1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 580 or Wait for the coming Next Gen GPU

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Chappy, Dec 22, 2011.

?

Current Latest GPU or Wait for Later Next Gen GPU's

  1. Keep my dying GTX 280 for now and wait for the latest next gen gpu

    5 vote(s)
    10.4%
  2. Buy a GTX 580 now

    11 vote(s)
    22.9%
  3. Wait for AMD 7000 Series

    23 vote(s)
    47.9%
  4. Wait for a price drop on GTX 580

    16 vote(s)
    33.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,438 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I dont really bench anymore so not sure if thats a good score or not, either way core was 1000mhz, CPU 4.6ghz

    EDIT: you were right i did make top 4 lol)
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,443 (7.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,921
    580 is way over priced too. If you have to go Nvidia I would go with a 570.
     
  3. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,319 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,046
    Location:
    04578
    570's have shitty VRMs so long term clocking = dead cards for many do to weak VRM just like the 590s that go pop.

    altho a 570 with 2560mb of memory is still pretty damn awesome or a 560 Ti 2gb and just clock the dog snot out of it.
     
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,443 (7.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,921
    I heard the higher end Asus 570 was ok on the VRM's. Am I mistaken?

    Anyway at stock clocks the 570 is a better buy.
     
  5. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,438 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Will you be using the monitor in your specs? its maximum resolution is 1680 x 1050 (WSXGA+) so you dont really need a GTX580 to be honest. The GTX560Ti or 570 would be a good choice
     
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,319 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,046
    Location:
    04578
    true stock clocks 570 beats a 560ti but 2gb frame buffer of the 560 Ti now and cheaper price with clocking leaves the 560ti 2gb as the better buy and in reality 560 Ti 448 core in terms of price performance is far better then a 570

    560 Ti 448 core same vram 1280mb but due to clock speed comes in 2-3% behind a 570 for $50-60 less
     
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,788 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,081
    Anyway, gtx 580 is not worth the money. If you have to buy now get the 570. Don't know how's with the VRMs lately, I don't care because I don't want to push my card. It's the SC version from EVGA factory clocked at 797 MHz, on stock voltage (for the SC version that is) I run it sometimes at 832 MHz no issues whatsoever. Just a few FPSs under 580 stock for 150-170$ less.
     
  8. Chappy

    Chappy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    82 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yeah, that's currently my monitor. Soon I'll upgrade to LED 3D (Samsung S27A950D) so its a good thing to really buy what's the best as of this moment if I we're to get a GPU now. But I'll wait and see if 580's prices will go down next year.
     
  9. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    738 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    I love that monitor. For 120hz gaming, you can certainly use all the GPU power you can stick into your machine. An HD 7970 would be a great buy. Remember, it's a 3GB card, none of that "oops I have only 1.5Gb" limitation. There are many games that require above 1.5Gb at max settings, even on normal resolutions.
     
    Chappy says thanks.
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,989 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Ohio
    I wish VRAM was upgradeable, without getting a new card.
     
  11. timma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    buy GTX 580 UD 3GB now,or wait for 7970 OC edition~
     
  12. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,162 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    HD7970 or HD7950, nuff said:toast:
     
  13. DarkStalker

    DarkStalker

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    i say wait for next gen geforce gpu(kepler 0.28nm) or buy gtx580...
     
  14. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,438 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Sorry to be arguemental but thats not really true.
    Sure if you have an eyefinity setup then I can see more than 1.5gb of gfx memory being used but so far any game will play maxxed out at 1080p on my system with 60fps or more so im not sure what games you may be talking about that need or benefit from 3gb at 1080p resolutions?

    Either way its always advisable to get a powerful card that has more ram onboard for futureproofing, but since games are mostly console ports thesedays it could just be pointless till the next gen consoles are out and by then this 7970 will be an old card in technology terms ;)
     
  15. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,097 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,499
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    ^^ that.

    I run at 1920x1200 and the highest memory usage for me has been 1484Mb. Can't remember what game but it's only been one that high and I've played all the eye candy titles (including Metro 2033).
     
    twicksisted says thanks.
  16. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,734 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Personally I would buy either a gtx 580 or 7970 (if you can find it for similar price as 580), then if kepler turns out to be crap then buy a second 580/7970. If its good, sell your 580/7970 or keep it in another machine and upgrade to kepler.
     
  17. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    738 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Some that do, right off the top of my head:

    Shogun 2
    GTA IV
    Battlefield 3
    Skyrim, with gfx upgrades (LOL @ Console ports)
    Rage
    Crysis 2


    Oh yeah the54thvoid, you WILL NEVER SEE VRAM usage greater than what your card has. That's not how video cards and MSI Afterburner work. They tell you how much VRAM is used ON THE CARD. So it can never exceed what the card has, even if it would use a lot more if it were there. What happens when the VRAM is insufficient is that data is swapped from main memory and that's what causes those times when the time between one frame and the next stretches. The noobs call it "lag"...
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,319 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,046
    Location:
    04578
    Shogun 2 ive seen push up to 2.5GB of vram, or more at 1920x1200 with all settings maxed out
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page