1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 680 score is a little low, why?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by desire111, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. desire111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    This pc is brand new (7 days), a few days ago when i run this test i had a 9500 score and now after i reinstalled my OS my score dropped to 9017, how can this be? I installed the latest Nvidia drivers, did all windows updates and have no background programs running while performing the test, i performed the test a few times now and it never gets higher then 9050. What can cause this? a 500 drop is a little big, I included some screens. Any help would be great i find this very strange. When i compared scores online i even found one with the exact same system and he had a 9300 score. Even then im still 300 below it doesn't make sence.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4545483

    I dont know how to make a screen of cpu-z and cpuid while running the test so i took one directly afterwards.

    http://s7.postimage.org/e50mch0m3/Naamloos.png

    thanx
     
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,481 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    hmm this question has been pooped before...

    it's bcs ur cards automaticly overclocks itself, and depending on temperature on it it can go higher the colder the card is and the hotter it is, the smaller or maybe no oc will happen.
     
  3. desire111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi,

    yes i readed that earlyer in a post on this forum, thats why i waited this time to perform the test directly after boot up when the pc was off for a while but it didn't make any difference. The room temperature is normal to.
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    You scored normal for a stock GPU and CPU clock.

    [​IMG]

    Hence why you fall in the "normal" score zone.
     
    desire111 says thanks.
  5. desire111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ah yes it isnt overclocked maybe the one i compared to was, i still dont understand the drop i had but oh well.. maybe cause it was fresh out the box when i did the first test or something, as long as all games run smooth, im happy :)
     
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,348 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,219
    Location:
    Oregon
    Did you set your display scaling to Stretched
     
  7. desire111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes i tryed it on centered to but that gives me a error most of the time and when it does succeed the scores are basicly the same.

    (just did a centered test and completed it the score is now 9079)

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4545882
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,624 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    did you build this machine yourself or was it built by someone else?
     
  9. desire111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,624 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    im not sure if your HD was wiped properly
     
  11. desire111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hm i did a store reset, i just push F11 (when i reboot) and it resets my pc to store defaults. Everyting on my ssd drive C: will be wiped and windows is reinstalled clean. Is there a way to check if it cleaned it right or do it different maybe? I don't have a windows cd it reinstalls all from a restore partition.

    It doesn't clean the other partition ( the 2 tb partition where i store everything) i have to do that manually should i format that partition maybe? Can that be the cause of the benchmark drop?
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,624 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    if you dont have a OS disk or driver disks or even back up your SSD/HDD I wouldnt until you can get all the disks needed for that computer.
     
  13. desire111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guess its time for me to make some back ups then and check things out, not sure yet how to make a 30 gig backup, think i best buy a external hdd or alot of dvds.

    But basicly if i get it right a faulty reinstall can influence the benchmark results?
     
  14. desire111 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Update: after i installed battlefield 3 my score went up again, i don't know why exactly but i think it has something to do with the update of some directx components. Guess that maked the difference.

    Score is now 9268

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4548631

    Thanx all and happy gaming :rockout:
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,624 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    it probably tweaked Direct X, course once in awhile its always good to see if there is a direct X update on Microsofts site since MS dont allow updates from Windows Update for DX
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page