1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Kursah, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    well I thought I would post this, all drivers for me on my GGTX2XX cards throw driver crashes, except on the 190.62 drivers, for me anyways, thought it may help others having the random "driver has crashed" issue. thinking about picking up a GTX275 or 280 though the 260's just arent enough for me.
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,044 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'd go 275 or 285 if you wanna replace your 260 and stick with the gt2xx generation tbh. I never had issues beyond 190.xx with my 260 fwir, but you've had issues from day one with that card which makes me wonder if maybe an older driver not pushing the card as hard is what's keeping it stable? Also makes me wonder what kinda life it led before you got it in all honesty. I've seen some 260's tossed through the ringer and still work ok, and yet a few out there that truly burnt up from half the torture. I still miss my 260...my I gotta say my 5870 smokes it every day of the week and then some...but th NV drivers still seem better to me, and I still very much dislike CCC, which I rarely open. The 260 I purchased that kicked this thread off was one of the very few cards I ever gambled on within a month of release that worked out amazingly well for the whole ride...for that I have much respect for the GTX 260's, of which mine is still kicking ass in a different rig. Hope you get your issues sorted OC101, and honestly see if you can't get a newer gen card in the GTX4xx or HD58xx range..DX11 isn't worth jack yet...but they perform soo well in DX9/10 from what I've experienced.

    :toast:
     
  3. Ad4pt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I can't see a reason of replacing GTX 260 with GTX 275. My friend had 275 OC and we made a comparision test between GTX 260 OC and the biggest difference was in Metro 2033 about 5 frames, everything else between 2-3 frames in some games, like Dirt 2 or Shift , even GTX 260 holds better framerate.
    Now he sold his GTX 275 and bought GTX 465, and in comparison biggest difference is in Far Cry 2, Dirt 2 and Bad Company 2 are practicly the same performanse, though GTX 260 was factory OC and GTX 465 wasnt, but the price gap here in my country is like 100$ between those cards.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010
  4. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    lol yeah thats the problem with the cards from this generation, performance/price tanks when it comes down to it.

    the 465 is one of the worst cards because it really does fall down compared to gt200 at high rez... its just too crippled.
     
  5. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    WELL I was picking around the bios that I made for it and saw somehow I changed my #D low voltage to 1.03v i think that may have something to do with it.
     
  6. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    ok so, damnit! I actually got the 192 (irritating one) on the forums here (onedub I think), originally as a physx card but after trying it out, I remembered why I loved NVIDIA so much back in the day and sold off my 4890's. AS far as I know the card was treated well and has been under water for quite some time. On its own it works perfect no crashes whatsoever (except for the very first drivers I tried 197.XX) but when I SLI'd it with my 55nm C216 card it has had issues crashing in F@H and GPU GRID, I just edited the bios to run higher 2d, 3dlow, and 3dhigh voltages and so far the driver crashed in GPU grid but not F@H as I read on, certain drivers crash with gpu grid or dont work at all with it for some reason. ARGHHHH its very fristrating, I wish I could find another 216 or 192 and just run matching cards, because I honestly feel its the clock steppings and shit messing up moreso than the card its self, alone that card gives me a solid 50FPS BFBC2 DX10 all settings maxed with 8XAA at 1080P res.
     
  7. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    can someone check the bios i modded for my bfg and see if i did it rite? card is a 55nm bfg oc 216

    only thing i modded in bios was the voltage for 3d extra.

    my card seems to be a fairly poor clocker at 677/1457/1042

    how do i upload bios file? i guess i must be old
     
  8. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    i can check it for you, mine is the same card, mine clocked like that before I edited the bios for higher voltage, now it goes 715 or more, shader for me will go up to 1550 gaming, my email is my user name @charter.net
     
    rangerone766 says thanks.
  9. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    you have mail and thanks
     
  10. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,494 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    [​IMG]
    the evga 270 black plate fit my 260 with a few tweeks and i have a bfg card 55nm 216 core
     
  11. Ad4pt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As I read on the internet that i can increase voltages using nbitor if my bios supports that, i downloaded nbitor and i saw that my bios supports up to 1.18, but my video card works on 1.12...I attached screenshot, and if i change voltage in nbitor, what should i do next, and what are the risks...Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

    • volt.jpg
      volt.jpg
      File size:
      194.1 KB
      Views:
      117
  12. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    anyone running a gtx 260 on an AMD 785G chipset?
     
  13. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    ok m8, looking it over now.

    well the risks are you will flash it wrong and bork the card, otherwise only thing that may happen would be it works and oc's better or oc's the same.
     
  14. Ad4pt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I flashed my bios and raised voltage up to 1.18 and on 740/1530/2140 it was stable for ~5 hours in games on GPU load about 90-100% and passed 3D Mark Vantage...Tomorrow i'll try to raise the core up to 750 Mhz.
    :toast:
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    you dont need to flash anymore... use MSI afterburner to tweak vcontrols... best proggy ever... even lets you control the fan curve.
     
  16. rangerone766

    rangerone766

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    voltage control does not work on my card. bfb gtx260 maxcore 216 55nm
     
  17. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    thats the same 216 I have, so I checked out your bios, and the only prob i see is your 3dlow voltage is a bit low, but it should be ok, maybe its just a bad clocker, I'll check the HEX of it and see if I can edit it like I did mine.
     
    rangerone766 says thanks.
  18. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    oh and I took out my 192 card, to adjust the unisink and my drivers with the 216 card alone dont crash so both cards alone are fine but both cards wont work fully correct together. but gpu grid is acting funny still, so i think its a gpu grid issue somehow.
     
  19. Triton.se

    Triton.se New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    235 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Voltage change works only with the first GTX260, 192 shader version.


    I had 192 and 216 cards in SLI once, PhysX crashes (3Dmark Vantage) with 216 shader card as #2/bottom...make sure 192 shader card is bottom/#2 card
     
  20. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    this is frustrating!! i got a gtx 280 and for some reason if the core and shader clocks are not increased at the same time the oc will not stik. meaning i cant just over clock my core. i can just overclock my shader but not my core. WTF
     
  21. Burgers New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Doesn't the card use a 1:2 ratio? Meaning whatever the Core is, the shader has to be double.
     
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    you can't overclock the CORE past the 1:2 ratio but you can clock the shaders as high as you want regardless of what the core is doing. As long as 2x the core is not greater than the shaders, you're good to go.

    only the 4xx series keeps them strictly locked at 1:2
     
  23. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    that blows. my shaders max out on this card at like 1550 no matter what juice i pump through it. damn it!
     
  24. Burgers New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I pretty much just said that.
     
  25. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,214 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Miami
    thats pretty much the max for 65nm... the only way to go higher is to lower temps.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page