1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gtx 460 ultra low gpu usage, worthless for gaming

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bear jesus, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    sorry forgot about that

    2.2ghz phenom 9500, 4gb ddr2 1066mhz ram, asus M4A77D running 64 bit windows 7
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Sounds like some screwy software glitch, the 460 is way better than his old card.

    One could mess around with it for hours and not get anywhere, like he already has. I suggest making a second Windows install and trying it on that, to get a baseline for troubleshooting. It should be fully patched too with the latest drivers, of course.

    The best thing is to put it on a separate HD, but if he doesn't have one, he should partition his original one and stick it there. Make sure all data is backed up first!

    I'll bet it works fine on that second install...
    bear jesus says thanks.
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,862 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    logged in with administrator privilages?

    You could also use Teamviewer so you could have a look yourself.

    Does he have the current chipset drivers installed?
  4. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    this could indicate that the nvidia drivers offload a good bit of work to the cpu and not the gpu.
  5. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    try bumping the clock up to around 2.5 ghz if he has a stock cooler.
  6. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    right now he is installing 3dmark11 to see if it acts the same as games but i think a fresh windows install may be the direction this is going as on the current install of windows he has used 4 gpu's that have been a mix of ati and nvidia

    If that works it looks like qubit will be the winner of the thread :laugh:

    and yes he has all the newest chipset and every other driver installed.
  7. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69

    tell him to go into the prefetch folder and delete all of its contents. Also have him run a registry cleaner to clear out old registry pathways.
  8. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Getting him to do so now.

    hopefully something will work and once it does i shall go through the thread and thank everyone that helped fix his issues :toast:
  9. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Anything new? I am getting really frustrated with this low gpu usage shit. And i am getting sick of people telling me, my q6600 @ 3.6ghz is a bottleneck. It is not! I guess nvidia hasnt come up with a solution yet for 4months!!! That is a lesson for me going from the red camp.
  10. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    does he got the power supply for that card? does he have the extra power connector plugged in?
  11. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    823 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    The PC shouldnt even boot then.
  12. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    how is gaming performance ?
  13. Vancha

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    354 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I'd say it's not that good.

    Edit: Multiple people seem to have had similar problems with the original phenom + 460s. Not necessarily a bottleneck, but there's obviously some kind of conflict as every case seemed to be fixed by getting a newer CPU.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  14. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    ive seen this with the 470 but it was fixed with drivers. If it is low GPU usage, then there is a bottleneck somewhere other than the gpu [Driver of system based] (obviously).

    If new drivers dont fix it, then send the card back and get a 6870 or something. Chances are if the latest drivers are not working for you (the ones that were supposed to fix the GPU usage issue) then there really isnt any point in assuming future drivers are going to make it go away.
  15. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    I just dont get it how my system can be a bottleneck. It is just not possible. I have a x48 motherboard with 16x 2.0 pci-ex, 4gb ram with 9000mb read/write, also my power supply is a silverstone strider 850W, and the quad core q6600 at 3.6ghz just cant be a bottleneck. I refuse to believe that, becouse it is simply not true. A simple proof is 3dmark, where the gpu usage is 99%.

    And nvidia is f...ing useless for not fixing the problem in more than 3 months.
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  16. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    579 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    I'd go with what qubit says and try a fresh Windows install (heky, you too).
    bear jesus says thanks.
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try downdating drivers to 260.99's. If that doesn't help then a reinstall of the OS is in order.
    bear jesus says thanks.
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Not sure why you would even consider your CPU to be a bottleneck? You're getting crap FPS because the CPU is hardly being used, as Task Manager shows you. This is a software problem. Period. End of story.

    Myself and others have now advised you to reinstall Windows from scratch and see how it goes. And by this, I don't mean wipe your current install, but instead make another install on a separate HD or another partition on the same HD.
    heky and bear jesus say thanks.
  19. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Fresh install of windows fixed everything :D

    There was another problem as well and that was windows was only using one of his 4 cpu cores although that may have been the cause of the fail frame rates, all is good now and he is looking at getting a phenom II to further boost his frame rates.

    Thank you all for your help and suggestions.
    qubit says thanks.
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Awesome. :rockout: I'm really to have helped. Yeah, sometimes one just has to byte the bullet and reinstall the thing from scratch. It's happened enough times to me with XP and corrupted video drivers that will not fix regardless of what you do. This tended to happen after one too many graphics card swaps.
  21. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    With that install he had been through about 4 or 5 video cards and 2 motherboards so i think over time it just got really messed up :laugh:
  22. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Change the title of this thread pls!!! :D
  23. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    this may be a stupid question but umm how? :laugh:
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Two motherboard swaps?! No wonder...

    I've tried this one before and often Windows just isn't the same after this. It loads in different HALs depending on the chipset, which gets right to the core of Windows. Screw this up and Windows is mullered.

    I was wondering this one, too. Come on Alek, change it how? :)
  25. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    @bear jesus
    1. Click edit on the first reply/post of yours
    2. Select Go advanced
    3. Change the title (I am sorry GTX 460... I love you... ahahahha)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page