1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Kursah, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,632 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,584
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Nice OC's, I'm sure it has a little more in there, that's around what I generally run mine at or so. The 650-700/1540-1560 1200-1300 range. I couldn't honestly tell ya on the 3dmarks, if your games run smooth, who cares! :D

    Also on my mem speeds, I might be able to attain higher speeds due to having half the memory you do, my experience is primarily with reference pcb's on the GTX front.

    :toast:
  2. shadee1337

    shadee1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Arizona
    Hooray for this thread, I should be getting a GTX260 (Core 216) sometime this month if someone buy's my damn E8400.
  3. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    well it's my gaming clocks :rockout:

    I tried 1500 on shader but the memory wouldn't clock higher than 1050 or it will start artifacting
  4. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Furmark 20 minutes of testing 3D 1.05v stable (currently flashed to 1.0375v but haven't run furmark yet)

    [​IMG]

    2D flashed to 0.82v , completely stable! GPU/Shader/Mem flashed to 687/1478/1195 , haven't tried furmark yet but I think it's stable



    [​IMG]
  5. stinzza

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    norway
    ey o tatty or anybody.. could you post a screenshot of your max overclocked 275... gpu-z.. just to compare to the max oc 280.. and maybe give an opinion on whos fastest.. i meen maby drivers is more tweaked in favor to the 275 to day to make it shine and be noticed.. i meen look at those fillrates rendering speeds and that 161.3gb pr second bandwidth loop for the 280..

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,349 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Running my 280 at stable 2d volts of 0.98 now, have tried as low as 0.88 and still worked fine. I may do 27/4 of less than .98 in the end. 1.11v is the most I need for 720/1512/1260, and it may do less. I have to test it more on demanding games like crysis and gtaiv. Did some more testing, and crysis warhead is stable at 1.09v, so I'll try that for folding as well.
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  7. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    iv got my gtx260 flashed to 2d - 0.75v 3d - 0.9v extra - 0.950v load temps 66 with fan spead 55% idle at 36c. clocks are 602/1296/1050
    im doin these because my psu has only 33a on the 12v even at stock this used to blackout on furmark extreme burn nw it doesnt.

    also would it be dangerous putting to low of volts in ?
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  8. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Not exactly dangerous, but go too low and the card simply won't work. If 3D mode crashes, that's not that bad, as you can still change it. Going too low on 2D will get you in trouble.
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    GT300 has been released to beta run. it will hit testers hands early september and should be out to public 2nd week of november.

    thought you'd want to know this info.
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  10. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    gud , i found the 2d limit .7v witch mean 2.2a x 12v = 26.4watts if im rite thats very low
    2d - 0.7v
    3d - 0.8v
    extra - 0.925v
    its stable at that i think i ran furmark and played games a bit but wil c.
    power consuption will be way down
  11. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    if it's stable it's good ;)
  12. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    482 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,349 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Folded on my 280 overnight at 1.09v, no problems at all. Here is a look at rivatuner monitor while folding a "hot" project, others can be 10c cooler. This is in a apt with high ambient temps! http://img.techpowerup.org/090807/8-7-2009 2-26-12 PM.jpg Edit: pushing the limits, found that 1.06v is not enough for a full oced 280! heheh So the answer is either 1.09 or 1.08 or 7. Need to go fly now so no more testing. Will fold overnight again at 1.09 to see if it remains stable.
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  14. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,632 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,584
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    A couple months ago I toyed with the EVGA GVT and dropped my 260-216 down to 1.000v-0.988v for folding, I had to increase for gaming though (to 1.000v iirc). I really haven't messed with voltages since I that time, but you guys are gaining my interest into seeing what I can attain! Some very nice results thus far!

    :toast:
  15. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,349 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'm seeing it's a good idea. Why burnout these cards early with too much voltage! I'm still at 1.09 on my 280, but will try 1.08 next. If it reduced my oc or crashed in games, I'd say useless except for folding. But it works 24/7 for anything, no crashes, no performance probs. Right now I'm using Rivatuner to change vgpu, until I'm sure about the volts. The .98v for 2d is remaining stable as well.
  16. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, I'm starting to think the high failure rates of GTX 280 cards are because of the massive extra voltage they have compared to GTX 260 cards. Running with less voltage and heat will surely make them last longer.

    I added the 8500GT card just so that my GTX 280 drops to 2D clocks and voltages. Having system on 24/7 and now with 1V idle is much better than 1.1875V it was (with 2 monitors attached.)

    I'm even running my processor undervolted and OCed at least until it gets cooler outside :D
  17. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,632 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,584
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    My first 260-192 (what I used for screenshots in the OP) ran at 1.1250v (iirc) for Extra clocks. What suprised me was the 65nm 260-216 that ran 1.06v. Granted the 216 doesn't OC as far, it's not far off either. I have considered further modifying the bios after playing with EVGA GVT some more (it has worked again with recent drivers after 182.50 iirc). But it's been a while since I tweaked anything on my PC...I might have to see what I can get out of this card again lol! I'm sure I can find one of my old posts from a while back in this thread, but I'm not gonna look for it. I'll start a fresh slate tomorrow and see what happens, anyone else feel free to add in your results, it'd be cool to kinda get an idea of what people are attaining, hell a dedicated thread may be worth creating if enough post about this topic.

    :toast:
  18. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Extra: 1.1375V, 3D(video): 1.05V, 2D: 1.00v, (stock where 1.1875c/1.10v/1.10v)

    Those are what I use now. Left a bit of headroom previously on Extra, iirc 1.1250V was enough for highest OCs for this card, but that just to be safe as I haven't played around with Core/Shader/Memory OC ratios.

    Video mode (3D) isn't really even used that much, as I watch videos from my telly that is hooked up to the 8500GT. Haven't tested if gametrailers and other videos go to that mode.
  19. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Lol I did the same. my i7 is now running 2,6Ghz @ .88v it's so warm here in the netherlands I can't even breathe when I put my computer on in my bedroom
  20. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    can I edit my Palit GTX260 extra voltage on Nibitor? here's my current voltage by Palit gave me stable for gaming 700MHz core and 1450 shader

    Attached Files:

  21. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think 1.10v should work. Just try it.
    If you don't know how to edit bios , upload it here on TPU (attach file) and I'll edit it for you
    RadeonX2 says thanks.
  22. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    thanks but I wanted to increase the extra voltage to around 1.15v
  23. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It can handle that , EVGA voltage tuner let my increase my voltage up to 2v . I think above 1.5v without good cooling would damage your GPU.
  24. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    I had read that 55nm GTX260 using the on-the-fly voltage change on evga's voltage tuner wont work it's because they had change the voltage regulator to cheaper ones and I doubt changing the bios voltage will work.

    so I'm stuck at 1.12v :(
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, I'm with you on that. I've tested 1.25v with/without the fan blowing on the card, and pulling the heat away, and saw that if I didn't have that extra fan to pull heat away from the ramsinks, it was just going to poop on me.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page