1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 580 Performance

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by helloWorld, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    Am I doing something wrong here? I had a GTX 570 in the system today and ran a Unigine Heaven 2.5 run at 1080p with everything maxed out and I pulled average 26 FPS.

    I sold the 570 and put in a 580 and then ran the same benchmark program with the same settings and I got an average of 29 FPS (3 FPS difference :confused:)

    Is this normal, or could this be the culprit (even though the program will switch between saying PCI-E 2.0 and this)

    [​IMG]
  2. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    I'd would say it's pretty much normal. While only 3 fps that's still a 10% increase in performance and on average the difference between both cards is not much more than that really. If you made more than one tests with each card, and results were consistent, that's probably what it is for that benchmark.

    Personally I think that 30 fps is much more playable than 25 fps, even if i's only 5 more fps. When on low fps each extra frame counts a lot.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  3. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    726 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    What clock speed was the 570 on. Most 3D benchmarks are not heavy on video memory usage so a higher clocked gtx 570 can run with a stock 580 but the 580 OC really well. My previous 580 did 912MHz stable with 1.13v and would peak in the high 70s during gaming (v-sync off). That was a stock EVGA one and at those speed was awesome and was matched by my GTX 480 which is similar to the 570 would need 980MHz to run the same numbers. So the 580 had a pretty good advantage.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  4. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    The 570 was at 750 MHz core clock.
  5. aayman_farzand

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    102 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Did it say PCIE 1.1 with the 570 as well?
  6. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    No, it said PCI-E 2.0, but I believe that that may be a GPU-Z bug. If not, I do not know what I did to make it change to that speed, because it should say 2.0.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,511 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    Put the card under load while viewing GPU-z. It should go up to 2.0.
    helloWorld says thanks.
  8. helloWorld New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    177 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA
    You know what, it does change to 2.0 when the GPU is under load.
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    One benchmark does not a full story tell.
  10. aayman_farzand

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    102 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    What settings did you use? I just did a bench, Extreme Tess, 8xMSAA, 16xAF, 1920x1080 and got 29.5 as avergae. Stock clocks btw.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page