1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GTX260 bottleneck?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by t77snapshot, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,214 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,771
    Location:
    S.Cali
    My friend just built his new pc and has a problem that I can't figure out. So I turned to TPU:)

    He is have issues while playing COD- World At War. He tried playing on high resolution and the game gets choppy. So we lowered the res to 1280x720 and turned the AA from 4 to 0 and he still gets only 5-7 fps. We have all up to date drivers and the temps fine. What is causing this bottlenecking problem?

    system specs:

    i7 920 2.6ghz

    Evga GTX 260

    6gigs ram

    Evga x58 mobo

    PSU 750w

    Vista home prem.


    edit: he just got Civilztion 4 and can run max res with 50-60 fps with no problems. Is the problem with in the game?:confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. PennySavre

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I think he should be able to game fine with that system... maybe a fresh install of operating system is needed.
     
  3. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I take it you have done things like installed the mainboard chipset drivers?
     
  4. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    thinking the same thing as ketxxx, and did you install the 64bit version of drivers for all that stuff, its a common mistake.
     
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Make sure latest WHQL nvidia driver is installed and there are no ATI drivers left on the system if applicable
     
  6. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I will just do a fresh install, drivers, etc and try again :)
     
  7. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,214 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,771
    Location:
    S.Cali
    I don't know if he installed those drivers, I would think so.

    He got the game free with his card at Newegg (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130433) I will ask him if it is the 64 bit version.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,612 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,579
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    he should be getting +60 FPS with a I7/gtx260 system, my c2d/gtx260(before I got my 280) would do that. I'd make sure he has all the correct drivers installed. If that don't work, reinstall COD, if that don't work, reinstall everything(reformat and reinstall the OS, drivers, and games)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    That is definitely not because of bottleneck. Clean OS install, most of the time does the job done.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page