1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 280/260 teaser drivers

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Solaris17, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Warmonger is a PhysX game.. I thought with the Nvidia PhysX drivers it would run it but I guess not..
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ok now they install.. That was weird, I changed nothing just tried again..
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,182 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,938
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah, it does run better for me...but my G94 is not allowed to do PhysX yet...I was actually talking about that a page or two before this...I dunno what to tell ya man...maybe read back through the pages you skipped...just scroll and pause for a quick scan of links..I still think you should try 177.29's, PhsyX 8.0, and the XP64 INF for it, gotta be between pages 1 and 4-5...that narrows it down by a healthy margin for ya.

    Warmonger is actually fun now...it was all sorts of hitchy when I initially played it a while back..so I let it alone and almost uninstalled it. Figured it was because it wanted the PhysX so badly or something like that...low and behold, I do these drivers and it plays like a champ. Maybe something with your XP64 just doesn't like the beta driver situation going on here...who really knows for sure...hope you figure it out man.
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I got .35 installed I just need some good PhysX drivers.
     
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,182 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,938
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What did you do to get them installed if you don't mind me asking?

    Did you install the new NV 8.0 drivers? It contains all the previous Ageia drivers also, at least that's how I see it in the PhysX control panel under driver listing or whatever...so it should have ALL of them. So I'd recommend using it in this situation...but you could probably find an older Ageia installer if needed....just re-install Warmonger and get the 7.xx it comes with.

    :toast:
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    idk it just started installing like I said..
     
  7. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    just installed the 177.35's for my 8800GS. no issues so far, running stable

    don't know about fps in game performance but the "video card stability test" (with the spinning globes) showed an average fps of 491. before the drivers i had an avg of 483 fps

    so....any improvement is an improvement, i suppose
     
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    attempting to get these drivers working, then will do vantage run... :D
     
  9. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    well good thing its a weekend and i have more time bcuz....arrrgh!!

    i THOUGHT all was well with this driver as my post says above. however, i have been experiencing the dreaded intermittent "Display Driver Stopped Responding And Has Recovered" error in vista playing SOME games, and never bothered to look into it. i mean its Windows, right? and the screen would just go black once in awhile while gaming for a second or two. and while irritating, i could live with it i figured.

    but, with this modded driver the picture never came back. i had to control+alt+delete to get TM up and quit the game.

    so i google the problem and find forum after forum of people with nvidia cards, vista, and the same problem. a bunch of "fixes," etc. some more effective then others, it would seem. this has been going on over a year from the looks of it. i also think its an lol that nvidia and MS were chalking it up to the "same old" obvious things (hardware, software, processes running, overclocking) when this seems to be somewhat unique to vista and graphics cards / drivers

    gee, might it be an OS / driver issue?

    wonder if the geniuses ever considered THAT!! :banghead:

    anyway the problem doesn't bother me except that with this driver my picture didn't come back after a few seconds while playing a game. i had to quit the game to get it back. so...out goes the driver in favor of one evga released just for the 8800GS. i hope it at least "recovers" while i'm still playing a game like it used to

    also, i was playing Call Of Juarez for the first time ($10 on Steam this weekend only) with the driver installed....and it was laggy. at first i thought "well its a demanding game." but now with the 169.32 driver installed i'm running max settings (shadow resolution at 1024) no lag in DX10. i mean it seems like performance doubled.

    for more then an hour i tweaked the settings, tested the settings, and damned myself for not having an 8800GT. then i change the driver and what do you know...performance ++

    go and figure...

    so thats my experience with this "modded" driver
     
  10. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    doesnt work in 64bit???

    any help?
     
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,182 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,938
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Take a read through the thread binsky...there are ini's for 32 and 64bit XP and Vista...I got both 177.29 and .39 to work flawlessly on my Vista 64 install, ShadowFold eventually figured out how to get it done on XP64, so it's very possible. As far as the PhysX part (dunno if you were referring to the drivers overall or the PhysX part or what...so I'm generalizing my response), I'm sure if you have a G200 or G92 you should be fine, I can verify that with my G94 I DO NOT have PhysX enabled in the PhysX control panel as it's greyed out due to only the G200 at G92's being supported in drivers for now.

    Pages 1-4 are for .29, I think 5-8,9 or 10 are for .35 and the last few pages are for the 177.39 beta drivers, the guys that founded this thread have links for downloads, ini's that you'll need for your specific OS and links for the NV PhysX software.

