1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 590 or Radeon HD 6990

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Darkleoco, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. Cool Vibrations

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The 6990 also has an AWSUM mode, which when enabled, easily beats the 590 GTX. Don't also forget the higher power draw of the 590.

    [​IMG]

    Personally, I'd rather get the MARS but that's cause I'm a sucker for good looking cards.

    <-- Rocking an MSI 580 GTX Xtreme.
  2. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Hmm my psu could handle running it in AWSUM mode but honestly I'd rather not void the warranty just do it. Also I think we would all love to have a MARS II since that card just looks amazing let alone how it actually performs.
  3. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Both are powerfull enough to play games in max settings. I guess it just boils down to preference and the added nifty features both cards can offer.. ati has eyefinity. nvidia has physx, 3dvision, nvsurround.
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Well MC has no more IPS226V... now its the IPS231P for 199

    Anyways, It really depends on what you do with your computer... so I'll ask again... WHAT TYPE OF GAMES DO YOU PLAY? WHAT ELSE DO YOU DO WITH YOUR COMPUTER?!?

    Yes the 2560x1XXX monitors look awesome, but for something like racing games or flight simulation, You would much prefer 3x 27" screens. For FPS games, it kind of depends, but I would lean towards 3x 27" screens as well, though others would prefer smaller 23" screens (too much head movement with 27").

    Others like 3x 27" in portrait mode, which gives you height AND width, which may be a better balance. You have to keep in mind that it will be a bit tiring on the eyes and neck/head for the 3x as wide eyefinity. Also, eyefinity will have lower framerates since it has significantly more pixels, so you might need to go with the high end 7970s etc from the new generation later on. Also know that you might run into tiny problems with eyefinity. Reason for it is it's complexity vs the simpleness of one large screen.

    Eye-infinity is immersive, 2560x1600 is sharp and defined with a better image quality. Some people call single monitor "tunnel vision"
    Darkleoco says thanks.
  5. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    wait man GTX 595 is on the way, and then 4 months later the new next gen GFX from nvidia will come out... Consider this.
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    wait man, 4 months after that XXX wil come out and 6 months after that XXXX will come out and in 2980 AMD 997000 series is coming out!
  7. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Example Games: Fallout 3/New Vegas, Call of Duty, Battlefield, Oblivion, Bioshock 1/2, Left 4 Dead 1/2, Dragon Age 1/2, occasionally Need For Speed Hot Pursuit (2010), Borderlands, Grand Theft Auto. I want to be able to have a great experience playing all those and their successors on my computer as well as new games in the same genres.
    Note: Currently I play these on PS3 but I don't want to invest in the new consoles coming out so I am going to use my computer for all my gaming needs when the PS3/360 phase out.

    I am going to edit HD Call of Duty videos as well as potentially make game guides/walkthroughs for YouTube. I also occasionally will watch videos for hours on end.

    Eyefinity sounds like it would be great to try but in the end I see myself going with 2560 x 1600 for the image quality since I think it would make a noticeable difference in games like Call of Duty where you sometimes have a very long line of sight.

    I have stated before that I really don't have the time to wait around for new video cards to come out and even if I did have the time I would much prefer to wait to evaluate whether its a decent card or not. Also I am heavily leaning towards AMD anyway due to Eyefinity.
  8. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,422 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA

    Nvidia's solution works just as well....That is 2d Surround. Sure it doesn't have a super-awesome name like Eyefinity, but it's the same thing. Oh and if your playing at 5760x1080/1200. Your going to need Dual GPU's because unless you like running games at medium settings or lower.
  9. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Hmmm so Crossfire 6950's wouldn't get the job done? If they wouldn't then I guess I'll have to go with either a 590 or 6990 and eventually quad SLI/crossfire.

    Also what are your thoughts on the 590's performance?
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
  10. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,422 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I didn't say they wouldn't, infact that's more than enough horse power(2x6950s), I was merely remarking that it seemed like you were going with ATI based on access to triple monitor based solution, which is not unique to ATI.

    I love mine, can't wait to add another and swap to LGA 2011 hopefully at the end of this year, but that's 2 grand(common Christmas bonus). I love my GTX 590, it kicks ass and takes names. But so does the HD 6990. My choice was Nvidia, I also have had decent enough luck overclocking my 590.
    Darkleoco says thanks.
  11. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Hmmm I am going with 6950's in Crossfire to get the power as well as keep cost down or a 6990 due to availability over the 590 and because I would never feel safe overclocking a 590.

    Any suggestions as to which would better suit my needs? (2 6950's or 6990)
  12. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,422 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I would go with 6950s, non-stock coolers will give you better overclocking, at better noise levels.
  13. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I don't think I will be doing any "hardcore" overclocking probably just light overclocking but shouldnt a HAF X with all the fans installed including the extra 200mm be able to keep it cool without alot of trouble as long as I don't run it for a ridiculous amount of time?
  14. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    2 x 6950 2GB in crossfire is superior to a 6990. Get two MSI Twin Frozr based 6950's as they are super quiet, high quality, and in my experience have overclocked very well. Also - there is the potential to unlock the shaders for free. A 6990 is a waste of money and time in my opinion.

