1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX 770 Overclockers Thread

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by TristanD27, Mar 7, 2014.

  1. TristanD27

    TristanD27

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    69 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    Hey guys,
    I've just got a GTX 770 and while there is really no need to OC it a lot of us will, just because we can so I was wondering what speeds everyone is getting. I want a nice stable clock and I am currently using EVGA PRECISION X 4.2.1 for OC and EVGA Scanner for testing.

    I am doing +70 GPU clock, +300 Mem clock, 106% power target and just to be cautious I am setting 85c temp target. I was playing Borderlands 2 with my mate, getting about 110FPS Average (just using fraps and guessing, I will benchmark on a few games to see what I get) and my temps didn't go much higher then 65. Now I am a bit of an OC noob so I am being cautious, should I set the voltages higher? Maybe up the GPU and Mem clocks?

    Any advise would be great and if anyone has their own clocks that would be great.

    Edit: I just realised there is a section for overclocking.... does this need moving?
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014
  2. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    Nope this is a fine location. What clocks do you stay at when you are gaming? I am just curious. My boost goes up to ~1250 or so but after I reach 80, it clocks down to ~1240 until it cools. I haven't bothered to overclock though because its stable and fast as is.
  3. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    133 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    I have the exact card vario does, the PNY enthusiast oc. (2 fan) Stock base is 1150, guaranteed boost is 1202, mine boosts to 1254 stock, overclocks to game 1313, and benches 1400+. Memory will do 10Ghz. :O
    Vario says thanks.
  4. TristanD27

    TristanD27

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    69 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    I'm on my way home from work now so I will test it when I get back and let you know.
  5. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    Edit: Loaded up precision with the pny. I'll have to play with this a bit lol

    nice I bumped the fan curve up 5-10% across the board and I don't crack 74*C now.

    Edit2:
    new fan curve helps a ton, I stay at 1254 boost clock all the time and didn't pass 73*C in 3dmark11
    Heres my stock GPU with the new fan curve and i7 @ 4.0ghz, ram @ 1600 mhz. Ram can go to 2133, i7 can go to 4.8, but I don't feel like rebooting to set those clocks.
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/8078605
    Here is example of my system @ 4.8 and 2133 for physics: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7811543 .

    Edit 3: What increment should I bump my 770 for each overclock run? 10mhz? 20mhz? Don't want to fry my brand new card...
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014
    bubbleawsome says thanks.
  6. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
  7. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    133 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    I am thinking of flashing a custom BIOS on my card. Thing power limits during mining with clocks at +100/500. Might go for a major overclocking one or one with lower voltage. It might be a bit out of scope for this thread, but does anyone have a recomended one?

    @Vario I just bumped up by 50, then 25, then 10 until it's unstable. A short run at 2ghz wouldn't kill it, it would just crash. Unlocked voltages and wattage is the killer, not clock speed in short runs.
    Vario says thanks.
  8. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    At 1306 core I started seeing a black blob flash through for a second midway through phase 1 of 3dmark11. Is that because I haven't raised power target? Temperature still hasn't cracked 74*C. I haven't adjusted voltage, memory clocks, or temp/power target
  9. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    133 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    I think it is probably unstable. To make sure that is is raise power target and enable k-boost. Remove all doubt.
    Vario says thanks.
  10. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    Okay thanks. Not sure I want to press on LOL, took me many months to deal with my 7970's RMA. Anyway I did 1290 no problems. At the 1306 mark I saw the blob and a screen flicker.
    bubbleawsome says thanks.
  11. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    133 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Definitely not bad at all! Fills about half the gap between it and the 780.
    Vario says thanks.
  12. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    I think its awesome how much more clocks these 770s can obtain over the reference 680 design.
  13. TristanD27

    TristanD27

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    69 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    I still haven't got around to seeing what my clocks are while gaming, I will try and remember tonight. I know I don't need to OC but I have never done it before and fancied a go, also I got assassins creed black flag for free when I got my 770 and I got low FPS on there, worth OCing a bit for that.
  14. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    Been trying to get my free AC4 but they haven't sent me a working code yet :(

    AC4 should run no problem on a 770, what resolution?
  15. TristanD27

    TristanD27

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    69 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    It's a great game, worth the wait.

    I'm running it at 1680x1050, it's not terrible FPS but it wasn't steady 60, I did max out every setting possible though o_O
  16. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    Try reducing your AA. AA really isn't noticeable, usually higher resolution trumps higher AA.

    Did you try using GeForce Experience?
  17. TristanD27

    TristanD27

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    69 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    Yeah I had a look at geforce experience but it tends to set everything too low for me, I prefer best quality over high FPS so I just bump it all up to max and OC for that little boost.
  18. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    133 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    With most 770s filling half the gap between them and the 780 they are one of my favorite cards right now. I would get another for sli, but I don't have money or a sli mobo.

    Anyone had any luck using that voltage changing in precisionX? I change mine but nothing happens.
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,923 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,203
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You guys are overclocking these cards completely "wrong." Kepler boost states are in 13mhz increments. When overclocking, increase the core clocks by 13mhz or multiples of 13, so like 26 or 39. Memory doesnt matter what you go up by.
    Vario says thanks.
  20. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    133 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Most overclocking utilities lock into the 13Mhz bins. My 770s +100Mhz is actually in the high 1340s vs my stock 1254, but it doesn't jump again until an unstable 1358 or something. I call it +100 and run it there. The general idea is the same anyway.
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,923 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,203
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah true, its just generally better to go about it in 13mhz increments because the utilies could down the clock to the next 13mhz bin if you not exactly on it.
    TristanD27 and Vario say thanks.
  22. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    Thanks very helpful. Do you have any tips on increments for the power target / max power target to apply etc?
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,923 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,203
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I typically only increase power target, if, and only if, my overclock makes the power percent exceed the setting. Or you can just max it out and leave it alone.
    Vario says thanks.
  24. TristanD27

    TristanD27

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    69 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    Thanks for the tip, I will keep that in mind from now on.
  25. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    904
    TristanD27, I Finally got my free copy of AC4 BF and it runs pretty smooth with the Nvidia experience optimized settings. It took about 2 weeks to get a working code from Tiger but I got one thankfully. I had to enable a custom fan profile to keep the GPU below 78*C max, having done so with a custom profile in Precision X , it runs at 72*C max now. I set the curve for 90% fan for 80*C and 100% fan at 85*C just for safety.

    Just a quick question for you guys, do I need to check "START UP" box on the left side of P-X to get the custom fan curve to load?

    My temps are a bit hot with the PNY default so I want it to apply the fan profile. I don't want it to load any OC profile, just the fan control setting. I have it so P-X starts and minimized when windows starts. I think it is applying the profile because as said above it now only reaches 72*C instead of 78*C.
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page