1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 295 Mass Flickering

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by random, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I understand. I just used a Kill-A-Watt on mine so I know how much it's pulling from the wall at stock under load.
     
    random says thanks.
  2. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Yes most of it would be from video card, ram and hdd.

    I got 3 hd's

    4 sticks of 2gb ram

    and a gtx 295 so those calcs are very accurate, does this mean its time to upgrade PSU? or shall I confirm by getting warranty on my card first.
     
  3. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You're lucky your PSU has not popped yet. Consider the loud noise and texture issues as a warning.
     
    random says thanks.
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Can this PSU still be used? how else can I confirm that its the problem? Lately its been making electrical buzzes as well but only when the lights in the room are turned on as I've moved and this house has an electrical output defect where even my gf's psu buzzes when she has her comp turned on and the room lights.

    Bahhh this is such a bummer but I had a hunch it was my PSU I was shopping for a new psu all week but don't have the cash.


    EDIT: will this psu be adequet http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=15_535&products_id=10906
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2009
  5. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    We assume it's the CPU and motherboard first, but you have to consider that he can't deal without them. So I listed GPU, extra ram, and his HDD as the culprits because they put him over the top.
     
    random says thanks.
  7. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    HDDs take a few watts to run, so does the ram. Even if he did not have the extra HDD and Ram he would probably still have problems.
     
    random says thanks.
  8. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I just used the antec and thermaltake psu calcs online... recommends 713 watts or 801 watts for my setup, this is horrific, lol.

    7 led high perf fans, 1 pc led light and a cathode with converter took alot of watts too. I guess I'm just lucky that Corsair PSU's are strong bastards huh?


    EDIT: how will this do? http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=15_305&products_id=6885 72A and 850 watts for 235 AUD or should I look at single rail design

    Note: need a PSU with fan facing up.
     
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Man... you do the math then. Honestly. Give a better solution but really there are no other components that are putting him over the top. CPU mobo and video card alone take up 478W so what's putting him over the limit? Magic fairy dust?
     
  10. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Honestly I had a fantastic time with my Corsair 750W psu. It could handle the i7, 1 7200rpm HDD, DVDR, 3x1gb sticks of DDR3, and 2x GTX280s.
     
    random says thanks.
  11. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Meh, ok guess its time for me to start making a solution happen I'll probably go with the 850 watt PSU range at sub 200 AUD... the quattro, 850watt corsair, etc. etc.

    I'll RMA the card as well but I'm not exactly sure on how long it takes, anyone got any idea how long it processes with GIGABYTE?

    Cheers everyone and thanks binge for the calcs and helping me pinpoint the problem, true champ.
     
  12. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    As far as i am concerned CPU/Mainboard/Ram go together and not divided. I expect those to along with the GTX295 to take up to 500W or so. After that you need to consider the fans he has inside his system, USB devices, floppy, optical drives and HDDs.
     
  13. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    I lost my copy of the game... :ohwell:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page