1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 670 not going past 1228 MHz...

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by mitchdrum29, Apr 13, 2013.

  1. mitchdrum29 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I'm overclocking my graphics card which is a GTX 670 power edition from msi using afterburner. I'm stress testing with Unigine Heaven, the newest version as of this post. I only seem to be able to get my card up to 1228 MHz, as soon as I hit the next step which is 1241, the card crashes about half way through the benchmark.
    Did I just get a dud overclocker or is there something I can do to change this? I've upped all the voltages to their max values available in the official mode of Afterburner and I maxed the power limit (114%), but still only getting 1228... Please help!
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,250 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    Others have more experience with modern cards that I do and may have som tips, but overclocking is indeed a game. You might have hit a wall. :(
  3. mitchdrum29 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well that would suck.. I bought this power edition card because it was advertised as having triple overvoltage and I can't even overvolt it?! disappointing...
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,221
    1228 mhz is quite decent. none of my review samples managed that clock stable. what were you expecting?
  5. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    220 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Brazil

    +1. 1228 is f'n excelent for a GTX670. Lot of people hit the wall with 1180~.
    mitchdrum29 says thanks.
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,720 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    My Gigabyte GTX 660Ti hits 1228MHz boost out of the box (normal clock is 1033MHz and normal boost is 1111MHz). Haven't tried overclocking it at all as I'm sure it is probably near its limit at stock.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    False advertising from MSI DON´t FALL FOR....oh too late.

    Well to pull MSi out of the crap pile. Nvidia before release came with some new rules for manufacturers NO overvoltage if you want to sell our cards.

    If Msi would have done as they said would not be allowed to sell you cards.

    Be happy that your card made it that far.



    p.s

    i wanted to buy P.E edition too before reading up on the news about nvidia forcing them to do so without overvoltage.
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,996 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    that is a damn good feat to do with a GTX670. Not many are getting over 1200. OP wouldn't be as disappointed if he would have looked into voltage control a bit more on kepler before buying the chip, and buying into MSI false advertisements. Its standard by Nvidia with the green light program that there is no manual voltage tweaking on cards in the Kepler range. Now the voltage climbs on its own to 1.175v and you have to find your max clock within that range, and that's about it.
    mitchdrum29 says thanks.
  9. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Actually Nvidia set the limit to 1.215V :) just put it down via BIOS to 1.175V
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,996 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Yes, and then you try and get a modded BIOS to allow that 1.215v limit, and its messes up EVERYTHING.
    mitchdrum29 says thanks.
  11. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I actually saved a card with a unlocked bios flash card was running unstable at stock clocks, stable with 1.215V
  12. mitchdrum29 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replies guys, I was under the impression that people were hitting 1250MHz with GTX 670 quite easily but I guess I was wrong!
    Alright well I was playing around with it a bit more and managed to get my memory clock to 3557 stable so I'm pretty happy about that :)
    Again, thanks and happy gaming :)
  13. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    257 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Heven 4.0 with it more tessellation and newer Nvidia drivers you lose some clocks , version 3.0 was easier not sure if driver update will help .

    On MSI PE versions you have to use either 2.2.3 or latest beta 3.0b9 , unless you do hack on it so that voltages actually work .

    You will get better performance with upping voltage, probably about +50mhz or so .

    PS, don't try to monitor voltage though, it will not work with any app , you will only see reference voltage controller not total voltage as PE use offset controller not readable .

    If you are using 2.3.1 or any relative new builds you can get it to work with this line added to your profile config file (Ven_10.............).

    add these lines
    [Settings]
    VDDC_Generic_Detection = 0
    VDDC_uP6262_Detection = 4:30h
    VDDC_uP6262_R1 = 1000

    now voltage side will work and I would not max it out for starters, try 40-50mv+

    PS: 1228 is not bad on stock voltage in Heven4.0 at extreme mode , I think i also had driver rest with 1241 with stock voltage .
  14. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    803 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    [​IMG]

    1250 is my core wall, anything over that crashes Kombuster, using an H50 as watercooling helped me a little though, my old wall was 1200.

    Edit: Noticed Kombuster reporting 1293 core, not really sure whats up with that.
  15. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    257 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    your boost value set in OC app is not your in game running max clock, that will be higher .

    I can't say kombustor is right but in GPU-Z go to sensor tab and note the max clock speed there, that should be correct .

    Sometimes the values displayed in BM apps are not correct, like Valley is known for error in clocks displayed .
  16. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    803 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    You were right, in Kombuster my max GPU is 1293, but in order to get it stable in games I have to drop it to 1267. Thats with the boost measured with ASUS GPU Tweak and GPU-Z
  17. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    257 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    1293 is high for stock voltage .

    Anyway you just have to find speed that runs good with all your games .
  18. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    803 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
  19. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    636 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I've hit a stable 1345mhz with mine. Depends on the card and the brand. Also what is your memory oc >? Lowering my memory a touch allowed for me to go higher on the gpu oc.
  20. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    257 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    while unlocking bios to max voltage of 1.212 will gain you 50mhz or so on core , if you have any of MSI PE, Hawk, lightening it is a waist as those will have voltage control and past 1.212 with AB , as long as you use right version .

    Right, OC the core first with 0 offset on memory to find it's max then switch to memory with 0 offset on core .
    then balance core/memory offsets depending on rest of hardware and which card you have (660ti will gain more on memory ) .

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page