1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 680 2gb vs 4gb?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Dolph, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Apparently news linked the new 4gb versions coming out sometime end of may.
    Im waiting for my 2 x 2gb MSI GTX 680's coming in sometime next week, they havent shipped yet due to stock issues.

    Now, im goingto be running most games @ 5760x1080 preferably ultra > 60 fps.

    Will i benefit from the 4gb versions vs the 2gb? I know that nvidia utilizes their bandwidth better than amd, but i do feel like i will be hitting the 2gb cap (i think).

    Should i cancel my order and wait for the 4gb version?
    Might also be worth noting, that the new versions might be a 6 + 8 pin connector with an unlocked voltage as to overclock more, seeing as these cards will eventually be under water.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    I guess we won't really know until someone reviews it. :ohwell:
     
  3. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Could you agree that the voltage limitations would be worth waiting if im going to put them under water? I could get much more out of the cards... i think...
     
  4. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    383 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    USA
    I would say wait for the 4GB version. For even just the vram
     
  5. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    your going to put up 2gb gtx680z into SLI they will definitely be better then one single 4gb version
     
  6. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    That wasn't what i said at all, I would be doing 2 x 4gb. But is it worth the wait? On a loaner card, GTS 250
     
  7. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    My stance has always been if you're paying that much for a card it should be able to run everything. I've passed the 2 GB barrier quite a bit with my 3 GB 580.
     
  8. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Agreed, thats how i feel, dropping 1200$ after taxes min on these cards, if im < 50 fps in modern games..... what am i doing lol. I think after these posts my idea of cancelling my order seems more plausible. Do you guys feel that different companies offer better performance/reliability of cards? Like, MSI Vs Evga?
     
  9. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Evga is kickass. :toast:
     
  10. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    I am holding out for the 4GB version, I just pray that it is not a custom PCB as I also plan to have them under water.
     
  11. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Absolutel worse comes to worse you can just do with the GPU block, not really much benefit of covering the ram chips
     
  12. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Perhaps there will be a GTX 685 with 3-4 GB of memory wait and save your money
     
  13. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    In 3 monitor setups, the GTX680 wasn't really held back vs. the HD7970 by VRAM limitations, even with titles that were shown to use more than 2GB VRAM. That being said, there's no drawback to getting the 4GB version, and if you're paying that much, what's another $50-75?
     
  14. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Bahh, not sure i can wait that long, running on a GTS 250 atm..... dying that i can only program on 2 monitors, i feel claustrophobic. I will be getting 2 680's. The rumors are that the 685 will be 25% faster though.......
     
  15. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Yes true, now the GTX 690 is on the way : http://videocardz.com/31489/nvidia-geforce-gtx-690-pictured

    Ohh 2 x 680 ?? No problem take them and enjoy them once you've got nothing to lose if you take 2 !
     
  16. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    2 x 680's will be faster than a 690 thats for sure. 330w estimated TDP? Although, that pricetag sure does seem to be much lower than the 590 came out as. Seeing that the 690 is almost in place, its almost making me want to wait for the 685's... however, if those 685 first come out with 2gb bandwidth im gunna be pissed to wait another few months for the double'd up ram chips for the 685.
     
  17. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Well if it was me I would wait for the 4GB and get them, that way your more future proof and higher re-sell.
     
  18. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's true, and something like that Swiftech GPU waterblock would get the job done especially paired with some Enzotech copper RAM-sinks... I really would prefer to use full coverage blocks though, because not only are they more aesthetically pleasing, I would imagine that they would offer better overall temps for the entire PCB... Even if only by a few degrees. However, in an SLI setup using the bridge H20 connectors, a lot of space would be saved and that is very appealing to me. That many fewer tubes around the chassis makes for better airflow and with 3x cards, likely better cooling (I could be wrong).
     
  19. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,808 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,244
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I can tell you this from my personal experience, I game at 5760x1080 and 120Hz on dual 680s, all current games run maxed out without a hitch.

    Please note the emphasis on current, future games will be another story, although TXAA will allow you to game at high resolutions without any memory penalty, any specific future game has to support it though.

    If you can wait for the 4GBs version, go for it, if you wanna start playing at max res and ultra settings right now, don't cancel your order, I can vouch for the performance of the 2GBs version of this card at the resolution you intend to use.

    Hope that helps.
     
    Dolph says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Dolph New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    This does help me, and im not an impatient (kinda) person, i am definately looking for this purchase to last awhile.... putting these under water. The fact alone to wait for an unlocked voltage controller is worth the wait if these are going to be water cooled, let alone a future investment of playing max everything in games. I just cancelled my order.

    Dear Manufacturers, please dont take forever to come out with 4gb non-reference cards. Not sure how long i can last on this PoS GTS 250, let alone not being able to program on minimum 3 monitors.
     
  21. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,557 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    801
    This. But the writing on the wall, if you look at reviews that tested this res, still show the 680 in the lead by similar margins on lower resolutions. With that information, its not a far reach to think that RAM isnt the limiting factor, even at 57x1080.
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Adding more RAM could actually decrease performance with higher latencies and more stress on the controller.. though it doesn't seem very likely with most modern video cards.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page