1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Kursah, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Burgers New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hello!

    Voltage as requested. I'm sorry if this isn't the actual voltage. I can tell you now, though, that I haven't changed the voltages at all - no idea how or interested ;)

    [​IMG]

    It's 1:26am here and I am rather tired, so i'll probably try 800 on the core in a day or two.

    Thanks!
     
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    the 216 card is on air m8. the 192 card is on water
    dear god man! I can believe that your getting those high clocks on stock volts! dayum!! but even though your not interested in chaging voltage imgonna tell you anyways ;) : its built into msi afterburner
     
    Burgers says thanks.
  3. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
  4. Burgers New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yeah, I spent weeks looking at other people's clocks to see what could be possible. I gave it a try quite a while ago and got these clocks no problem! It's only now I came across this great site and thread, and thought i'd share it with you all.

    It's currently summer for me, so I may leave it till the winter if I decide to raise the voltage. It's a shame that it's only 50mhz to 800 on the core, yet the core has to be in balance with the shader. I know for a fact mine won't do 1600 on the shader alone. Ah well!

    Thanks! ;)
     
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Thats very low for occt gpu full screen, should be up near 80c underload on air if you let it go for 1 hour but hey you must have a crazy cool runing gpu. Bcause of the smaller 55nm cooler it's normal for a 26 core 55nm to reach 80c in games like crysis, and occt is even more stressful than that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2010
  6. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    I have my bios moded for a more acressive fan controller, so when it hit 55c or so it goes to 85% fan etc etc. I dont like seeing much over 60c, but I am not sure that my occt was full screen I think it was windwed ill redo it tonight. capnkiller the ones that are 1.125v are volterra controllers the ones that are 1.12 are not. some 216 oc better but some have the volterra as well which is better voltage cpontroller,cleaner voltage etc.
     
    catnipkiller says thanks.
  7. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    @super sarge
    Can you tell me how to get your theme?
     
  8. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    This theme is for Star-dock's Windows blinds program. If you have Windows blinds here is location for the theme it is called Steam Punk
    http://www.wincustomize.com/explore/windowblinds/6961/
     
    Aleksander says thanks.
  9. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    wtf is a blinds program
     
  10. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I have used windows blind a lot of years ago when i had a pentium II :p
     
  11. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    so here it is guys! I have been messing with my GTX260 non software voltage mod version bios. and I have figured out how to increase the voltage via bios! my gtx 260 core 216 went from a max oc of 623mhz core to now 690mhz core!!! quite a jump imo! now it lmost ocs as high as my 192 card, anyone that needs/want a modded bios let me know.
     
  12. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
  13. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,987 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,777
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Nice work man! Just so ya know...there's instructions detailed in the OP of this thead for bios modding these cards for voltage and fan settings! ;) Maybe you already knew, and hell things with Nibitor could've changed since the last update.

    Nice work on the OC btw, that's a solid clock for a 216 core card and hell even a 192 core card!

    :toast:
     
  14. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    right but the ones on the first page are different for the 216 model. you have to modify the VID settings because the voltage i.c. settings dont work. I didnt see the fan settings on the front page, but heres how I did it. nvidia by default sets them to "dynamic" you have to take them off dynamic and then alter the slope otherwise by default the fan will aloow the cards to get hotter, mine never goes past 66c now
     
  15. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,987 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,777
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah I used min/max fan settings and what not, it's all there for how I did it years ago when the cards were new (july 08 iirc), before the qouted section I added from phanbuey's more updated bios modding stuff. And I suppose the Voltage IC stuff wouldn't work w/o the volterra regulators in-place. Well if ya ever feel like taking screens and posting instructions I could always add those into the OP. Though these cards are well-aged, I'm sure people would find it useful.

    I couldn't stand the stock fan much beyond 60-70%...slapped an AC Xtreme cooler on it, rarely went above like 55-60C in the summer iirc. The guy that owns it now rarely sees above 45C, though he runs a lower OC and has a house with good AC...though dunno if I believe his claim. Might have to go see for myself.
     
  16. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    maybe a list of compatible coolers etc?? on the first page? I had planned on getting the 4XX cards but im not impressed at all, so I traded my hd4890's for these cards. my 216 is on stock cooling. which really is much better than the 4890 stock cooling though the 4890s performed a little better in benches most games perform better with these cards because nvidia is more supported with less hassles than ati. it seemed i was always modding a profile, or fixing idle clocks or trying to get better ga,e performance with my ati cards. and these fold better but I cant get gpu grid and wcg to run at the same time
     
  17. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    i don't know if its safe for me to add more volts onto this gtx260 i run cooler then stock fan with a oc but i don't know about the volts.
    [​IMG] sory for bad quality pulled the 1 ss from my photbucket account
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    you're not going to be able to add too many more volts unless you have a hard mod.

    w/e you can add from the bios on the 55nm is safe.
     
  19. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    What are the best drivers for, a 260 card. I know it is not always the latest driver which I am now running. I know there will be different answers but by consensus what is considered the best driver
     
  20. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    ^^what he said im still trying to find info to this
     
  21. Burgers New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I've found that the driver before the latest drivers had better performance. In my opinion, that is the best one to get, although i'm not sure what the driver's number is. 197.46 or something.
     
  22. kyle2020 Guest

    Thought id post it here too - im selling my GTX 260, comes flashed with the EVGA FTW bios, with an AC xtreme 280 cooler bolted to it - heres the thread if anyones interested in this fine card :toast:

    Click!
     
  23. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    An advice from me would be: Sell as soon as possible the gtx260 cuz when gtx460 comes out... prices would cut down like crazy
     
  24. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    I think it is 197.45
     
  25. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    i was very interested in kyle2020's 260 but he's in the uk :( oh well. me wants a 192 gtx 260!!!!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page