    My main gaming setup:

    core i7 970
    2x HD 6970's
    3 x 24" screens in 3x1 eyefinity @ 5760x1080

    maxes all relative games with eyecandy. these cards crave high resolutions and eyecandy like AA/AF etc. it's where they excel.
    Darkleoco says thanks.
  15. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Would you recommend 2 6970's over 6950's? I am looking to run a very similar setup to yours with 3 24-27" monitors in 1080p, what kind of frame rates do you get running max settings over 3 monitors? And do you need any aftermarket cooling for them?
  16. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I would recommend getting the 6950's. I originally used two 6950's which I unlocked, but the performance difference is very small, and becomes smaller in crossfire. If you OC them they will perform better than a stock 6970, and if you unlock them they will perform identically to the 6970's.

    At 5760x1080 I get very good framerates in ALL games, including super high end titles in DX11 with lots of eyecandy. I haven't had any major issues.

    You do not need aftermarket cooling, but if you want to do 24/7 super high OC's you might want to. The MSI twin frozr 6950 2GB is the way to go. It's aftermarket cooling in a box that you don't have to touch. It's also very quiet and high quality.

    Definitely would go with 2 x MSI Twin Frozr 6950 2GB models. They generally can be unlocked, although it's not guaranteed. At stock they will work fantastic, and can be OC'd no problem if you wish. This is coming from using 5 different 6950's before buying my 6970's. The 6950 is one of my favorite cards of all time now.
    Darkleoco says thanks.
  17. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Thanks for the info on the 6950's, what made you switch to the 6970's though and are those frame rates above 60 at that size? And can the 6970's be OC'd to get better performance than OC'd 6950s?
  18. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    sorry didn't read all posts just my first page.
    Anyway i know that card is not good buy, but they made it cuz the are some people want to buy it, when i see this guy way to think i notice he can pay to buy it.
    Mate he want quad high end GPU's, sure he don't want it just for smooth game play, he look for scores and benches also high frames at extreme resolution plus ultra settings, so want to pay about 1K for that waht about 2K for more scores and frames, maybe he want top of the list.
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    ATM, this looks like a great buy: DIAMOND 6950PE52G Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5...

    Remember though, for eyefinity you will need an active DP adapter or a monitor that accepts DP (DisplayPort)

    I'm thinking a triple monitor might be best for you, though, considering your broad range of games, any option works well, so it is down to personal preference.
    Darkleoco says thanks.
  20. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    That model looks great but I'm wondering what the cards actually look like do they have the single fan in the far side like in the first picture with the black casing or does it have the two fans with the red casing?

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...-details.asp?EdpNo=7192166&csid=ITD&body=MAIN

    I have also had this model recommended to me by someone who has used them and said they overclock well and run quiet, do you think the recommendation of the MSI warrants the increased price over the Diamond brand?
  21. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Easy answer yes, I had a gem from one of their Twin Frozr 2 and I was able to OC it to 1ghz with only a slight voltage up around 1230-1250, although while the cooling was quiet it wasn't able to handle a huge overclock like that as well as the reference cooler did. I can't say the same for Twin Frozr3 though but they are generally really good aftermarket cards.
    Darkleoco says thanks.
  22. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Thanks Random I'm sold on the Twin Frozr 6950's now and I think I should be fine since I don't plan on doing any huge overclocks but then again it will depend on how much temperatures run and if i can just crank up my case fans to give it enough cooling :D
  23. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    nice observation... according to the reviews it is dual fan AND dual BIOS, so this is great! even without the dual BIOS, it is still a pretty good buy. The MSI does NOT warrant the extra $$

    45$ for the MSI version is not worth it IMO. even if you count the Mail-In-Rebate (remember, only 1 MIR per person, so you get only one 30$) It is still 60$ total, more than the Diamond. On top of that you don't seem lie you want to OC a lot. The Diamond should suffice for you.

    Save that 60$ for future upgrades that you will like more
  24. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Are the Diamonds overclockable and what is the effect of them being dual BIOS? I am interested in OC'ing as long as it isn't a situation where it may "explode" like a GTX 590 lol

    Also it seems their may be trouble with the Diamond brand in Crossfire with the fans hitting the mounting screws in a review. Also they say it runs very hot which makes me consider forking out the extra cash for the MSI version just to not have to deal with any headaches.
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Dual-BIOS is used for 6970 unlocking I think... or it has 6970 speeds in one of the BIOSes... something like that.

    There is only one review that says that, and I am betting on it being a bad card he had... Worst case scenario, you could probably cut the screws :p or get a refund... or just not put them beside each other and buy a long crossfire bridge (better for airflow anyways)
    Darkleoco says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page