can "unlink" the GPU and Shader, since off the bat the cards are at a less than 1:2 ratio to begin with you can have quite a bit of room to play, but in the end, it will kick to 2D (or with EVGA Precision, won't allow higher GPU clocks until shader raised).

    I find it ironic too, but just reading on this forum alone I've seen more threads and complaints about the 55nm AMD/ATI chip's temps than the largest GPU ever made...I still find it odd. Like I said I'm just going off of what I've read/researched, complaints, praises, etc.
     
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I feel the same as your Kursah on the 4xxx series... I've seen more and more threads over the internet saying they are not as happy as the papers first show on the cards... I really don't see anything on the new Nvidia cards and not working the way it was shown on paper to begin with.

    100 PCIe is about the best I can do myself. Going over it and it says f you and I can only clock it under 700. But, if I keep it at 100 it's fine by me. Just throwing it out there even though TRT and tatty's talk proved it..

    But, this one hits everyone... What is the different between the FTW version of the EVGA 780i and the other 780i that is out there with 3x PCie 16 slots?
     
  13. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    FOR THE WIN edition;) I quess more bios options, 8 phase power and sum other things that i missed in the specs tab.
     
  14. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, i see all that. I'm just wondering if grabbing the cheaper one is worth it? Cash crunching is what I'm looking at... I really don't like used mobos and psus...
     
  15. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    well if u can live without all the extra goodies just go for it. I would pick the FTW version as it has vdroop control and 8 phase power design, so it will OC better.
     
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,730 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,535
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    ordered by Gainward GTX260 and the 28inch monitor yesterday, should be here Wednesday next week, in the end, the 260 was on a special deal and cost me less than the cheapest 4870 :toast:
     
  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    That sounds good tatty. I have to wait a few weeks before i get a new board... I am hoping the max board will post...
     
  18. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Just thought I'd post this for anyone, Precision 1.3.2 is out...I guess as of 8/8/08, first i've heard of it lol!

    http://www.evga.com/precision/

    Adds a new skin and better GTX 260/280 compatability, I'll definately give it a go! :toast:
     
  19. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Got it last night. I went from 1.2.0 "Special Edition" that shipped on the 280/260 driver CD to 1.3.2. They fixed quite a few bugs including that obvious bug with VRAM clocks when in low-power mode.
     
  20. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah the vRam clocks was fixed in 1.3.1 which I went to a little over a week ago iirc. I notice if I get too close to the 1:2 ratio even in 1.3.1 sometimes my GPU clocks won't display correctly, sometimes it'll drop to 300, sometimes 400...it can't be the limiters kicking in because I still get higher scores in benches and higher frames in games...so hard saying...but I downloaded it and installed...just dont' have time to mess with OC's tonight.

    :toast:
     
  21. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Yeah, I noticed that. I figured it was the power-management system kicking in.

    Interestingly enough, in some old Dx7 and Dx8 games, the GPU/Shader/VRAM clocks stay in various low-power modes, even when in full 3D. Not sure if it's a bug in the OSD reporting or maybe certain games do not put enough load on the GPU to warrant full clocks. In which case, that is pretty impressive if the GPU can figure out what types and subsets of certain DirectX API's are utilized or are not utilized.
     
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,730 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,535
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well Installed the Gainward 260 today, prelim results look promising, have not had time to really play yet but here is what I can gets so far 100% stable............as in I can burn the sh*t out of the card with 5 loops of Furmark and no artifacts, she does not go above 66C either, idles at around 39C, she will pass EVGA Precision tools test at 790mhz but furmark doesnt like it much!..................
     

    Attached Files:

  23. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Very nice! At those clocks you are way above pixel-fillrate of a stock GTX 280. About 10% above.

    Pixel fillrate:
    Your OC'd GTX 260: 21.3
    Stock GTX 280: 19.2

    Further comparisons:

    Stock Radeon 4850: 10
    Stock Radeon 4870: 12
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,730 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,535
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    A result then! Am going to mod the BIOS to see if setting "extra" at 1.18V (rather than 1.12V) makes any difference.
     
  25. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    See if it does...I'm actually going to mod back to 1.12v. I'm having issues finding my good boot cd for the NTFS DOS I was using lol!

    The heat production increases, and I didn't seem to gain too much in OC-ability...wish my 260 could hit 800/1600, but it just ain't so. I'm fine with that...I don't game OC'd anyways lol! Keep us posted on your results Tatty! I was hoping this thread wasn't gonna die lol!

    I know there are more GTX users on TPU, wish they'd donate also! Thanks again to all those that have! And let me know what else you'd like to see in the OP! I'm open to requests!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page