1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 670 with i5-3750K Conflict

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by ohno900, May 18, 2012.

  1. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hello everyone!

    I have been told by a friend that if I were to get my hands on a Asus DirectCU ii GTX670 TOP (when it comes out for the US) and put it in my system, I will most definitely be bottlenecking because my cpu, an i5-3570K @ stock speed (I'll be overclocking later on), will not handle the graphic card. In fact, it won't handle any of the new graphic cards according to him. So now I'm in huge doubt. He mentioned that I was better off getting last year's model, like a GTX 560 or something to those lines.

    Could someone please explain this to me? I've looked through websites and I still couldn't find a solid answer.
  2. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    932
    Your friend is very misinformed. For a lot of games that's the best proc you can have (the ones that aren't hyperthreading friendly at least.) Game performance may continue to scale upwards if you overclocked it but stock is more than adequate.
    Last edited: May 19, 2012
    Binge and ohno900 say thanks.
  3. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    He dosent know what hes talking about, you will be fine just run the cpu at stock speeds for now with the 670 and be happy. Over clock the cpu when you can and get a little bit more oomph out of the card later.
    ohno900 says thanks.
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    The guy obviously doesnt know what is taking about since that cpu is a brand new ivy brigde and very good cpu even at stock speeds it can hold any single gpu cards just fine. And since is a K you can easily oc it at any time.
    ohno900 says thanks.
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,871 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,945
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Kinda technically true.


    However, it's completely irrelevant. Hardware bottlenecks are not really the same as software bottlenecks, which is typically "programmed" to deal with architectual differences in performance(ie, optimized) to dela with these problems in "unbalanced performance".

    Yes, increasing CPU speed will make the GTX670 render nearly everything faster. DOes that mean the CPU si too slow for the card? OR does it mean that the software is optimized to make the best of what is available, due to the myriad of configuartions possible?
    ohno900 says thanks.
  6. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Wow, that was quick. Well thanks guys/gals. I forgot to post more detailed information of my build:

    Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V
    RAM: Kingston HyperX 4GB DD3 1600MHz x2
    PSU: Corsair HX750

    I also want to go SLI later on in the future. I believe the 750 is enough, is it?

    I figured he was either confused with the what CPU I had, or I don't know what he was thinking. Well, I won't be getting any video card soon since the one I want isn't really out for sale in the US. I've seen it sold out on an Australian retailer, but that's about it.
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Listen to guys here, they know what they're talking about. 750W is plenty for SLI 670.
    ohno900 says thanks.
  8. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks everyone for your feedback. I can't wait for that Asus card.
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,871 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,945
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    ASUS Direct CU II? I am waiting for that myself, I think. Although that small PCB on some cards is kinda neat too.

    W1zz scored it a 10 out of 10...that's saying something.
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  10. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Ask your friend if he can count past potato. :)
  11. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,260 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I tried that once but blacked out half way through.
  12. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The Asus DirectCU ii GTX 670 TOP 2GB? Yup, that one. I saw the review done here at Tech Power Up and it also got a 10.
  13. Dimi

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    82 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I think the 650 will even do, maybe i would opt for the AX650 as that one is fully modular and completely black cables.
  14. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Oh, well, I like the one I have now, so far. I did get all these parts yesterday. You won't believe what PC I've been using the past 6+ years.
  15. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,629 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    Specs please
  16. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Oh, right. My old PC:

    Motherboard: ECS KT600-A
    CPU: AMD Athlon 2600+ "Barton"
    RAM: 2x Corsair 1GB DDR 333Mhz
    HDD: Seagate Barracuda 80GB
    PSU: Some 330W box
    Graphics card: BFG NVidia6200 256MB (PCI)
    Case: very old case
    Optical: some DVD rom drive

    All this displayed on some 15" with Windows XP. Haha, compared to what I have now, I don't wanna look back.
    Last edited: May 19, 2012
  17. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,629 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    Its not that bad, I still have my old 1.7 Ghz Pentium Desktop around and I'm still using it.

    Geforce FX 5500, 1 GB ram and 30 GB HDD :D
  18. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    Haha, it's amazing how these things last.
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,923 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,203
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah buddy! Im so excited to get 2 of them when they come out.
  20. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Same here, but just one...for now :p.

    Update, so my friend is now telling me that I won't be able to use the best card to its MAX. I think he's referring to a GTX690, but I'm not planning on going there at all (plan on getting a Asus DirectCUii GTX670 2GB TOP). Could someone clarify what he means by "using the video card to its max"? Remember, I'm new at the modern computers. If you look at what I had before on my previous post, you'll understand.
  21. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,132 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    Your friend is chatting 100% pure nonsense. I would stop seeking his advise from now on.

    The i5 3750k is one of Intel's latest CPUs derived from their fastest CPU architecture, so there is no GPU it can not handle.
    ohno900 says thanks.
  22. Huddo93

    Huddo93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    299 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    Your mate obviously doesn't understand much about Intel's Sandy/Ivy Bridge CPU's. The i5-2500k/3570k @stock are more than enough to handle SLI/CF 670/680's no problem. You are very ill-informed.

    Your original choice of the i5-3570k and a GTX670 will be a awesome combo, enjoy the amazing graphics and maybe let your mate brush up on his knowledge :p Happy gaming!
    ohno900 says thanks.
  23. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Haha, believe me, I wasn't seeking his advice in the first place. :laugh: 100% Pure nonsense..haha. I should also ignore what he had to say about having a i7, SSD, 16GB RAM to get the "MAX" out of a GTX690, as he calls it, "the best card."
    Last edited: May 20, 2012
    Dent1 says thanks.
  24. ohno900 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yup, I told him that, but he still doesn't listen. It's okay, he can say whatever he wants and I'll enjoy my new build. (I'll enjoy it even more when that card comes out.)
    Dent1 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page