1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 560 Ti 448 Black Screen w/ Blinking Cursor in Some Games

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by DanishDevil, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Noticed this before my recent reformat and was wondering if anybody had ever heard of this issue. BF3 works fine, but if I launch The Witcher or Path of Exile, the games boot to a black screen with game sounds, and a blinking game cursor. I never had this issue with my GTX 570. I'm going to swap to my second 560 Ti 448 (haven't used them in SLI yet) and see if that fixes it, but this is becoming frustrating enough that I figured I'd reach out to you guys for any help you can provide.

    [​IMG]

    Edit: Same issue with the other card. Going to put in both for shits and giggles.

    Edit 2: BREAKTHROUGH! Windowed mode works, fullscreen has the aforementioned problems.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Bump because I posted late at night and nobody cares anymore :(
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,483 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Tried different drivers? Maybe a driver bug.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I've tried all 3 drivers that work with the 448's. The 250.66's (I think) that only come on the CD with the card, and the two most recent betas. Same result on all of them.
  5. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,428 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    It's god telling you to donate one of those cards to the less fortunate for the holidays. (me)
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Anybody?
  7. qamulek2

    qamulek2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Bump for the morning.

    Since the problems occur with both video cards, try http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502 to reinstall gpu drivers(with 8k+ posts, you probably already know about it though...).

    Are both video cards bad?(try video cards in another system)
    Is the PSU causing problems?
    Is the motherboard possibly wonky?
    Is the hard drives corrupting the OS causing bad stuff to happen?
    Are the game installs borked?
    Has a porno virus ravaged your OS and is now forcing you to play in windowed mode so that it can take snapshots while you play? (/humor)

    There are many things that could go wrong, and I have no clue how to fix them. Just figured a bump for the morning would attract someone who might know what they're doing.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  8. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Thanks for the bump. It's on a fresh install before running on GTX 570's beforehand without problems. PSU is a 1050W rebadge of an Enermax Revolution so it should be fine (especially because it ran dual 570s beforehand). I've been having pretty bad luck with GPU's recently. I might end up just returning these as faulty and getting a 7970. The only thing in the system that's changed is the GPU's.
  9. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Since only full-screen modes are a problem, can you try running the "faulty" applications/games after turning off Aero (either by terminating the service or killing dwm.exe several times 'till it doesn't start anymore) and see if the issue still remains (had a similar problem on a system with an ATi graphics card, except that the screen turned completely white instead of black with the blinking cursor and restarting or killing Aero fixes it, even after the application was launched).
    Good luck.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    That was one of my first thought, and I've tried every combination of compatibility options to no avail :( Even setting the theme to Windows Classic doesn't help.
  11. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Well I'm not talking about using the kind of options you find in the Compatibility tab, I'm talking about forcing the death and restart of the window manager, so, and if it's not much trouble for you, can you launch one of the games thats goes black screen, then, after the screen goes black, Ctrl+Alt+Del and kill dwm.exe at least once and let it restart (screen flashing expected). Also if you are able to see the games name in task manager application tab, minimize the game before killing dwm.exe (sometimes after killing dwm the games window will go and remain hidden dunno why). Hopefully after restoring the game window to full-screen it will display the games contents instead of just a black screen.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  12. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Well as I hit Ctrl+Alt+Del after fullscreening the game, I instantly got a BSOD and had to reinstall my video card drivers. I think I'm at the point of pulling the cards and sending them back. I'm going to pull them for now and put in my good 570 so I can play some Skyrim in the meantime. Thanks for the suggestions, and keep 'em coming! Hopefully I'll be in a better mood with these cards after some Skyrim and I'll keep testing.
  13. mikka1986 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    have u try minimize and maximize the game? happen to me sometime, i used to alt+tab if the game doesn't go full screen, or stuck half way. usually happen when launching the game and clicked other things.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  14. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    That didn't help, unfortunately.
  15. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,377 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Have you tried using any of the EVGA SLI profiles on their site? SLI Profiles

    nVidia did some of their own, but haven't been updated in over a year, so probably wouldn't help.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  16. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I did try those, and they didn't help. They didn't improve Skyrim performance, either.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page