1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 680 and BF3 Question

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by lwgnlseven, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Hey guys I just installed a gtx 680 today and I'm now playing on 1080p, ultra graphics with a AA and HBAO turned off. I'm seeing frame rate anywhere from 60-90 which is great, however when there are a lot of explosions going off around me or lots of rockets being shot at me from jets/helicopters, the frame rate always dips down to 38-40 ish and becomes really choppy. It did this as well when I had the gtx 580. Is it normal to experience these types of things? I mean the game runs great, its just during these high explosion scenes that really kill my framerate...

    i5 2500k
    gtx 680
    16gb ram
    850 watt psu
    asus p8z68 mobo
    win 7
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,410 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,058
    System specs please.
     
  3. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,348 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027

    It's normal. BF3 is one of those games that have lows of 40 FPS regardless of GPU/CPU.

    Bad coding, just accept it.
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,168 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,053
    i dont even think overclocking the CPU would have much affect on that. particle effects and explosions are the most demanding of a Graphics card.

    Look at Aquamark 3 on R300 or Nvidia Equivalent at the time and you will notice frame loss.
     
  5. lwgnlseven

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    107 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    See thats the thing that I struggle with the most in multiple games. Any time there is particle effects and huge explosions, the game chugs along. And I've used both a gtx 580 and so far today in battlefield, gtx 680. I would have thought these cards could handle something like that. Even these high end cards struggle to render that stuff? Am I just setting the bar too high for these cards? I get really discouraged when it drops to low fps and chugs along :-\
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,168 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,053
    thats is the only thing about GCs that any gen cant handle too much of.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,410 (12.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,058
    Have you run stability tests on your RAM, processor etc?
     
  8. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    EH WTF!?

    Are you being serious?

    I sometimes have the same issues although a dip as low as 38-40 would be extremely rare. However, my CPU is clocked at 4.5Ghz. Dont listen to whoever told that there was no point in overclocking your CPU/GPU either. I have a G19 keyboard and have all my system reources running on the keyboard LCD and can tell you that I need every Hz of overclock headroom I got in order to keep this game running at full pelt with a smooth v-snyc'd 60FPS 99.95% of the time. Also, turn on HBAO, there is absolultely no need for you to sacrfice on that with that GFX card. The game is very demanding, not because of 'poor coding' but because the game is fkn stunning and at the very pioneering end of 3d graphics gaming technology.
     
    the54thvoid and MT Alex say thanks.
  9. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    This is the reason a lot of people don't in fact buy top of the line cards but instead two lower models and SLI them. That way you can often get more raw FPS power for the money. You might sacrifice VRAM a bit depending what model/gen you buy, but many games are more effects than frame buffer vulnerable as you mentioned with particles.

    Conversely you could swallow pride a bit and lower some of the settings to boost FPS a bit. I know that's hard to take when you spend a lot on a top model card, but what else can you do barring the aforementioned or buying another 680. Particles are one thing that have minute differences between max and the next step down anyway. Shadows too.
     
  10. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    861 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    this happens occasionally to me
     
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,946 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,674
    Location:
    Oregon
    Mine will drop to 45 in those situations but no lower. I really have no complaints Ultra graphics with a AA and HBAO turned off
     
  12. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I'm with Mat on this. My FPS (@ 1440p with 7970 @ 1100, cpu @ 4.2GHz) doesn't go below the 50's under stressful scenes. Usually averages around 60+. Even with FPS drops, I don't 'notice' any stutter or choppiness.
    BF3 is a multi-core game so maybe overclocking your cpu might help.
     
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,348 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027

    I think eidairaman1 meant that overclocking will help the average and high FPS, but ocassional dips of about 40 FPS will still persist at ultra settings. Although I agree in overclocking whenever possible.


    Stunning games can be coded poorly too.

    You are talking about the average FPS. But the OP is talking about minimum FPS.

    40FPS is playable, so you won't always notice choppiness. The OP is talking about a brief drip which might last a second or two, which isn't noticeable by the eye. He probably only is aware of the dip because he is running Fraps.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  14. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    What he said was this:

    I take that to infer he notices the choppiness. FTR, I hate saying 'choppiness' - it's a non word surely?

    Anyhow, I also said of my rates, "they don't:

    and

    which kind of states the 50's is my minimum and my average is around 60.

    I read the OP's post. :p
     
  15. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,348 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027
    40FPS isnt choppy. His frame rate would have to be lower than 40 FPS to consider it choppy.

    Either way an occasional dip of 40FPs in BF3 is normal. If he was averaging at 40FPs I would be worried, but not if this is a brief minimum.
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What? :laugh:

    Battlefield is actually one of the better coded games in the last few years. considering it is a PC game and its harder for developes to code for for all configurations, it is one of the best. Runs really well on most system, even low end. Ask Boise49ers who runs it on his laptop with a A8 Llano AMD fusion chip.

    Most performance issues with BF3 are user related and how their system is setup.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
    Dent1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,348 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027
    Even if you think the coding is good it doesnt take away from the fact that an occasional minimum dip of 40FPS is normal.

    Bear in mind this is a superclocked variant of the GTX 680 and the CPU is better than the OPs - and you are seeing minimums of 28-46 FPS still.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  18. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Doesn't really apply to OP's scenario Dent, those are 2560x1600 benches.
     
  19. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,348 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027
    The last two were 1920x1200. Even the lower resolutions stil yield 40 ish minimums. I'm not going to post every image but you get my point.

    Edit:

    Veteran member "Diaz" did a mini review a while back on overclockers.com at 1080p.


    At ultra settings you see minimums of 33, 36 and 44 FPS.

    [​IMG]
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=703662
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  20. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    From the AMD side of things I'm running Crossfire 6950's overclocked to 940/1400 and I never experience severe drops even on 64 player maps. It seems that some games just prefer a crossfire or sli setup to not experience severe drops on bf3.
     
  21. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,348 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027
    Ahhh. TechPowerUp, always in denial until you bring out the screenshots. Then everyone goes quietly into hiding.
     
  22. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    2 hd 7750s runs this at around 45-60 fps never going below 45
     
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,187 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    it's seems it's just an drivers problem, try to reinstall it use Erocker method which sticky thread in graphic forums.
    and try another driver version u use now even it's latest one try the older.
    by the way this game full of errors and bugs lagging for no reason everyday they release a huge update to fix some of them.
     
  24. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,247 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    For the OP, might try dropping the particle setting (I think that's what it's called) to high since this has to do with explosions.

    How does low minimum fps with ultra settings equal poor coding? The only way you could come to some conclusion that the game was poorly coded was if you still had those same low frame rates with lower quality settings.

    Even if it did that, it would still be impossible to know for sure if it was poor coding unless someone who knew code looked at the game to see if the designers were lazy or not. You could come to the conclusion that it is possible that the game was poorly coded by looking at benchmark results, but it is impossible to know for certain unless you examined the code.
     
  25. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Typically the FPS drops are when a lot of things are happening like explosions with all the particles and physics. Doesn't really mean the coding for the game is bad.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page