1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Kursah, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Ok I'm back lol.. BFG GTX 285 1gb this time and its a keeper ! hah... :toast:

    I noticed that the 285 has double the ram chips of any 1gb card I've seen with 16. Do I really have 2gb of ram ? I'm googlein like maad right now lolz..

    Peace

    [​IMG]
  2. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    Is that a BFG OC? I had the exact same card until I got my GTX 480. I loved it, the quietest card ever.
  3. chris189

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    97 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Do you know if a gtx 480 reference cooler would fit a gtx 470? It would cool it better, right?

    later
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    read the number of the chips then google that, they may be half the size of the other card to cut costs down hard :)
  5. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    I don't think so. :toast:
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    no one would have a GTX280 lying around? im in the market for another one to pair with my newly aqquired XFX one
  7. monohouse New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    hi I have a GTX 295 but I am getting a very low performance, in fact the performance is equal (tested in left4dead and furmark) to my old card (3870) (and to an 8800GT), in some cases it's worse - in race driver GRID it's actually slower than the 3870 (and the game stutters alot). this probably doesn't make much sense but maybe someone knows why this may happen ?. it's supposed to be almost as fast as a GTX 480, that means 2-3 times faster than a 3870.

    I have even reinstalled the operating system to make sure there are no leftovers from the ATI drivers.
    I've tested 2 versions of nvidia drivers, the 192 and the 270. no change.
    the GPU temperatures as measured by MSI afterburner are approx. 60C.
    MSI afterburner shows 100% usage on GPU #0 in GRID and approx 5% usage in #1,
    l4d shows 50-60% usage on both GPUs.

    the hardware specs at the time of testing are:
    Mobo: GA-P35-DS3R, CPU: E6750 (470*8 [3760 mhz]) 1:1 memory ratio (940 mhz)

    I have also tried to enable/disable the various options in the nvidia control panel, for example threaded optimization, Multi-GPU modes, disable/enable PhysX, Disable/enable Multi-GPU mode - but they all had no effect and performance remained equal or below my old card (3870).
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    have you tried with your CPU at stock clocks, to rule out the OC messing with things?
  9. monohouse New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yhe, it only got worse at 2600 (even if not by much). the cpu temperature doesn't go higher than 60C for 3760 mhz.
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  10. neatfeatguy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    183 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    MN
    I don't really run stress tests on my GPUs, but I think you should see if you can find something that'll force both GPUs to run - furmark or maybe 3DMark Vantage.....also maybe check into Kombuster.

    I know last time I ran Vantage - both my GTX 280s were equally utilized in it.

    If you can't get your second GPU to work, could be something wrong with it - I have heard of GTX 295 where 1 GPU craps out - the other still works and it's a functioning video card, but not how it was built to be.
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Odd, the problem with your 295. I do know that I can't go over 666/1512 oc on my 285s in sli mode, whereas in single they can do 1620 shaders. So don't push ocs in sli mode. The 295 is 2 275s, and not sure how high they oc, but watch that. Both gpus should show similar utilization.. some older games I run will do like 40% on each card, a lot of newer ones will stay above 90%, depends on how much graphics rendering is being demanded. But still should be equal on both cards.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    bumped to unlock this thread for a user who PM'd me
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Might as well! I'm still running sli gtx285s, so if you need to know anything... ask away.
  14. mxthunder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I just wanted to pop in here and post up some scores. I have a lot more poweful GPU's in my stable, but the gtx200 series are my favorite.
    I own all of them, including all 3 varients of the 260. with orig boxes etc.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    THE_EGG says thanks.
  15. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
  16. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    you guys are sick =p GTX2xx series were good times indeed.
  17. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Why is this thread sticky again?
  18. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Because these cards are the absolute latest bestest highend tech ever! Gosh! I thought you knew that!
  19. mxthunder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    here are some newer pics of my collection, mostly of 200 series cards. Including a few engineering samples

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    THE_EGG, RCoon and qubit say thanks.
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Dammit, I so envy you. I like the "9-way SLI" in particular. :D
  21. chris189

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    97 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Yeah I have a good old GTX 280 although mine runs at 756Mhz from modded bios and uses a god awful amount of power, but boy does it get some work done. Hahaha.

    I could throw u the bios.rom so u can nvflash both of them.

    Mine has been completely re-done in terms of cooling, so it's stable at 756Mhz. Unlike a standard cooled 280 from thermal pads. I use thermal paste on all Voltage Regulators, and memory chips. The paste I use is Arctic Silver Ceramique 2 because it's very thermally conductive and not electrically conductive. So no chance of shorting.

    It seems to run stable on a 850W power supply since my current 750w couldn't power it. Two of these at 756Mhz may require upwards of 1000W.

    [​IMG]
  22. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thanks for the offer! I did manage to get another one. but finally upgraded to a single GTX 570 which is starting to show it's age... :shadedshu
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    You up for two of these bad boys in SLI? ;) I got 'em the other day and they're awesome - serious amounts of horsepower without lots of noise and cooler running.

    In case the link goes down, it's the MSI 3GB GTX 580 Twin Frozr II (note that 3GB RAM) for £174.70.

    http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1536...-771mhz-shader-1710mhz-512-cores-dl-dvi-mhdmi
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    I've got a pair of 6970's sitting around I could drop them in :D

    Thank you qubit for the link i'll think about it ;)
  25. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,315 (7.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,763
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    No 275's allowed? :(

    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page