1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 280/260 teaser drivers

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Solaris17, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Downloading and Installing right as I type. Then I'll be little miss bench whor3 tonight! along with grabbing a game or two of Unreal Tournament 3
     
  2. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    177.41 works fine for me, but im running a gtx 280 tho, what games would have a benefit from the "physX"
     
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    The only game that I have played with the Physx system is UT3... And with that, I saw a big different between not having and having the Physx installed. Without the Physx I can still have 63fps, but thats not what its there for. Its there to help that CPU... and with it, I have a very steady game. There was no jumping of frames, and I have never went less then 63fps with the Physx installed.. But without it, I could get 40fps and such.

    But as other games.. I'll be looking at the list and buying one tonight to play... I'll play anything but Mass Effect. :shadedshu
     
  4. 3xploit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Canada
    Did you try the physx maps? because on the physx maps (tornado, lighthouse, etc.) I only get 20-30 fps :confused:
     
  5. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Don't use aero, for the love of big titties! Install windows blinds and watch your perf. increase b/c it's not M$ shit haha. Plus, it'll look a lot better.

    Sorry, OT, don't hurt me.
     
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    If you can link me to a site that allows me to download it.. Every site I've went to won't let me install the bonus pack...
     
  7. 3xploit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Canada
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  8. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I forget about TPU's download section! lol.. downloading now... Lets see if it runs!

    Also, just benched with the 177.41 drivers and vantage.. score went down.. Gotta see if I can oc this anymore???
     
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  10. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I'm running .41s on an 8800GT and there's no option for 100 hz refresh. I can't force it with any program. I'm using the monitor driver I made with powerstrip and I've tried various others. Is anyone having this issue?
     
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,566 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,851
    Location:
    Florida
    if you mod the inf you can force it :)
     
  12. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I downloaded the 177.35 XP 32 driver from this site
    http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=19110
    then replaced the ini with the modded one.. and now i get somewhat better results in 3DMark06 (60pts)..
    but how do i enable pyhsix for my 8800GT on windows xp 32 or is it only possible in vista 64bit and xp 64 bit?
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2008
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    You should all ready have it enabled if you are running a G92 and G94 core. If you go to All programs->Nvidia Corporations-> Nvidia Physx Properties, then It should have the Settings as Gefore Physx enabled.... Like this

    [​IMG]
     
    Laurijan says thanks.
  14. pagalms

    pagalms

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    783 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Latvia
    You must download Physx driver too :)
    link
     
    Laurijan says thanks.
  15. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Thanks dudes
     
  16. TrainingDummy

    TrainingDummy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    422 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    hey, I have the 177.41 Vista x64 drivers working with my 8600 GT and I have the PhysX drivers linked above, but in the PhysX properties the GeForce PhysX is still greyed out, did I do something wrong?
     
  17. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Am i right to asume that this Physx driver does not make my 3DMark06 scores better and will only make Vantage scores better..
     
  18. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I have the same problem..
     
  19. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Did you install the gfx driver with the modified nv4_disp ini?
     
  20. TrainingDummy

    TrainingDummy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    422 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I tried the one that was given on here, but after I would reboot it still said I was using 175.16, so I made my own inf

    should I just keep trying to use the one from here?
     
  21. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Yes yo do install t with the modified nv4_disp.ini...@Training Dummy, PhysX is not yet supported for G80/G82/G84 and so on. It only supports GT200/G92 but, they will bring support to the other GPU's as well.
     
    TrainingDummy says thanks.
  22. TrainingDummy

    TrainingDummy

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    422 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    good to hear, I just wanted to see what would happen

    the demonstrations work at least, they didn't before I installed 177.41
     
  23. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    PhysX works for me on both 177.40 and 177.41. The .39 and .40 are close with performance with the .40 being the better one (tiny bit). Gonna try 177.41 now.

    EDIT: Also tested the 177.41 in Crysis and 3D06, they're the best ones from the above listed, but they aren't as fast as 177.35's but still, they're coming close. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2008
  24. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    lol i used this 200 series driver with physx driver on my 8800gt and ran 3dmark vantage to get 7255pt and so maybe become 3th in the compilation.. highest 8800GT so far..
     
  25. kingkongtol

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jogja, Indonesia Republic
    hi..., i want install 96gt with 17741 with modded inf from pagalms (thanks), but i cant finish installation, it says the system hasnt change, and when reboot nothing has changed, still generic driver.
    i use 17741 from nvidia website, it says for gt200, and whql.
    please anyone can solve my problem.
    thanks..., regards.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page