    :toast:
     
  12. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    i put the 175.70 set back in after i did a whole system purging of all things video card related except rivatuner, gpu-z, and a stability test utility. the 177.35's didn't mess it up...i was having issues b4. but it didn't help

    now my system is very stable. ran a 3hr 20min stability test while i went out and when i got back played Call Of Juarez in DX9 and DX10 mode for a good while. not one single issue, error, or crash

    hope it stays like that
     
  13. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,182 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,938
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'm sure some stability issues that are seen here will be resolved when the new WHQL 177's are released, and like your situation proves, not everyone can use these, whether it's something else in the OS, system, or hardware itself, not everyone will be fortunate.

    But it does help that those post if they had good luck or not with any of these drivers and what one(s) they have tried.

    :toast:
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    177.35's have made my CoD4 lag alot.. Anyone else have this problem too?
     
  15. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,184 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    642
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    we can wait and see score of ati with havook and compare with nvidia and physx
     
  16. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    I was going to ask the same question...I was playing it on-line yesterday, I turned on FRAPS and the thing measured like 80~95 FPS...I expected more personally, but reading the reviews of GFX's here, it is fine. However, I turned on the DES (Dynamic Energy Saver) and the voltage thing on 3 (so the cpu ran like on 1.120V) and turned off the Throttling and FPS went down like never before. Turn that thing off, back to where it was...but this doesn't sound like a driver problem does it...
     
  17. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    177.39 Made my Crysis gain 6FPS on average when using very high with mixed settings.:D


    Thank you all for the awesome files. :toast:
     
  18. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    "Hardware Device Selection box. Select “GeForce PhysX” to allow a GeForce enabled PhysX engine use your GeForce GPU. Select “AGEIA PhysX” to allow the PhysX engine to use your AGEIA PhysX processor.

    If you have multiple GeForce GPUs that the PhysX engine can use, the “Select GPU for GeForce PhysX” button will appear. Click it to display the “GeForce PhysX Device Selection” dialog. You may pick which GeForce GPU the PhysX engine will use, or allow the PhysX engine to choose. If you are running Windows XPTM, the PhysX engine will attempt to find a GeForce GPU that is not driving a display. If you are running Windows VistaTM the PhysX engine will pick the first GeForce GPU that it finds.

    If you are having problems with multiple GeForce GPUs in Windows VistaTM: You must extend a desktop onto each GeForce GPU if you want the PhysX engine to use it in Windows VistaTM.

    If your GeForce GPUs are in and SLI configuration, they will appear to the PhysX engine and the PhysX Control Panel Settings as a single GPU.



    For this release the PhysX engine is limited to using either an AGEIA PhysX Processor or a limited set of GeForce GPUs that have passed our rigorous test suite.



    Reset AGEIA PhysX Card button. Select this option for a soft reset of the AGEIA PhysX processor.

    Start Extended Diagnostics. Select this option to run extended diagnostics on the AGEIA PhysX processor and display the information in the tab. Click Save Report to File to save the information to a file for technical support. This is a very useful tool if the AGEIA PhysX processor does not seem to be working properly and you need to communicate with support staff."











    Taken out of the documentation in the PhysX Properties thing. Check for your self.
     
  19. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok so i finally got the drivers to install on windows vista 64bit! But when i open up rivatuner it doesnt say that my drivers are 177.35.
     
  20. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    520 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    anyone tried the new 175.19 whql drivers that were released today?
     
  21. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,526 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,808
    Location:
    Florida
    PEOPLE DO NOT USE OLD INF'S TO INSTALL YOUR DRIVERS!!!!!! THEY DO NOT HAVE THE CODE THAT INSTALLS THE NEW DLL'S ANMD REG ENTRIES....YOU ARE NOT GAINING A THING FROM THEM!!
     
  22. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,611 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    Hi i got a Albatron GeForce 8800GT-512X which one of those do i have to use too install the newest driver? (Version 177.39+NVIDIA physX 8.06.12)

    NVIDIA_G92.DEV_0602.1 = "NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT"

    NVIDIA_G92.DEV_0611.1 = "NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT "

    i am running XP Pro SP3 x86.

    or if there are a frindly soul out there, that could made one would be, great i have looked around in this tread but can't findt 8800GT 512mb :(
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2008
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847

    open gpu-z, and use whichever one it says in the Device ID field.

    and one for you probably exists in this thread somewhere, pagalms does them
     
  24. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,611 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    835
    thx wolf that works, i am using driver 177.39 now and i installed the Physx Driver.

    [​IMG]

    but i have question about the Physx, should it work with Geforce 8, 9 and GTX 2x0 serie?

    just 'cause it says "NO AGEIA Physx Processor Installed" or is that only info about the Ageia cards?

    [​IMG]
     
  25. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    in the settings tab of the physx properties, it should have "geforce physx" selected :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page