1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gtx 670 Power edition overclocking problems

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by redbery, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys. I have been looking for an answer for several hours now and so far I haven't been able to find anything. When I try to overclock my core the core voltage drops from 1.125 to 1.100. There is no way to get the voltage to go up until you clock the core down again (after which the voltage will go up to 1.125 again). I have the same problem when trying it the other way around. If you turn the core voltage up the clock will drop etc. I get the feeling that (as an amateur overclocker) I'm just doing something really stupid but I would appreciate some help.
     
  2. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    340 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    is that msi card? if yes u are using afterburner right??did u try when u oc card and give her some kind of load(game,benchmark....)..,to look if voltage or core clock go up??
     
  3. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes it's an MSI card and I'm using Afterburner to overclock and Kombuster to stress the gpu.
     
  4. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    What program did you use to check on voltages? GPU-Z?
    Also is your card running fine @ stock? if so you probably won´t get it RMA for a new one since it works as intend.
    What temperatures do you got in stress test?
    what Bios version do you have on your card?
     
  5. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I use gpuz (and kombuster/afterburner who give the same values). Other than the mentioned problem I haven't noticed anything strange (clock is consistent during stress). Afterburner says: Display driver : 310.70
    BIOS : 80.04.31.00.46
    And on stress the temperature is 67 or something (63 when I'm trying to overclock because I enable my own curve).
     
  6. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    in afterburner you can set the power limit target set it to max try again
    [​IMG]
     
  7. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I dont have that tab in the properties but under my Core voltage slider it says Power Limit (%) which is on max (114%) I guess that's the same thing?
     
  8. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Same thing.
    What PSU are you using?
     
  9. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Don't think that's it, I've got a ridiculous cooler master silent pro m2 1000W (want to go sli eventually).
     
  10. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Okay just sorting out what it could be.

    To be honest could be a messed up bios or VRM is bad and only outputs 1.125V and under higher load 1.1V
    Last thing i can offer you is an unlocked BIOS with 1.21V.
    That helped one costumer of mine already his card was locked @ 35%TDP
     
  11. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It could well be a bios related problem. What options are there in bios that are gpu related?
     
  12. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Vcore ,clock speed, turbo boost speed ,base clock speed, TDP MAX for example instead of 114% it would be unlocked to i think 150% , Max Vcore 1.175V-1.21V
    But draw back is absolutely no warranty after flashing a new bios to the card
     
  13. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't think I want to take that risk (at least not until my warranty runs out). Last thing that I noticed is that the first page of gpuz does make sense. If i overclock with the core voltage set it does mention the right clocks. Only in the sensors tab it doesn't work. Could it be that my sensors are bad?
     
  14. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    set your card under load check the sensor tap again your card as dynamic clocks
     
  15. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't really understand but could it be that something is automatically overclocking my gpu? the kombustor from Afterburner gives:
    103% TPD 1136 core 1502 mem 1.125 VDDC
    while the tessy spheres in kombuster gives
    80% TPD, 1188 core 1502 mem VDDC 1.175 Without me changing anything in afterburner (everything is default)
     
  16. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Try to test with something that not your diver recognizes as untypical loads.
    Heaven Benchmark is what i use.
    Your card and the driver have made a long way they are smart they recogniz none typical work load AKA Furmark and kumbustor is kind of furmark engine

    Tested my card with kombustor my card drops to 927mhz and 1.087V and my cards run @ 1.175 and 1202mhz in normal games like bf3
     
  17. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Same as tessy spheres from kombustor
     
  18. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Tested with tessy spheres my card stays as clocked seems like you got a bad card then.
    But like i said before it performance without error like it was intended to you won´t get a new one yet the power edition is meant to be Overclocked..wanted to buy the same one as you before changing it to my EVGA cards :p
     
  19. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well you win some and you lose some i guess :( I can play games without a problem tho so I guess I shouldn't complain. Still weird that while gpuz says that turbo should be 1098 my card still goes to 1188... Weird thing... Thanks for the help anyways!
     
  20. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    No! that is absolutely right! like i said before your card and all 600cards from Nvida BOOSt them self 1089 is base clock 1188 is turbo clock try adding 25mhz in afterburner and you will see your card going to 1202.
     
  21. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just OCed without changing the voltage (since haeven makes it 1,175 on its own) and when adding 83 I got 1267
     
  22. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    There you go now test it if it runs stable my limit is around 1283-1303mhz before unstable i am fine with 1202 since i have two cards in SLI
     
  23. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1280 is my max. So that works. But I still find it strange that I cant change the voltage (since the card is advertised with triple overvoltage)
     
  24. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Yes it is BUT MSI failed....well to be honest Nvidia restricted msi and everyone else t o1.175 you can´t anymore change it.
    called False advertising btw the reason why i would have baught PE edition before to Over volt them
     
  25. redbery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OOOH now it makes sense XD thanks allot. Still a bit mad tho... took me ages to chose a graphics card and it turns out that the major reason that I bought this card is restricted... Thanks so much for helping tho!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page