1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 260 Black Edition finally works but

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Matt Sakko, May 3, 2009.

  1. Matt Sakko

    Matt Sakko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    J-Bay, South Africa
    Yes, I finally got my XFX GTX 260 to work.
    I installed the drivers(I think). It all seems fine and GPU-Z picks it up and gives me information.
    I opened FarCry and all was fine, I went in game and there was this peculiar high pitched noise coming from my card. I thought that it might be the game so I closed the game and I opened up Crysis. The same noise came from my card and the game shut down. I decided to test a bit and it seems that every time I do anything that involves 3D rendering... My card starts to whine. I cannot RMA the card. Has anyone else had this problem?
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Completely normal my GTX 260 does it too.

    High pitch whine comes from really high FPS (usually during intro vids or menu screens)

    And if I put my ear upto my card during something GPU demanding you can just hear a bit of whine then

    Like I say completely normal, especially on NVIDIA cards, nothing to worry about.
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
    Matt Sakko says thanks.
  3. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Typo:D
    yeah, lotsa ppl have this problem and it doesn't affect them:)
    Matt Sakko says thanks.
  4. Matt Sakko

    Matt Sakko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    J-Bay, South Africa
    So it does no damage?
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Nope. Sames as the noise of a car engine does it no damage :)

    Its just the mamoth chip raring to go :D
    Matt Sakko says thanks.
  6. daragez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    155 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    yeah had already that problem!....no effect on me...! lol
  7. kyle2020 Guest

    No damage will be done whatsoever. Mine does it during loading movies and whilst folding. Its capacitor squeal, nothing major :toast:
  8. Matt Sakko

    Matt Sakko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    151 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    J-Bay, South Africa
    Thanks people.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,144 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    my old 8800GTX did the same thing. if FPS went over roughly 300 (loading screens, mostly) it would scream at me in unhappiness.

    it also did it when folding, which put me off folding pretty quick.
  10. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    773 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Interesting. My 8800 GTX has been quiet as a mouse (well, a mouse will a small amount of fan noise). The GTX 260 I had did the usual and oft reported squealing at times.
  11. USMC0351

    USMC0351 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've noticed that noise too, but I have a question about the fan speed! Why doesn't the fan speed change by default like all the other cards did? My 8800 GT XXX never had to be adjusted manually or with a 3rd party program. I don't know how to set up Rivatuner even with tutorials. So I'm basically adjusting the thing through nTune every time I game!

    Isn't that sort of thing controlled through the bios?
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It can be controlled through the bios and through the drivers. You can use evga precision to overclock and change fan speed. It's free for all to use but doesn't work with ati cards asfaik.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page