1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 580 destroyed helpppp ...!

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by kappoo, Feb 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Hi :cry:

    i have a gtx 580 and 9800GTX (GTX 580 Primary and 9800GTX for PhysX )

    I flashed the 9800GTX BIOS on my GTX 580 ! :rockout::twitch:

    I enter the wrong code for the second card flashing ...

    I entered this code, but I was typing mistakes:
    nvflash --index = 0 1.rom ( true Code : nvflash --index=1 1.rom for second card )

    and now GTX 580 just turned on and not booted and With nvflash not recognized for bios flashing and recovering ....

    Now,What do i do ? :banghead:
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,111 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    Boot using the 9800GTX as the primary and force the flash to index 1.

    I think the code is something like nvflash -4 -5 -6 --index=1 580.rom
     
    kappoo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Don't you need to do something like boot with a working card in slot 1 and your GTX580 in another slot, then specify the card to flash (as in flash your 580 with the right BIOS this time).

    I believe you can do that, best waiting for someone with more knowledge than me.

    Edit: Ninja posted above :(
     
    kappoo says thanks.
  4. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I Know !

    BuT This method is not possible :
    because when the second card is 580 and I use the code nvflash --index=1 ..... Gives an error !

    and i use this code for checking all Device :

    nvflash --list

    then just one card showed !

    And the main problem is that I'm faced with it
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,111 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    Are you booting with a DOS boot disc or flashing from inside of windows?
     
    kappoo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    No I'm In Dos and 9800GTX is Primary Card and 580 is secondary Card .

    i used this code for recovering the 580 :

    nvflash --index=1 -4 -5 -6 biosname.rom

    and nvflash gives an error ( the Specific Device not found )

    GTX 580 Cant Found with nvflash and cant go to the windows in secondary mode .
     
  7. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Does the fan spin up on the GTX580?

    And did you have it working in Windows before you flashed it?
     
    kappoo says thanks.
  8. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Yes

    Yes !
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,111 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    You might have really borked the card to the point that it is not initializing far enough to accept commands.

    If that is the case you are screwed.

    What is odd is that it even let you flash the 9800GTX bios on the GTX580, it should have warned you about a bios mismatch when you tried to flash it.
     
    kappoo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I Know ! i Used nvflash --index=0 -4 -5 -6 9800gtx.rom

    But I did not carefully in agreement the mismatch . ( Because I don't read the warning message I think 9800 is nvflash Purpose [But after reboot I realized that I typed the wrong code] )

    The Important Things is How to flashing Default BIOS on the GTX 580 card ? When this way is impossible (nvflash --index=1 -4 -5 -6 580.rom)

    The best way to program the BIOS chip is by the programmer ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You poor muppet! I feel for ya, man.

    Given that the advice above didn't work on it, I recommend RMAing it for a replacement. Just say it's dead and don't mention the flash and you should be ok. I did that with a mobo once without any problems.

    Why were you flashing the other card, anyway?

    And the moral of the story: always remove all graphics cards apart from the one you want to flash! :toast:
     
    kappoo says thanks.
  12. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Finally I'll remove bios chip and insert to the Programmer and I'll program Default bios on the chip ,Because this is the best way and Quick way and safe way and .... :D

    Tank u very much all
     
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    What, is the BIOS chip socketed then? That's pretty good if that's the case.

    Which brand and model of GTX 580 do you have?
     
  14. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    My GTX 580 is Reference .

    model number of bios chip is MX 25L 1005 .

    I think Programmer supported this model of chip ...

    This is a good way yeah?
     
  15. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    thats hardcore
     
    kappoo says thanks.
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    No, I'm asking what brand as in evga, gigabyte etc and the model from that manufacturer.

    So, the BIOS is socketed then? That's the only way you can stick it in your programmer.
     
    kappoo says thanks.
  17. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    :D

    Computer repair shop can do it ! But must be done carefully .

    I Know , Brand in reference model just is a label ! ( Gainward )

    Socketed ? what's your mean ?
     
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Socketed means that it's mounted in a similar way to the CPU on the motherboard, in a socket. The CPU socket is soldered to the board. Otherwise, your BIOS chip will be directly soldered to the graphics card board. It can then only be removed without damage using specialist equipment that you and me won't have.

    This definitely sounds like you should just return it under warranty as "dead" and be done with it.
     
    kappoo says thanks.
  19. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Subbed. I want to know if this works (on mobos i know it does, never seen in on a graphics card). Plus, all BIOS chips I've seen on graphics card were soldered to the board, so good luck with that.
    I'm still all for RMA with "DEAD" stamped all over it. :D FYI, after tampering with the BIOS, RMA no longer works. Unless you can cover it up very well. :laugh:
     
    kappoo says thanks.
  20. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    aha my bios chip soldered on the board .

    Warranty takes a long time for changing or repairing card but bios flashing is a quick way !
     
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,871 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    As it's soldered, then forget it, you can't do it. You'll ruin the card trying to remove it - don't even think about it. Send the card back under warranty, you have no choice.
     
    AlienIsGOD and kappoo say thanks.
  22. kappoo

    kappoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I Can With Heater ! Of course, my friend can :D

    If I could then take action to guarantee is good ?
     
  23. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    this thread reeks of FAIL :nutkick:
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
    PhysXerror, JD15 and qubit say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    :twitch:
    That is...how should I put it...a bad idea.
     
    qubit and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  25. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Be careful, because once you've unsoldered anything, your warranty is gone. Try sending it for RMA, if it fails, then try the programmer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page