1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 280 cooling solution

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Irish_PXzyan, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Hey guys.

    I am looking to buy a GTX 280 cooler.
    I have never bought a cooler or anything so I don't know what I need to actually do!

    But I want something great! The best!!

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Chomes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  3. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I like it!

    I can only find them on ebay tho!
    they are expensive :(

    But I will consider it!
     
  4. Chomes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Barcelona
    Well when I bought mine for my 48070x2 I had to order it to Germany, it was the only way,as it didn't exist on Spain, it arrived at stores almost 3 months later.

    You should take a look at this link http://www.twenga.co.uk/search.php?q=Accelero+XTREME+GTX+Pro , these are shops from UK that have the cooler, and some of them ship to Ireland. :)
    It's a good buy you won't regret it. However keep in mind, that as you take out the cooler, you will void the warranty in the majority of companies.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    The GTX280/285s have very good stock coolers which are quiet, so you don't need to change them for standard use.

    Are you intending to overclock them or anything?
     
  6. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Thanks for the links.

    I would overclock it if the cooling is good enough!
     
  7. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  8. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    jayziz am I better off with something else? :eek:

    Ugh!!!
     
  9. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    My solution was watercooling it. You could also do the modification to the stock cooler like the OP in that thread I linked, that ended up working really well.
     
  10. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    If you're serious about it, it's time to go to water cooling.
     
  11. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Jayziz!!
    I really don't want to get stuck into water cooling!

    too much effort I think??
     
  12. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Well if you are serious your choices are..

    Arctic Cooling Plus stock cooler mod for VRMs.
    Water Cooling gpu and heatsinks+fan on memory,vrms.
    Water Cooling with Full cover block.

    Also...You could take the plunge like I did and get a much cooler running and faster 5870 or 5850.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  13. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Accelero is good once you do some tricks with VRM. Lowering core voltage will help a lot too and has no impact on OCing. But it's not a stick it on and use solution for GTX 280.

    Temps are much lower in games, my testing with FurMark is the worst case scenario. But ambient temperature also plays in to that, so in summer VRMs will get hotter.

    If you get a Accelero, pop in the thread. I can send you my bios that has lower voltages and modified fan control ready :)
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  14. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Thanks!
    Perhaps I might consider this.
    Right now I do not need it so much so I can wait!
    But if the temps are too high I will be forced to get a new cooler for the GTX :p

    Cheers for the advise lads!
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,897 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 11, 2010
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  16. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Jayziz nice!

    This cooling business just keeps getting more expensive :p
     
  17. kingkongtol

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jogja, Indonesia Republic
    try xigmatek bifrost, fully compatible with gtx280, it has vrm cooler also, applied hdt also, and relatively cheaper than accelero (in my country :D )

    regards.
     
  18. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Oh that looks nice!
    Does it cool very well compared to the Accelero XTREME?

    I hope it's a better price lol!
     
  19. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    concerning the VRM cooling, what are the few tricks I need to do? I just got a used Accelero Extreme GTX 280 and had to order a missing VRM plate from Arctic Cooling. This cooler is going on a GTX 260 65nm card.
     
  20. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,867 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Just click on the link in my signature, everything is there.

    Those have nothing to do with Accelero Extreme GTX 280. No-one has killed any cards with these. One fried fan header and that was a user error.

    First thread is just about HD 5970 and it's Accelero and in second the reviewer killed a 5870 with inferior VRM cooling not meant for that card..

    Yes there is always a risk playing with your card but even touching could kill it.
    After market cooler :nutkick: stock cooler :p

    Current GPU is the only stock cooled card I've had in 10+ years and that's just because it doesn't break 63C while gaming and keeps quiet.
     
  22. boulard83

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    399 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Had this on a GTX285 : Trad2 GTX

    Even at 100% dan speed this was verysilent and the VRMs heatsink didnt feel that hot to the touch.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  23. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Homemade...110cfm each. :laugh:

    [​IMG]
     
  24. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I just found an add-on for RivaTuner that adds the VRM Temps/Volts/Amps to the display. Turns out GPU-Z already has VRM temp display built in, they call it VDDC Phase #1 Temp, etc

    Are there only supposed to be three phases (three VRM temps) on a GTX 260?
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  25. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, 2 for memory (no temps) and 3 for core. GTX 280 has 5 (7 in total).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 0 (0 members and 0 guests)

Share This Page